We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining in a beautiful location”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great dining in a beautiful location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We been coming to this pub for a number of years,loving the location just next to a beautiful quiet cove.The restaurant never disappoints & there is a lovely atmosphere. We also had a bar meal which was delicious and very reasonably priced. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and lovely review. The hotel does have a lovely atmosphere whether it is busy or quiet. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    141
    71
    44
    23
See reviews for
93
288
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Coast England
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Decent food, resonably priced, friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere. We had Sunday lunch in the restaurant and had a few bar meals in the evening, all very good. Port Issac is a fairly short and scenic walk up a steep hill. This was our favourite place to eat on our visit, we did not stay here as we had already booked a self catering cottage in Port Issac but if we are ever in the area for a short visit we will certainly keep in mind this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us and hope that you come and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Been coming here for at least 15 years, wonderful setting, typical old pub bedrooms with a modern feel. Staff been there as long as we have been going especially Ian the chef and his wife Jenny.
Wonderful seafood wonderful service and a great night out on quiz night, will be back next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 305barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We were both so pleased to read your review and delighted that you are still coming to stay. Ian does do a fantastic job and Jenny is so professional - it is always a pleasure to work with them. do come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmfirth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

we stayed in 1 of the self catering cottages which was nice but had problems with the heating. The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and gave us a lovely room in the hotel whilst the problem was solved. The hotel is dog friendly and very welcoming. Food is fairly standard, but what makes the hotel good is the staff and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. I am sorry the heating was'nt working properly when you arrived, but glad that it was sorted out by Green Door Cottages promptly.
I hope that you will come back soon and enjoy Cornwall in slightly better weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on Wed 12Sept 2012.we had driven from Saint Ives that morning,arriving at Gaverne Hotel around 12 midday.my husband informed the receptionest that I was feeling very sick,now we know as travelers of many years that you cannot get into your room before 2-3pm.she informed us this was the case and we understood.as we signed in she said that as soon as our room was ready we would be told.
I feeling really worse than I had on arrival was told to sit in the lounge of the bar area,awaiting to be told when our room would be ready,when 3pm came my husband went to the front desk again to ask when we could get into our room,the answer was oh it's been ready for quite a while,not impressed I'm afraid.
The following evening we went down to the lounge area for dinner,to find more dogs than people in the lounge area where we had to eat our meal,quite a number of flies in the lounge area,so think perhaps keeping dogs from the eating area might be a healthy idea !!!
Would not stay at this hotel again.
Best said for this hotel is the position.

Room Tip: The room we had was number 6 would not want to be in this room if ever a fire broke out,stairs to ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are so sorry that we didn't come up to your expectations. I have discussed the problem with the room being available with our receptionist and will endeavour to ensure this does not happen again.
We are sorry that you did not find it possible to ask for help in bringing your bags downstairs, I do understand the staircase is narrow but it is the nature of the building. It would of been no problem to of helped.
We do appreciate your comments and have acted on them as far as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had an evening meal here in late May, on one of those remarkable clear sunshine afternoons.The Pub area was full, no tables free at all. Walked through to the back Captains room & asked a couple sitting at the large table if we could join them. They very kindly obliged & we all had a good evening.
There was a great choice of fish dishes which i love & my partner had no problem choosing from the selection on the specials board. Service very polite but still fun. The meal's came out in good time considering how busy it was & we both really enjoyed our dishes. At the bar a good selection of beers at non inflated prices. I wouldn't say the food prices were cheap but then i wouldn't say they were expensive either.
To finish the evening off we were able to enjoy a sundowner as the sun dropped into the sea between the cliffs of port Gaverne.
A really really enjoyable evening meal, good company,good food, great beer & what a sunset.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Howlsedhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review. I think your last sentence sums up Port Gaverne perfectly. Do please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had just one night here , lovely room, great location, and fantastic food, I had seabass and my husband had lobster, the breakfast was fab too. staff are very friendly and pleasant
Loved it all, the only negative was the weather but that didn't spoil the lovely time we had, will be returning soon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the really positive review. If only we could sort out the weather for everyone it would be great! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
395 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
940 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
416 reviews
6.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Property: Port Gaverne Hotel
Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing