We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Old Workshop.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Workshop

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Heathfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Trip56034...
1 review
“The Old Workshop.”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This wonderful space was perfect for entertaining young and old alike at Christmas time.The rolling Downs view was very special and all the equipment perfectly adequate.A great retreat in the countryside of Sussex, where horse riders can be seen enjoying the lanes.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2017
I'm so glad you had a good Christmas here. Happy new year! Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2017
Thank you so much Debbie. You're welcome back any time :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2016
Thanks Laura. We'll see you soon :)

Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laula180
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing and well equipped...RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Workshop.
The cottage was beautiful and in a lovely location with wonderful views.
The owner was exceptionally kind and provided thoughtful extras.
we will definitely be returning - thank you the Old Workshop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of property
Liked least: Nothing - it was all wonderful
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Thank you Laura. I'm glad to see you've already booked your next visit. See you soon! Jenny x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M
2 reviews
“Rural and relaxing.”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The pictures don't do it justice, I looked at them all but it's even better when you get there! Had the best weather and can sunbathe in the garden, lounge and decking look out over open fields which is absolutely amazing. Very luxurious inside and much bigger than I expected, had everything you need. Great place to get away and relax at, am planning to return again as loved it so much. Big thank you to Jenny and Peter you made us feel very welcome : )

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Thanks Ben. I think you got the last of the summer sun! Look forward to seeing you again. Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane P
1 review
“Lovely converted workshop in a great location”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in the Old Workshop for a week in August and had a truly relaxing break. The owners couldn't do enough to help, even building a small ramp into the property for my elderly mother. Once inside, it was easy for her to get about with her walking aid as the doors were wide and the floors level.
The cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished in true 'Escape to the Country' style, and the view from the terrace was outstanding. All in all, you could not ask for a more peaceful setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The peace and quiet and outstanding views
Liked least: Nothing, it was all good
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review Jane. I'm glad that your mother found The Old Workshop easy to get around. We hope you'll be back again. Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bezzasezz...
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful peaceful setting”
Reviewed August 20, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at The Old Workshop for 3 days and it was just lovely. Excellent setting and fantastic accommodation. A lovely welcome pack of juice, milk, butter and fresh bread and the owners were very helpful and forthcoming.

Would recommend highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
I'm so glad you had a lovely stay. It was good to meet your family. Jenny x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing