We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Hospitality”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2014

The owners and staff were incedibly hospitable to me when I landed up in Port Gaverne having had problems with my car. I had a beautiful spacious room (No 8) which had a large bathroom and separate seating area. The stairs were quite steep but not a problem for me.
Dinner was excellent and the breakfast was superb with a large variety of choices.
Lovely location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 544 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2014

We walked from Port Issac down a huge hill in hope it would a good place for lunch. However on seeing the prices we were a little put off but decided to treat ourselves as we are on holiday. We wish we had not. We were sat opposite a door marked "service" we soon found out it was the kitchen and our conversation was constantly interrupted by the chefs shouting "Service!" and complaining to each other about picky customers, also shouting at one member of the staff continually! who we felt sorry for as out of all the staff she seemed the friendliest. The proprietor a rather tall, upper and very un-friendly lady constantly whooshed past our table without comment. We felt that they didn't want us there. We asked for a child's menu, which they didn't have and we had to explain what a plain ham sandwich was x3 times to the lady at the bar. When it came out served with piccalilli, salad in vinaigrette etc it then took 3 times and a little time for the waitress to stare at the sandwich before she took it away to correct it. £36.50 for x4 ham sandwich and x cokes to us is a lot of money. The ham was small lumps not like the ham you slice of a hock more like the ham you get in the value range from asda we buy for our dogs.

I looked at the menu and commented to my partner on the price of the steak £26, the proprietor happened to walk past at this point and swiftly said you have ordered then, I answered yes and the menu was ripped from my hands. My hubby got up to look for mayonaise, looking at shelf with condiments she said curtly "What do you want" my partner answered "mayonaise" to which she replied "SIT DOWN" and walked off???? we had to laugh at this point the children were getting upset. Both my children have ASD and meal times are difficult for them anyway. The atmosphere was horrible.

As we walked out I said to my partner I dont think its good value for money and un-fortunately my daughter who mimics as part of her ASD said ti much louder - the proprietor heard and mimic her like a parrot. I was shocked !

Needless to say we wont be back - really we loved Port Issac but the only thing in Port Gaverene is the hotel so we wont be back there.!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dontlookback24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night while walking the coast path. We loved the quant look and the location. Our room was at the top of some very narrow and steep stairs. Being an older hotel, the room was very small, but had a good sized bathroom. Breakfast was served rather late and we had to hustle to get our luggage down in time for transfer and get going ourselves to get back on the path.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, after reading all reviews were pleasantly pleased.
Our room was at the top of a steep flight of stairs but had a great sea view.
The bathroom was spacious but sadly with only a hand held shower, with no shower screen.There was a strange smell of stale water, but the bathroom was carpeted and we were unsure if it was this or just poor drainage.
Breakfast was only served between 8.30 - 9.30 which in peak times in the Summer was some what chaotic.
Ingredients were good, but the wait for coffee / tea was long.
The food in the bar / restaurant was average for the area.
Staff in the bar were great, but the hotel staff surly, out of date practices,and unwelcoming.
There's tons of places to eat / stay in the region, choose carefully!
It is now under new management and can only get better!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzi197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Walked up on a Saturday evening 5 adults and 5 children, food delivered reasonably quickly with a special for my coeliac daughter. Have read the comments here about the new owners etc but have to say had a much better experience this year over last. Landlady listened to the jokes from one of our groups children and was very friendly. I will be back again this week and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.
Tried 3 of the ales on offer all good and didn't miss the now overrated Doombar at all.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank yowiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

After a long 12 mile walk we returned to our old favourite the Port Gaverne Hotel for lunch but to our surprise it had taken on two new chefs who provided us with an outstanding lunch whilst we were able to sit outside in the glorious sunshine with a fabulous view of the pretty little cove which makes up Port Gaverne. Friendly staff, great service and delicious food made for perfect lunchtime treat. Local mussels, tempura soft shell crab and spectacular fish and chips served with fresh salads and home made sauces was all beautifully presented. We could not recommend it more!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have on a great number of occasions visited The Port Gaverne Hotel for lunch. This time we stayed. The hotel and accomadation is first class.

Where it lets itself down is in the Food and Berverage department. We were shown to our table and forgotten it was'nt until I got up to get a staff member that we were attended too and then by the time we had been served and finished our starter an hour had passed. The staff need direction and some training in being polite and friendly. The Landlady needs to look as though is enjoying her clientele and indeed herself.

The final straw was after dinner enjoying the last of our wine in the night air and sceneary the kitchen was slopped out and the road in front of our table was flooded with stinking disinfectant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
0.4 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
969 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
248 reviews
6.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range: $194 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA 5 star, 2 Rosette rated 17th-century Port Gaverne Hotel is nestled in a beautiful secluded cove on North Cornwall’s dramatic coast. Enjoy seasonal, star-quality food inspired by the bounty on our doorstep. Relax in our traditional old bar with slate floors, wooden beams and a wide range of proper ales. Your dishes will be cooked simply and with integrity by Head Chef James Lean and his team, who have learnt their trade under some of the UK’s top Michelin-star chefs. With antique furniture and traditional features, no two bedrooms are the same at Port Gaverne. Facilities include free wifi, Sky TV, Nespresso coffee machines, en-suite bathrooms with a hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. And a hearty full Cornish breakfast is always included in the price. The beautiful, peaceful North Cornwall Heritage Coast is on our doorstep, with the beach just moments away. Port Isaac is a 5-minute walk away, or the large sandy beach at Polzeath is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing