We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC!!! Attentive barstaff, friendly locals and divine food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarryman

Quarryman
Ranked #13 of 63 Restaurants in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
leigh-on-sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!! Attentive barstaff, friendly locals and divine food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have just come back from Cornwall and missing it already! Ok the weather was fantastic so that is always a plus. We stayed in a farmhouse B&B which was alot more rural than we anticipated! What a welcome sight was 'The Quarryman' when we hiked up the steep driveway.

First evening we had food here. They were extremely busy but very accomodating and after a 10 minute wait found us a table. Food and service was fantastic. My husband had the House Speciality being The Red Thai Fish Curry which was absolutely fantastic. I had a fish dish which was equally has tasty. We both said that usually we don't like 'posh' pub food but this should be a restaurant. It was fantastic.

Returned again the second night in which I had the curry and my husband had a T-Bone steak which he usually avoids. 'Fantastic' is all he could say which is a big compliment.

We found all the staff very accomodating and enjoyed 'small talk with them' even the regulars had a laugh with us. There were a few special moments which you wouldn't believe! Would thoroughly recommend this place. Looking to return to Cornwall in the Autumn.... just to go there!!! Miss you guys!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sue_alderton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    86
    25
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We are not locals so very uncomfortable.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Do not visit if you are not from the area. My 9 year old son was reduced to tears from the local men and one vile women. Locals made us feel unwelcome and stared at us for not accepting putting their drinks on our table when we are having a family meal. Never been to a place like it. Please STAY AWAY.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamesis12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“can't praise it enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a lovely meal at The Quarryman. This is much more than “just a pub”. The Seafood Red Thai Curry, the speciality, it was exquisite. It was also very generous, and was a challenge to finish. The staff were very attentive and friendly, and we really enjoyed our visit.
So much we went a second time………
And it was every bit as good.
This is an excellent restaurant and should not be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

excellent meal tonight. The Timothy Taylor Landlord bitter was first class and the Thai seafood curry was superb. The roast beef dinner was plentiful & didn't disappoint either. Deserves to do well!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roganddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Local friendly pub, but great meals and a great welcome. Had the steak - locally sourced as was everything but the on draught San Miguel

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 187069JohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quarryman also viewed

 
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 
Wadebridge, Cornwall
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 

Been to Quarryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing