We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sea views, sea food and sunshine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sea views, sea food and sunshine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

We have stayed at Port Gaverne many,many times over the years and sampled several of their excellent rooms. You can choose from quirky and old fashioned to modern (almost!) All rooms are well furnished and clean with the usual tea making hairdryer etc, even a clock.
The food in the dining room where you can feel comfortable in either jeans or jacket or tie is excellent, or eat in more relaxed bar, beside a log fire in winter. The chef, Ian, has been at the Hotel for 25 years, which speaks volumes, and offers local seafood, as well as the usual bar food. (His fish pie is to die for) The locals in the bar are friendly so enjoy an after dinner drink beside the log fire.The location,being a short walk from Port Isaac where the series Doc Martin is filmed is ideal for a gentle walk, or for the more ambitious to walk the coastal route.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 305barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    132
    66
    41
    22
See reviews for
84
262
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We have just got back from 3 nights at the Port Gaverne Hotel, it is our third visit and everything was just a we remembered. We were VERY lucky and had fantastic hot and sunny weather making everything that bit more special. We went to get away from it all for a few days and recharge our batteries - which we indeed did - we stayed in room 20 which was perfect - clean, comfortable and spacious, we had our dog with us and the room opened onto a balcony with a sea view, we were also just by the back door at the top of a side driveway which was good as our dog isn't very mobile now and the steep stairs in the hotel were causing her a bit of a problem.
The breakfasts were really good, nothing too much trouble, and during the rest of the day you could come and go as you pleased, just like home.
We did think that the bar food was a tad expensive and it would have been nice to have had maybe more salads or veg - just too many chips for us.
Had a really lovely time and will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordshireIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

As we drove down the narrow road and saw the hotel it was just what we were hoping for. A perfect locatoin and a perfect place to stay. We were welcomed by the friendly owner who helped us with our bags to a delightful room overlooking the sea. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast ( including the sauages!!) and meals were excellent. We found the staff professional, helpful and friendly. We will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PANDC5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

Lovely location. We had Crab sandwich and a mackeral pate salad. Portions are not generous but were nasty. Salad needs to be more interesting though. Owners could be a little more welcoming. I would probably chose to go elsewhere for dinner. It also felt a bit grubby inside and upstairs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockHill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

My wife and I, along with our well-behaved 8 month old daughter, travelled up from the Padstow area, arriving in Port Isaac for 12.00 pm with the view of having lunch at the hotel. We entered an empty bar area to be greeted by a rude and unfriendly waiter/ barman. We asked if lunch was available and he said that we would have to eat in a back room because of our daughter. We asked why, and he gruffly said (quote) "because most of our clientele are over 50 and don't like them amongst them" (unquote). We were shocked and immediately left, very disappointed. In hindsight, it seemed to be for the best, as there are countless very good restaurants with very friendly and family accommodating staff in the local area. This hotel is to be avoided if you have children. Perhaps the management should put signs on the doors saying that children are unwelcome to avoid further embarrassment! The hotel needs to understand that their front of house staff represent the hotel as a whole. Ridiculous.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Giglar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2010

Wonderful location with great scenery also short walk to Port Issac and back recomnded on coastal path.
We visited in January and enjoyed the tranqulity of the place, we were lucky the weather was good. Talking to people there in the summer it gets very busy and parking becomes an issue in such a small place.
The hotel itself was clean and the staff very welcoming, quality of food was very good, both evening meal and breakfast, the room was ideal with nice en suite , we stayed in room 14 overlooking the street.
We both enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCouple0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel 5 times over the past 7 years and it has never been less than delightful. It's a charming slightly old-fashioned place, with old-timers propping up the bar, excellent English cooking (lots of very fresh fish) and a perfect location right by the Cornish coastal path. The rooms can be small and the bathrooms a bit old-fashioned but hey, this isn't an American hotel chain, the place was built hundreds of years ago. Most of the staff have been there forever and are incredibly helpful. It's a fabulous place for walkers - bring sturdy boots as the coast path can be tough - and a great place to stay with a dog. Your pooch will love the dog-friendly beach at Daymer Bay about 20 minutes away, and while you're there do visit the ancient church half sunk in the sands in the middle of the golf course, where John Betjeman is buried.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellingDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
4.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
6.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Property: Port Gaverne Hotel
Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing