We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doc martin would be grumpy”
Review of Port Gaverne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Port Gaverne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Chilly, near wordless "welcome" from elderly receptionist.Struggled up almost vertical staircase with our suitcase (no help offered) Room good size,well apppointed,clean but cold .Bathroom even chillier with slate floor, light over sink not working for entire stay. Shower flooded bathroom and soaked part of the bedroom carpet, never used again, This bathroom so cold it was a thought to wash in it and we could hear every activity in next door's bathroom through paper thin partition walls. Had to find breakfast room by ourselves,standard fare,waiting staff not very welcoming apart from a few young ones.Horrified to witness an Australian family being ticked off in no uncertain fashion for daring to sit at a "dining" table set with wineglasses etc although most of the "breakfast" tables were already full .Discovered rooms are cleaned as soon as you sit down to breakfast, just as well we were tidy! Never had dinner as the menu was pretentious and did not seem to reflect local produce advertised throughout the county, e.g., new potatoes, strawberries and asparagus. Tried once to get bar meal (menu looked good) but too busy, we found people eating, squashed into the tiny receptioni area,while the restaurant seemed empty most nights.
Overpriced for the level of service and accomodation, paying for the scenery. Would not stay again and does not deserve to be in Good Pub Guide.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank saintmirren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

So sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our hotel. If guests have a problem or query whilst they are staying in a hotel it is always best to ask for advice or help from a member of staff rather than waiting until you get home. Hopefully then we can make your stay more comfortable.
Many of our guests return time after time and enjoy our food and service, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 544 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

We quite often pop in here for lunch. Good prices and the bar staff are so friendly. Chap today even gave my friend's dog a dog treat. Food fantasic - can't fault anything and a good choice of wines too. We don't live too far from here (Fowey) but are so tempted to come and stay for a night or two. You must come here!! Lunch today could not have been better - we all felt so welcome (even the small furry one of our party!)

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank GarfieInFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thankyou so much for the great review, we are so pleased that you had a good lunch and were looked after well.
Please spread the word as we really do try to maintain this standard.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We regularly stay in Polzeath where sadly, our local pub/restaurant is closed for a year for major building works. We wanted to eat out so decided to give the restaurant at the Port Gaverne Hotel a try. It was a very quick drive to Port Gaverne, easy parking, great pub with lots of real ales. Dinner for 7 was in the hotel restaurant. It was nice that we could choose from the bar menu as well as the restaurant menu. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals then back in the pub for a last drink, where lots of good whiskeys were on offer. Excellent service, friendly staff, great food and beers - we will definitely go back soon. Thank you to all the staff for making our friend's birthday meal so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarolGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Thanksyou so much for the lovely review. We are so glad you all enjoyed yourselves.
Do come back and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Booked to stay two nights in March. Asked to pay £50 deposit to secure booking - did so by credit card. Booked out this morning, looks like same person on desk - not a word spoken, whole transaction completed in silence. Checked invoice this evening with earlier booking confirmation, discovered the deposit had not been registered on the account, so we over-paid £50. Phoned hotel to check how this could have happened - told that it 'does not happen that often'. My hunch is that you should check everything - the systems don't seem to talk to one another (let alone the people!).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pniel1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We are grateful for your comments about the receptionists attitude.
My apologies for the confusion about the deposit, it honestly does'nt happen often. We have looked at the system that we use and are currently modifying it - so thank you for in heads up.
We do hope that you will come and stay again and that you had a good time while you were in Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Friendly staff, apart from the woman we got when we checked out - hardly spoke. Evening meal was lovely but cooked breakfast was swimming in grease. Bar staff lovely and very friendly. No shower in our room and bathroom floor had fluff and hair in the corner. Seal had gone round bath and laminate floor had split in places. The website photos are not akin to reality. Room we were in was above kitchen area so noisy later in evening and we were woken up around 7.30am with staff arriving; shouting and banging. Not their fault obviously but not ideal location for a bedroom. Only 3 other couples stayed same evening as us but I would imagine it would be noisy at height of summer with all rooms occupied as room doors were very close together. Nice enough but at nearly £100 for a 1 night stay, we have stayed in better.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeJockPooPlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thankyou for your review. We do appreciate your time and comments. I have passed your review on to our house keeping dept for them to look at and act on.
We do hope that you will come back and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We travelled from Padstow having been so disappointed with the busyness and 'tackiness' of the place. Found Port Gaverne Hotel at 5pm on New Years Eve when everywhere else was full or didn't want a 1 night stay. Were greeted with a very helpful and friendly bar man and then an equally accomodating owner. Room was quaint and bed was so comfy and room quiet. Atmosphere of pub (for this Kiwi) was very authentic and charming with hilarious barman and old traditional feel. Packed to the brim with people and bar meal was simply delicious. Highly recommend Port Gaverne Hotel to all. It truly impressed in an this lovely area of Cornwall. Long may it last and not end up as touristy as Padstow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teece6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACCS, Owner at Port Gaverne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thankyou for your review - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do please come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We have stayed at Port Gaverne many,many times over the years and sampled several of their excellent rooms. You can choose from quirky and old fashioned to modern (almost!) All rooms are well furnished and clean with the usual tea making hairdryer etc, even a clock.
The food in the dining room where you can feel comfortable in either jeans or jacket or tie is excellent, or eat in more relaxed bar, beside a log fire in winter. The chef, Ian, has been at the Hotel for 25 years, which speaks volumes, and offers local seafood, as well as the usual bar food. (His fish pie is to die for) The locals in the bar are friendly so enjoy an after dinner drink beside the log fire.The location,being a short walk from Port Isaac where the series Doc Martin is filmed is ideal for a gentle walk, or for the more ambitious to walk the coastal route.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 305barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Gaverne
0.4 mi away
The Slipway
The Slipway
#3 of 4 in Port Isaac
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
0.4 mi away
Old School Hotel
Old School Hotel
#1 of 4 in Port Isaac
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
970 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
248 reviews
6.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Gaverne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Gaverne Hotel

Address: Port Gaverne | Port Issac, Port Gaverne PL29 3SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Port Gaverne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Port Gaverne
Price Range: $194 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Port Gaverne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AA 5 star, 2 Rosette rated 17th-century Port Gaverne Hotel is nestled in a beautiful secluded cove on North Cornwall’s dramatic coast. Enjoy seasonal, star-quality food inspired by the bounty on our doorstep. Relax in our traditional old bar with slate floors, wooden beams and a wide range of proper ales. Your dishes will be cooked simply and with integrity by Head Chef James Lean and his team, who have learnt their trade under some of the UK’s top Michelin-star chefs. With antique furniture and traditional features, no two bedrooms are the same at Port Gaverne. Facilities include free wifi, Sky TV, Nespresso coffee machines, en-suite bathrooms with a hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. And a hearty full Cornish breakfast is always included in the price. The beautiful, peaceful North Cornwall Heritage Coast is on our doorstep, with the beach just moments away. Port Isaac is a 5-minute walk away, or the large sandy beach at Polzeath is a 15-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Port Gaverne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Gaverne Hotel Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing