We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Olde House
Nearby Hotels
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
$169
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tredethy House(Tredethy)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$156
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
112
25
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
25
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplay barnchapel amblefeeding the animalspets cornerpond dippingtractor rideswimming poolthe cottagesworking farmon arrivallovely cottagebird hidecream tealocal pubmarsh cottagesconesgreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 142 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2009

The Olde Cottage, really is an excellent place, especially if you have young children.

Plenty to keep them busy, excellent location, not far from great beaches.

Good facilities, the kids love the pool and playbarn.

Shame there is no bar or similar facility, but the village pub is great,

Staff are great and very helpful too.

Highly recommended to all, especially those with smaller children.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roc24v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2009

See an extract from a letter sent to the complex to complain after the holiday.

When we got to the cottage we opened the door to be visited by an awful smell, we were offered no choice of relocation.
The cottage was caked in dirt and was very unclean, this having 2 small children was not acceptable
The cot was left on the landing when we tried to move it it wouldn't fit through the door and therefore had to remove the door from its hinges and put the cot in and replace the door
The light switch in the babies room didn't work
No locks on any windows and with window seats the 3 year old was found opening a window and nearly fell out
There was a foul stench in the fridge
To top it all off I caught a bug which my doctor truly believes was due to things not being clean when preparing food in an unclean environment and I couldn't leave the accommodation for 3 days.
The images on the website do not reflect the accommodation and the place is in serous need for improvement, pool table all torn, equipment outside all old and needs updating.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank familyof2fromnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theoldehouse, owner at The Olde House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2009

22 October 2009

We write in answer to the points raised.

Katy was in Reception on Saturday 27 June when you arrived. She offered you a move to Ivy cottage, which you declined. You were offered this cottage again on Monday when Sue was on duty and again you declined. You were also informed there would be no charge for this move.

Our cottages are always given a thorough clean on changeover days. One of our housekeeper was sent up to you on Monday morning to clean the cottage again for you.

The cot was left in the alcove on the landing as this is where many of our visitors prefer it to be. Oliver came up in the early evening and moved it for you.

The fridge had been thoroughly cleaned so I cannot comment on the smell which you say was there when you opened the fridge.

It was unfortunate that you were ill during the week, but this cannot be blamed on the cleanliness of Hazel, especially as a second clean was done on the Monday

Many visitors who come to the Olde House say that our brochure does not do us justice and that the facilities we offer and the cottages are better than the brochure portrays.

Sue can recall you coming to Reception and saying how stressed out you were with the children, and how unusual it was for you to spend your days with them, with you working long hours.

The weather was not too good but unfortunately that was beyond our control.

One of your children had already had chickenpox before you arrived, and as is quite common with families, the other child had to be taken to the local doctor in the week. Chickenpox was diagnosed and you were advised to return home on Thursday.

Your booking was a last minute one, made on the day before you arrived, hence a special offer price of £500 was agreed instead of the normal price of £860.
When you came in to say you were going home, on the Thursday (as recommended by the doctor due to your other child having chickenpox) – 5 days after your arrival, you asked if you could be provided with an invoice for your insurers of the full amount - £860 instead of the £500 paid. We refused saying that we could only invoice you the amount actually paid.

We are very sorry that your last minute holiday did not go as you had planned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Olde House, which we found by chance on the internet. Super location, near to Rock, Padstow and Newquay - though equally quiet, stuck away down country lanes. The place is a super creation: a working farm which has loads of cottages (few of which were occupied when we were there, just before state school half term week), a swimming pool (quite small) with sauna and jacuzzi, a play barn for the kids (ball pool etc) and a 'pets corner;, which is a barn with sheep, pigs, cows etc, which the children can help look after and feed on a daily basis. The kids were feeding the animals enthusiastically at 8.00 and 4.30 daily, along with an hour in the pool. The people are really welcoming. During our stay the over broke; it was replaced with new within 48 hrs. Very impressive. No hidden charges: free laundry, no electric meters etc. Not cheap but worth a good look. We were really pleased. MIND YOU... some of the local attractions were rather sky-high in price. But the area is so nice that there's really no need to spend loads of money on entertainment in such a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cardiffroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Took the mob - wife, one daughter and four grandchildren from two families to Bracken - large house on this self catering estate in Cornwall.

Its a long tiring drive from Essex and a little difficult to find but is truly a safe and happy environment for the kids. Lots of activities for them and ideal in all respects. Good indoor swimming pool for adults, smaller one for kids plus sauna. Large play areas with play equipment well maintained.

You enter and find signs telling you to beware of roaming animals and children - very friendly staff and house was clean and comfortable.

The children will always find kids of their own ages there and will be gone from dawn to dusk if you permit them.

I just wish the resort was not in Cornwall which is no more than a giant overcrowded theme park.

We found that we could not get into any of the Towns unless we left very early because traffic and parking was just impossible, long traffic queues outside all the interesting locations which meant that only Wadebridge was accessible for purchasing food and eating and there were not many Restaurant there other than good fish and chips.

I remember Cornwall as a kid but it has changed so much now.

Chapel Amble is great and the beaches within reach are fine but be warned. In the summer months parking is a massive problem so stay within the self catering resort and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robocop646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

Spent a lovely week at The Olde House in Cornwall. Well equipped self catering cottages on a working farm (we stayed in Bryony cottage). Safe environment for the kids to play and run around. My son (6) loved the fact he could cycle around safely on his bike going between the outdoor play area, the indoor play barn and our cottage, lots of other children there and he made some friends. We stayed over Easter and they had two small baby lambs and we all loved getting the chance to feed them their bottles of milk. They also had a couple of calves and quite a lot of baby guinea pigs! There is a nice swimming pool and jacuzzi (which was never busy) and a games area with snooker table. The farm is located just outside Wadebridge and is a good base for getting out and about. Would recommend hiring bicycles in Wadebridge and cycling the Camel Trail to Padstow. Wouldn't bother with Newquay. The Eden Project is about 45 mins drive and is worth visiting. There is a pub in the village of Chapel Amble which is a few minutes walk from the farm, does nice food (if a bit overpriced). Would definately recommend The Olde House to families with children and hope to visit again next year. (loved the fact that they had cream teas for you on arrival in your cottage - heaven after a long drive from London!!)

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scottishlass1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews