We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with very friendly people”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The atmosphere of this hotel is brilliant, so very friendly and relaxing and the staff are very accomodating as is the owner. We had to move rooms as the occupant above our room paced up and down all night - a nightmare but we were moved with no trouble or fuss into a very nice room at the back with a balcony (recommend room 18). Food is good at the bar (we did not eat in the restaurant) and the Doombar was very well kept. If anything is at fault don't be afraid to ask as I mentioned my scrambled egg was cold one morning the next time Hot - hot -hot!! Would recommend to anyone except people that find stairs difficult as there are a lot of them and they are steep. Great place

Room Tip: Rooms at the back 18-20 are quiet and have shared balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the review, we are sorry about the noise from the room above - no ghosts as far as I am aware! We are really pleased that you had a good break in Cornwall, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Port Gaverne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 527 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I came all the way from NZ primarily on business but took out a couple of nights to stay at Port Gaverne. We love Doc Martin, hence the reason for coming to this part of Cornwall. In NZ we don't have lovely old buildings like this and we LOVED staying in this historical old hotel / pub and our room was right up the top in the attic which was great. Don't expect to come here with everything looking perfect because the building is four hundred years old, but it is very comfortable and clean. The staff were ever so helpful, particularly the breakfast staff in the restaurant and we really enjoyed the meal too. On one of the evenings we had our meal in the pub and it was delicious! We really wish it wasn't so far to visit but if / when we visit England again we'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gypsy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

You are quite right - it is not easy trying to keep up with modern desires with a very old building! Hence why Port Gaverne Hotel is somewhat quirky. Now we have wi-fi throughout we are up there with the best.
We are really pleased that you had a great holiday in Cornwall, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Four of us (two couples) stayed for four nights and were sorry to leave. This old hotel is in a wonderful location, almost on the beach. The bar had a real fire, great beers for our husbands and a wonderful atmosphere. It was full of locals and guests plus numerous dogs, including one with us. The staff were very friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. We chose to eat our dinner in the pub rather than the restaurant because it had such a great buzz and we could choose from either the restaurant or the pub menu. It was the sort of great English pub where people like to talk to each other and we met some very interesting people from the UK and abroad. Despite the lively conversation in the pub, however, we could not hear anything from our bedrooms. Our rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. Our room had been newly refurbished and was furnished with an excellent walk-in shower. The beds were very comfortable and we had our own little courtyard area. There was no view of the beach from our room but this is a very old inn that was built at right-angles to the sea. The food for both breakfast and dinner was excellent. We were just sorry to have to leave after four days. We had originally wanted to stay longer but they were fully booked. Port Gaverne is just over the hill from Port Isaac where the Doc Martin series is filmed. The walk from Port Gaverne takes about 30 minutes and includes some breathtaking scenery over the bay. Our stay was nicely rounded off by watching the Doc Martin crew shooting a scene on the beach outside the hotel and converting a local cottage into the police station ! We hope to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CNutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

We do try our best and Cornwall is giving us a helping hand at the moment! Thank you to the Doc Martin team for making so many people really happy!
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our destination was Port Isaac (of Doc Martin fame), but we wound up staying around the point in Port Gaverne at this lovely place. Lots of character, a quite good restaurant, and stunning walk along the coastal trail behind the place (cave-like features and arches along the coast, benches for resting to take in the view, lovely spongy grass). Our room at the top of the hotel was very comfortable (although no shower) and well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EcoArtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

What a lucky stumble! Some people have been stumbling for years and have never come our way! Joking aside, we are so pleased that you came across us and had a lovely time.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Port Gaverne Hotel and absolutely loved it. It is in a wonderful quiet location with the beach just 50 yards from the front door. It is a very old quaint property with the bedrooms dotted all over the place. It is actually two properties with the pub in one side and the restaurant in the other but they can both be accessed on the ground floor. Our room, which was No 8, was located on the 2nd floor and was a strange shape with a lovely little dorma window looking out of the front of the hotel, but with a "Secret Seaview" but I will say no more as it will be a surprise for the next person to find. The room was very comfortable and cosy as a cottage type room should be. The walls are covered with old photos of the port as it was years before which I loved, and in the bar there are some paintings by local artists of the surrounding areas.
We stayed for 4 nights on a bed and breakfast basis but we ate at the hotel every night as the food was so good. They have a very nice restaurant menu but we ate in the pub as we loved the atmosphere. The pub grub was excellent and they had a nightly specials board.
We got chatting to so many people while we were there including quite a few Australians. It is also popular with the locals who often came in with their dogs who were all very well behaved. We had our little dog too and everyone made a fuss of him. We also met some of the film crew from the "Doc Martin" series which is based in Port Isaac but they use other locations in the area. They were a great crowd and we watched them filming a scene on the beach just outside the hotel one morning.
Port Gaverne where the hotel is situated is in the next inlet to Port Isaac, (now famous for the "Doc Martin" TV programme.) It is a beautiful walk round the headland from the hotel to Port Isaac, albeit up a steep hill to begin with. (Although I am not good on hills I did it quite easily.) As you reach the top of the hill keep right, walk through the car park and follow the path round the coast as it takes you into the village. The views are fantastic !
Port Gaverne Hotel really is a little gem and dog friendly too. I will have to go back. The staff are all very friendly, the food is excellent and the location is stunning. I was very sad to have to leave. Thank you to the owners and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room No 8 was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLNATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Well...... what a kind and honest review. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed your stay.
It is quite beautiful down here at the moment, perhaps the best time of year - a bit more sunshine would just make it perfect.
Do please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great food and dog friendly. Very cosy and good atmosphere quirky surroundings all rounded off with some great ales. Well worth a visit ! Will go back when we come down again and would recommend to friends

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Angus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you very much for your very complimentary comments and we are really pleased that you had such a good time in Cornwall.
Do please come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a great find this was! We had looked at hotels in Port Isaac and been disappointed with what was offered but this was perfect. Very traditional and charming, and our room was gorgeous, contemporary and with its own little private courtyard. The room was lovely and warm and everything looked brand new, fabulous.
Dinner was like the rest of the hotel - traditional, good, quiet, service excellent, super food.
Everything here was done so efficiently and without fuss and with a really good result.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We are so pleased that you had a good few days with us. it can bit a little nerve wracking when you book somewhere that is unknown to you - so we were thrilled when we saw your review. We aim for good old fashioned service and really try to deliver it in every aspect in the hotel and bar.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
957 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
242 reviews
5.3 mi away
The St Enodoc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range: $192 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA 5 star, 2 Rosette rated 17th-century Port Gaverne Hotel is nestled in a beautiful secluded cove on North Cornwall’s dramatic coast. Enjoy seasonal, star-quality food inspired by the bounty on our doorstep. Relax in our traditional old bar with slate floors, wooden beams and a wide range of proper ales. Your dishes will be cooked simply and with integrity by Head Chef James Lean and his team, who have learnt their trade under some of the UK’s top Michelin-star chefs. With antique furniture and traditional features, no two bedrooms are the same at Port Gaverne. Facilities include free wifi, Sky TV, Nespresso coffee machines, en-suite bathrooms with a hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. And a hearty full Cornish breakfast is always included in the price. The beautiful, peaceful North Cornwall Heritage Coast is on our doorstep, with the beach just moments away. Port Isaac is a 5-minute walk away, or the large sandy beach at Polzeath is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing