We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast & lovely hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heathfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Heathfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stumbled across the Courtlands B&B when looking for somewhere to stay for our friends' wedding. As always, you don not know what to expect when you arrive and we were extremely pleasantly surprised. Trish welcomed us in & showed us around, the room was cosy & full of everything you could need & then we saw the bathroom. It matched the bedroom in size & was definitely somewhere you want to spend some time relaxing in the bath! The breakfast, as mentioned by other reviewers, is something to savour & enjoy - the choice of cereals, the fresh fruit salad, the fresh coffee, the delicious cooked breakfast... I'm hungry again just thinking about it. Above all, Trish & Goff make you feel incredibly welcome - almost like a family member (in a very good way!). We'd love to go back & if we visit that part of the country again, we'll definitely be booking another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Courtlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

This is a 5* B&B with perfection from the arrival and first greeting from the host (Trish Radcliffe) to regretfully having to say goodbye til the next time. On entering the driveway this outstanding country cottage will take you breathe away, overlooking its own duck pond and the view rolling down to the adjoining fields and beyond. Inside is a delight maintaining its family home feel with pure luxury and the attentive hospitality from Trish. Although we were the only guests at the time of our stay, the nice touches of dressing the bed down, chocolates in the room and arriving after a long journey to the welcome of a gin & tonic. Over the stay nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast is a culinary delight, from the full English to the honey pot. On show was everything you would expect from a top class hotel, but with the personal touch. This location is also ideally suited for exploring East Sussex and the south coast. This is one place we are looking forward to returning to at the soonest opportunity, and fully recommend Courtlands Farm as a place not to miss.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTFCFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

This gem of a bed&breakfast is nestled in the bosom of beautiful East Sussex. I don't believe I have ever seen a more beautiful landscape of neatly trimmed hedgerows, lush green fields, red bricked houses, and most importantly chocolate box villages complete with the much fabled green. But the backdrop for Courtlands is only a fraction of the attraction. The rambling old farmhouse is full of character and so perfectly English that it should be bottled and exported to the world. Cosiness and hospitality are the key phrases. Our hosts, Trish and Goff were wonderfully warm, congenial and well informed. From the moment we arrived they felt like old friends and were only too help in any way possible, including a wonderful knowledge of local attractions. Our room was huge (the bigger of the two I think), and so very comfortable. The food was a delight, Trish takes great pride in her culinary skills. Make sure to ask her the difference between a full Irish and it's English counterpart...She will gladly extol the virtues thereof ! After a stroll around the beautiful gardens and pond we retired to the sitting room where a log fire crackled welcomingly in the inglenook fireplace, and a glass of wine and a chat with our hosts rounded off the perfect evening. Had a fabulous sleep in the most comfortable bed ever and up bright and early for the treat that is the Courtlands brekkie. Didn't want to leave, but we will be back. Tell Trish I sent you. Oh, by the way, Brighton, Eastbourne, and even London are all within easy driving distance, whether you are travelling from another county, or another country, don't miss out on a night at Courtlands.

Room Tip: Big room has double and single bed. very spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irishrover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

Trish Radcliffe goes to considerable lengths (despite a broken leg whilst we were there) to ensure that the quality of your visit is of the highest order. The historic farmhouse is both welcoming and comfortable and the bedrooms are quiet, well appointed and immaculate. There are really nice touches, such as a well stocked sideboard of drinks for after the performance, up to date reviews of this season's operas and books around everywhere to suit the tastes of pretty well everyone. Views from the house are wonderful and the grounds are attractive and include a large pond. Sadly the weather was so bad when we were there we only went out for the opera which is about half an hour away along mostly back roads. Breakfasts were exactly what you wanted to make them with an almost unlimited choice - nothing seemed too much trouble. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heathfield
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Hellingly Eastbourne
4.9 mi away
Iwood Bed & Breakfast
Iwood Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Heathfield
138 reviews
4.9 mi away
Thimbles
Thimbles
#2 of 7 in Heathfield
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
May Garland Inn
May Garland Inn
#1 of 1 in Horam
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horam Manor Touring Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtlands Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtlands Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Courtlands Farm Cowbeech Road | Rushlake Green, Heathfield TN21 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Heathfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Heathfield
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Courtlands Farm Bed & Breakfast East Sussex/Heathfield, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing