We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oystercatcher
Nearby Hotels
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
$169
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$198
$192
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tredethy House(Tredethy)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$156
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveler rating
19
12
4
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
12
4
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbunk bedsapartmentpolzeathwetsuitscornwall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 43 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

To start, the views were great, even on an overcast and stormy day.
The food was served quite slowly, but the wait was worth it, as the Bacon and Cheese melt burger was well cooked and easy to eat.
The staff were friendly and we found seats outside under an unbrella

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I checked on the Oyster Catcher website for food serving times - 12pm - 9pm on weekends. Our family of 5 arrived at 5.00pm on Sunday for dinner and were told that food wasn't bring served until 6pm. When I queried this with the girl serving behind the bar, I was greeted with a nonchalant "that's how it is" attitude. There was absolutely no apology and certainly not the "warm welcome" that I expected having read previous reviews. The place was clearly understaffed and struggling. We had some overpriced drinks and then left to eat at the Rock Inn! We won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

6 of us ate here on a busy Saturday night. Unfortunately, on the way in, my husband (who had our teenage daughters with him) had to tell a young lad about his language. He did apologise, so the incident was put down to experience. The staff were all lovely, happy and friendly even though they were so busy. Our food came (not too long a wait) and to be honest, the 3 burgers were mediocre and so were the three orders of ribs. The salad was a handful of lettuce with a mustard style dressing on the top and apart from burgers/ribs and chips, that was all that was on the plate. Ok, so it didn't say that there was anything else, but after reading the reviews on here I think we were expecting a bit much. The presentation of the meals was very poor indeed - it did nothing to make you feel you wanted to eat it. Also, there were a few males in the bar who, in very loud voices, were using the F word on a regular basis. Just thought as there were families dining, the staff could have picked up on it and asked them to tone it down a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HonestJohn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Real pub not pretending to be a restaurant but with excellent pub food as well. Caters for all seasons, frequented by locals, welcoming of tourists. excellent asset to Polzeath dont miss this place if you are visisting this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

lovely food, great atmosphere, beautiful view and always a warm welcome from the ever present manager Flo. she is amazing and although never seems to leave the pub she always has a smile on her face. she is an asset to that pub and always really makes our trip.
although extremely busy, the food is still great so you dont mind waiting the 30mins that we were informed of when we arrived.
always a good crowd and locals. look forward to visiting again in august.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews