We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Gaverne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Slipway B & B(Port Isaac)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$200
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cornish Arms(Pendoggett)
$117
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
St. Moritz Hotel(Wadebridge)
$144
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$216
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wadebridge(Wadebridge)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveler rating
272
154
78
51
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
154
78
51
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdoc martinthe pubnespresso machinemusselscharming hotelshort walksky tvfor sunday lunchsteep hillpuddingnorth cornwallstayed one nightcornish breakfastcouple of nightscar parkbiscuitssea view
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 581 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

known this hotel for at least 30 years and chose it for my 50th birthday at the end of January 2013. Although quiet at that time of year, our room was fab - balcony overlooking the sea, wonderful duvet (want one - where do you buy these?)

Food as usual great, Graham and staff excellent, locals very friendly and we love dogs . . .

Beautiful place, location, staff, food - it has it all in my opinion - sorry to post so late.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room with balcony access (it is shared but worth it).
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derry162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

It is always lovely to see old faces coming back.......and we so really pleased that you had a good time and the weather was kind to you. Do come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

With a 30 yard walk to the beach this is ideal for us dog lovers ,dogs are welcome in the pub and Green Doors Cottages.In fact if you go there on a Sunday lunch (fantastic there are more dogs than customers.The staff are great with good sense of humor the hotel is only 10 min.walk from Doc Martins Port Isaac

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We try to keep everyone happy - not an easy thing to do! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely rambling old hotel , with upmarket rooms just starting to look slightly tatty and in need of a further freshening up. Our room was huge, with a big bathroom with underfloor heating, built in wardrobe and patio doors opening onto a rooftop terrace area. There was no wi-fi in the hotel though, which was unusual. The bar areas are cozy and inviting, with a good selection of real ales on tap, an interesting and unusual bar menu and friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant dining room which is considered expensive by UK standards (not by overpriced Perth, Australia ones though) and the food and service was very nice, though not the 'gastronomic' fare that the Trailblazer guide suggests it is. Breakfast was tasty, as were the packed lunches we had ordered for our walk the next day. Overall a very comfortable stay if a little bit steeply priced from a food perspective.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david102a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the rest of your walking trip went well. Next week the gremlins are coming to put the wifi bits in the hotel so we will be wifi all over the place. Do come back one day and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This hotel is situated at the bottom of a ravine (if your over 60)! or in a cove if you're a walker, a quarter mile from Port Issac, the home of TV series "Doc Martin". A beautiful location with a real local pub that still attracts local characters that will talk to you and pass the time. There is EXCELLENT pub food and a fully fledged gourmet restaurant. This is definitely a snugglers heaven as the rooms are very cosy and comfortable.
However, its outstanding feature, beside the beer, food, breakfast and dinner is that it allows our dog to accompany us, we are a family and its important that we all travel together. To round off the experience we were warmly welcomed and treated handsomely by all the staff from owner to breakfast server. It's our idea of a "Snugglers Harbour", sorry the local smugglers were nowhere to be seen, it's about the only thing missing!!

Room Tip: Our room was up two flights of stairs, over looking the back of the hotel, no view but very quiet, the whole place is quiet. Ask in reception if they have "sea views"?
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tishytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

You do not stay at the Port Gaverne Hotel for the "canned" luxuries that you find in large chain hotels. You stay at this hotel for charm, pub atmosphere and great food.

This is one of our "bolt holes" that we use on our regular travels to the UK for a bit of relaxation. The pub is excellent with mainly locals as customers. The restaurant is excellent. BTW - the breakfasts are just "to die for"!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmo_in_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I guess it is too late to say ' welcome back! ' - but it was good to know that you had a lovely time with us. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews