We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What has happened to the Pityme?!”
Review of Pityme Inn

Pityme Inn
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You are sure of a warm friendly welcome at The Pityme Inn, we serve great pub food and a good selection of beers wines and spirits from the award winning St.Austell brewery. we welcome families and dogs are allowed in the bar area.try giving us a visit,we think you'll come back for more.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What has happened to the Pityme?!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have been eating at this pub regularly for the last few years and have always been satisfied enough to keep going back but we went there for a meal with our three grandchildren at the beginning of August and were very disappointed. The menu has shrunk, two of the grandchildren had been planning to have their usual jacket potatoes but they have disappeared from the menu.The specials board has disappeared, we were told all that was on offer was what was in the shrunken menu. The 4 year old asked for fish but there wasn't any fish on the children's menu! In Cornwall! We ordered spaghetti Bolognese for two of the children and when it arrived the 6 year old was handed a good sized portion but the the 8 year old was handed a portion that would have left a baby hungry. To make matters worse she had asked for garlic bread to accompany hers and when it arrived it was a burnt, rock hard, dried up offering that a child with no front teeth had no chance of managing. We noticed that another table was served perfect looking garlic bread. If they can do that why was ours not binned and started again before it even reached the table? We will definitely not be going back until we hear on the grapevine that things have improved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    105
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pityme was pityful”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What chaos. We visited the pub on Saturday 7th July. We had booked for a party of six. The staff on the bar didn't know how to work the tills and we waited ages to be served. All the specials were off and the menu was so small we had a job to find something to eat. Four of us had fish and chips which was very poor. Two of us had steak which suprisingly was OK. We didn't bother with desserts and couldn't leave quick enough. We would not recommend this pub.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great service, kid friendly and good food. Had slight hiccup with the kids meals as the kitchen cooked the wrong thing, but no hassle to get it corrected and very apologetic. Would recommend.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SparklyoneNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pityme Inn - Good service and wholesome food”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We enjoyed the Pityme Inn. The staff behind the bar were both helpful and pleasant making us feel very welcome. A good range of local beer was available to accompany our food as well as some reasonably priced wines. They had a limited specials board with fresh 'catch of the day' fish incorporated in the dishes; we chose the black bream which was delicious. We also tried the local cheeses which was a particluar favourite for me. Overall the food was good, service quick and pleasant, I would visit again and recommend it for family dining.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank neila409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great service and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great cosy pub with fab food. Carvery is great, would recommend it to all! Very welcoming, including the dog, so much so we're having our engagement party there.. can't really say anymore than that!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pityme Inn also viewed

 

Been to Pityme Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing