We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place in the UK, but don't tell anyone!,”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We've stayed in Port Gaverne many times in the last 12 years, both at the Port Gaverne hotel and other self catering accommodation. My whole family love the port and the hotel. So close to the beach where the children go rock pooling, and for the adults the fantastic hotel! We always intend to self cater but end up eating every night at the hotel where the staff are so welcoming and the food is very good. The outside veranda is great, especially if it gets a bit cooler. This is a fantastic place, don't really want to report how good it is because I'd like to keep it for those of us who appreciate it already, but to be fair to the owners have to give it a 5 star rating!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ark102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Oh you lovely people! We obviously tick your boxes, keep coming back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

12th year of returning to this epitome of a Cornwall pub hotel.
Chef Brodie still there and working his magic, friendly staff and dogs galore - they love it as much as the people; locals and visitors alike.
Great food (bar or restaurant) where you can get a plateful of decent vegetables with your fresh fish or locally sourced meats. These guys having been doing this a lot longer than the fancy TV chefs, so much so that we couldn't book this year as they were full.
Crab soup is a must, oysters if you ask and, for us group of golfer now and again, a spotted dick/custard - specially made. Interesting how everyone else in the restaurant orders this when they know it's on!
Rooms are smallish but tidy but heyho the bar atmosphere and Doom Bar make up for any deficiencies in that direction.

Room Tip: Dog rooms are bigger and quiet so worth a visit. The adjacent Green door cottages are also good valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

We are so pleased that you had a good time and thank you for the fab review. It sounds like you had a good time and enjoyed the local's banter in the bar.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying in north Devon and visited our favourite place for Crab Soup, and as usual it was delightful, especially accompanying homemade herb roll, next time will pay for an extra one it was so delicious.
The menu is excellent, one is spoiled for choice, we observed other meals arriving at tables and the looks of pleasure as the other customers began their meals.
My husband noted there was an excellent choice of whiskys for the discerning drinker and the beers that would satisfy most tastes.
The atmosphere is very welcoming and unlike the inflated prices of Port Isaac, you get value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank gina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review - we do have a reputation for our crab soup! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and that nothing had really changed in sleepy Port Gaverne since your last visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel with my husband and casper our dog, wonderful hotel, rooms clean and tastefully decorated , The food was worth every penny especially the lobster which my husband thoroughly enjoyed ,we ate at the hotel each night but get there early as its very popular The staff friendly and helpful offering to set up a table in the snug each morning so that our dog was able to be with us whilst we had breakfast. No rowdy pubs , nightclubs or amusement arcades just peace and tranquility

Room Tip: We had room 3 which had a shared verander which we sat each morning with our coffee and enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelinejenkins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for the very kind review. It is very satisfying when you get a run of good reviews, we must be doing something right. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Visited a couple of times just for drinks. Really lovely friendly cosy pub. Much quieter Place to stop for a drink than neighbouring port Isaac. Very dog friendly. Great for a little potter down the small beach after a drink. Would recommend. Didn't eat or stay though.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

It is a cosy bar isn't it! Why not come and try our food when you are next in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for the fourth time - this time with a group of 16 friends and work colleagues. It was all up to and above expectations. The food was lovely, the service just great and verything was done to make us feel welcome and well.
As I have written in a former review, this is as far from a chain hotel as you can get. All rooms are individually furnished, but all with a lot of atmosphere. The staris are steep, but that just adds to the atmosphere, but good to be aware of if you are not in good health.
Staff is just great - attentive but discrete, and we were specially happy with Jenny who served us both breakfast and dinner and who handled a group of slightly unruly, old Norwegians in a marvellous way.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms 18, 19 and 20 have a balcony facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LjoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

What a charming group of Norwegians you are! It was lovely to hear so much laughter and fun going on - even if we couldn't understand a word of it! thank you for your kind comments about our staff, I will ensure you review goes on the staff notice board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent 3 nights here. We had a lovely, comfortable room and a lovely breakfast each morning. The staff were very friendly. Jeanette (hope I spelt correctly) was the lovely lady at reception and Karen was our fun bar person. We had some great times at the bar and met lots of very friendly locals. Would recommend this hotel. There is also a lounge upstairs leading out to a patio overlooking the beach across the road. There is a bookcase of books upstairs which you can exchange with books you have read. This was very helpful for me. It is a short walk uphill to Port Isaac to visit Doc Martin country. So please we stayed here than in Port isaac. Much quieter and away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Allow time to have a drink at the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review - you obviously had a good time in Cornwall. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
0.4 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#2 of 4 in Port Isaac
449 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
443 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
516 reviews
5.3 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range: $182 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA 5 star, 2 Rosette rated 17th-century Port Gaverne Hotel is nestled in a beautiful secluded cove on North Cornwall’s dramatic coast. Enjoy seasonal, star-quality food inspired by the bounty on our doorstep. Relax in our traditional old bar with slate floors, wooden beams and a wide range of proper ales. Your dishes will be cooked simply and with integrity by Head Chef James Lean and his team, who have learnt their trade under some of the UK’s top Michelin-star chefs. With antique furniture and traditional features, no two bedrooms are the same at Port Gaverne. Facilities include free wifi, Sky TV, Nespresso coffee machines, en-suite bathrooms with a hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. And a hearty full Cornish breakfast is always included in the price. The beautiful, peaceful North Cornwall Heritage Coast is on our doorstep, with the beach just moments away. Port Isaac is a 5-minute walk away, or the large sandy beach at Polzeath is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing