We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place to stay”

Review of Merrydown Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Living room Living room window to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The cottage and garden
Living room
Living room window to garden
Wood-burning stove in living room
Dining room towards kitchen
Dining room and stairs
Kitchen
Kitchen window seat and Rayburn
Bedroom 1 with view to garden
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 with window to front
Garden view from Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 window to garden
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Patio with seating
The large garden
Garden with view to church
Village stores and Post Office
Village centre and the St Mabyn Inn
Dining room window to garden
St Mabena church
Padstow harbour
Constantine Bay
Port Isaac
Rock beach
Delford Bridge, Bodmin Moor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wadebridge, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RJHants
Hants
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just returned from a short break at this lovely Cottage. After a long journey nice to find a home baked sponge cake (which was delicious) a Bottle of Bubbly and some flowers in a vase. We felt right at home straight away. Location lovely and within easy reach of places to visit. The Cottage is very well equipped and exceptionally clean and tidy. Tim was very easy to deal with and I would recommend it as a place to stay if visiting this part of Cornwall.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mccwatson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage for a family holiday”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved Merrydown Cottage & would highly recommend. Very cosy cottage, with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Owners are very helpful and loved the personal touches, such as bottle of bubbly for the adults, scones and a couple ice-creams in the freezer for the children. St Mabyn is a lovely village, with a very well stocked shop and there is a playground just behind the house which my children loved. We visited the local pub on a few occasions and ate there one night too. The meal was delicious and service very good! If we are ever down this way again, we would not hesitate to book Merrydown Cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarama737
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect escape in this luxury and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Another lovely stay in this holiday cottage - we will never get bored of coming back here. The welcome scones seem to just get better by the year. Our two year old thoroughly enjoyed the suntrap garden and all the garden birds it attracts. It is ideally situated for all that north Cornwall has to offer. The log burner is a romantic addition to the evening and the local pub has an excellent local beer and gin selection - you couldn't ask for a better hide away.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dele1982
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for a wonderful family holiday in North Cornwall.”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Merrydown Cottage is perfectly located in the small, picturesque village of St Mabyn, 4 miles from Wadebridge. Booking was easy and Tim the owner was so helpful, keeping us informed about the cottage and all the things we could do in the local area and beyond. On arrival we were greeted with a lovely handwritten message, a bottle of sparkling wine, chocolate, flowers and the most delicious homemade scones from Jo - what a welcome and start to the holiday!
The cottage exceeded our expectations, we have stayed in many and this was the best, it had everything we needed for our young family, including a beautiful garden full of Spring flowers which was perfect for an Easter egg hunt! We really appreciated the little flourishes around the house, like the binoculars for bird-watching, teddy bears in the children's room, board games and the use of the bikes in the garage.
The cottage itself is decorated and furnished to a high standard whilst still feeling very homely. The beds are so comfortable!! There is plenty of storage in all the rooms so you can really settle in. The nights were very peaceful.
Location-wise you can't really beat it, we were within easy reach of everything we needed; there is a shop and pub in the village and Tesco is a short drive away should you need anything more. The beaches in the area are absolutely stunning and we would definitely recommend cycling on the Camel Trail to Padstow. We will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sueric111
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cornish cottage holiday at its best”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The village of St.Mabyn is classic Cornish, with its church, local pub/restaurant, village shop an a quaint variety of properties surrounded by farmland and beautiful countryside. Merrydown is situated at its heart, being within 100metres of each. The St Mabyn Inn is well recommended. The property is better than the pictures portray, being spacious and furnished to an excellent standard. The kitchen is a great family space, while the log burner makes the lounge warm and cosy.
The North Cornwall coastal villages of Port Isaac, Boscastle, Padstow and Tintagel are all within easy reach, as is Eden Project. The Camel Trail is also within 2 miles. Merrydown is an ideal base for all types of activity.
The owners keep the place well maintained and are readily contactable.
Overall, a great place and one to put on the 'to return' list.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Nothing to criticise
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
claire h
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home in a great location”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked Merrydown Cottage for our main summer holiday...myself, hubby and our children ages 17, 15, 12 and 9.
The cottage was perfect. We all said how homely it was and the wifi was a bonus for the kids of an evening when they just wanted to chill out after a day out. Washing machine and dishwasher were great for me, and the gorgeous garden where I enjoyed my morning coffee most days! There were even bikes, windbreaks, picnic chairs, picnic blanket, a flask, picnic basket, all for us to make use of. The owners really have thought of everything!
We were greeted with a bottle of wine and homemade scones with jam and clotted cream - delicious! And even though the weather wasn't perfect, we had such a lovely time visiting the surrounding area and then coming back to relax in such a lovely home.
Definitely on our list of places to revisit!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing