We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I'm in the sometimes fortunate position to have to travel with work. I now tailor all of my trips to fit in with available rooms here. Not only is it pretty much my favourite pub in the world, the food is great, home cooked and tasty. The location couldn't be better. I only have one thing to say, please don't book when I want to come down, it messes my plans up!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hines-images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely review, just what we want to see! Have a Happy Christmas.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 553 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I know this is a pub but our first night's stay was disrupted by a lot of noise under our room when people were talking loudly outside until quite late in the evening. To be fair we were put in another room for the second night and the staff were quite helpful. The bathroom in the first room was a bit shabby but the second room was much better. Beautiful location of course and breakfast was good but we didn't eat here in the evenings. My husband liked it more than me due to the fact that it's a pub!

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully and ask to be away from the bar area unless you stay midwinter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are so sorry that your room was noisy, what a shame. People can be a little thoughtless at times.
We are glad that you did say something about it and got to change rooms. We do hope that this has not put you off coming again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We been coming to this pub for a number of years,loving the location just next to a beautiful quiet cove.The restaurant never disappoints & there is a lovely atmosphere. We also had a bar meal which was delicious and very reasonably priced. Will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments and lovely review. The hotel does have a lovely atmosphere whether it is busy or quiet. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Decent food, resonably priced, friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere. We had Sunday lunch in the restaurant and had a few bar meals in the evening, all very good. Port Issac is a fairly short and scenic walk up a steep hill. This was our favourite place to eat on our visit, we did not stay here as we had already booked a self catering cottage in Port Issac but if we are ever in the area for a short visit we will certainly keep in mind this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us and hope that you come and stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Been coming here for at least 15 years, wonderful setting, typical old pub bedrooms with a modern feel. Staff been there as long as we have been going especially Ian the chef and his wife Jenny.
Wonderful seafood wonderful service and a great night out on quiz night, will be back next year

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 305barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

We were both so pleased to read your review and delighted that you are still coming to stay. Ian does do a fantastic job and Jenny is so professional - it is always a pleasure to work with them. do come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stayed in 1 of the self catering cottages which was nice but had problems with the heating. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and gave us a lovely room in the hotel whilst the problem was solved. The hotel is dog friendly and very welcoming. Food is fairly standard, but what makes the hotel good is the staff and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review. I am sorry the heating was'nt working properly when you arrived, but glad that it was sorted out by Green Door Cottages promptly.
I hope that you will come back soon and enjoy Cornwall in slightly better weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on Wed 12Sept 2012.we had driven from Saint Ives that morning,arriving at Gaverne Hotel around 12 midday.my husband informed the receptionest that I was feeling very sick,now we know as travelers of many years that you cannot get into your room before 2-3pm.she informed us this was the case and we understood.as we signed in she said that as soon as our room was ready we would be told.
I feeling really worse than I had on arrival was told to sit in the lounge of the bar area,awaiting to be told when our room would be ready,when 3pm came my husband went to the front desk again to ask when we could get into our room,the answer was oh it's been ready for quite a while,not impressed I'm afraid.
The following evening we went down to the lounge area for dinner,to find more dogs than people in the lounge area where we had to eat our meal,quite a number of flies in the lounge area,so think perhaps keeping dogs from the eating area might be a healthy idea !!!
Would not stay at this hotel again.
Best said for this hotel is the position.

Room Tip: The room we had was number 6 would not want to be in this room if ever a fire broke out,stairs to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrishGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

We are so sorry that we didn't come up to your expectations. I have discussed the problem with the room being available with our receptionist and will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again.
We are sorry that you did not find it possible to ask for help in bringing your bags downstairs, I do understand the staircase is narrow but it is the nature of the building. It would of been no problem to of helped.
We do appreciate your comments and have acted on them as far as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
0.4 mi away
The Slipway B & B
The Slipway B & B
#2 of 4 in Port Isaac
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
980 reviews
6 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,354 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range: $178 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA 5 star, 2 Rosette rated 17th-century Port Gaverne Hotel is nestled in a beautiful secluded cove on North Cornwall’s dramatic coast. Enjoy seasonal, star-quality food inspired by the bounty on our doorstep. Relax in our traditional old bar with slate floors, wooden beams and a wide range of proper ales. Your dishes will be cooked simply and with integrity by Head Chef James Lean and his team, who have learnt their trade under some of the UK’s top Michelin-star chefs. With antique furniture and traditional features, no two bedrooms are the same at Port Gaverne. Facilities include free wifi, Sky TV, Nespresso coffee machines, en-suite bathrooms with a hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. And a hearty full Cornish breakfast is always included in the price. The beautiful, peaceful North Cornwall Heritage Coast is on our doorstep, with the beach just moments away. Port Isaac is a 5-minute walk away, or the large sandy beach at Polzeath is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing