We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My top rating for this pub restaurant”
Review of Quarryman

Quarryman
Ranked #14 of 63 Restaurants in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“My top rating for this pub restaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious food ... Steak baguette was melt in mouth. Others had fish stew .. Mussels and prawns .. Best dish ever cooked in Portuguese copper oven dishes. very friendly and with good draft beers. A bit out if town but deserves a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Crossruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    90
    26
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whitby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely warm welcome”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped by for lunch, a large family party plus dog
We were made to feel very welcome, staff very accommodating and friendly
Food was delicious and served quickly, would certainly visit again if in the area

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suziebabe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiddy
Level Contributor
252 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We,ve been coming to this pub for some years but we have found the food disappointing this year.So little choice ! Fair enough there is plenty of it on your plate but frozen chips no no no .The chef has time to cut chips previously surely ,there aren't that many tables!Thai seafood ! Come on this is no way on a menu in Thailand ! Believe me I,ve been to Thailand many times.No no no! Chose venison but okay it filled me up but it looked awful !It would have been so nice to have seen some nice basic fish but no just Sole ! Pull your socks up Quarryman.We are close by for a weeks holiday it would be nice to see a menu change whilst we are around but I really don,t think this will happen.Better value at the two for one by the Travellodge in Wadebridge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Did not meet our expectations”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We read the reviews and decided to do a detour on our way back home from a holiday in Cornwall.The place was empty which was a bit off putting but we ordered food anyway. The menu was very limited and overpriced for what was basic pub food. The food was okay but nothing special and certainly not worth the price. The staff were friendly, but the place itself is looking very drab and could do with a bit of a makeover. It is not a place we will return to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shadebathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh-on-sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!! Attentive barstaff, friendly locals and divine food!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have just come back from Cornwall and missing it already! Ok the weather was fantastic so that is always a plus. We stayed in a farmhouse B&B which was alot more rural than we anticipated! What a welcome sight was 'The Quarryman' when we hiked up the steep driveway.

First evening we had food here. They were extremely busy but very accomodating and after a 10 minute wait found us a table. Food and service was fantastic. My husband had the House Speciality being The Red Thai Fish Curry which was absolutely fantastic. I had a fish dish which was equally has tasty. We both said that usually we don't like 'posh' pub food but this should be a restaurant. It was fantastic.

Returned again the second night in which I had the curry and my husband had a T-Bone steak which he usually avoids. 'Fantastic' is all he could say which is a big compliment.

We found all the staff very accomodating and enjoyed 'small talk with them' even the regulars had a laugh with us. There were a few special moments which you wouldn't believe! Would thoroughly recommend this place. Looking to return to Cornwall in the Autumn.... just to go there!!! Miss you guys!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_alderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarryman also viewed

Wadebridge, Cornwall
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 

Been to Quarryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing