We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Friesian Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Lounge/Diner
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1 looking towards ensuite
Lounge area
View from kitchen end
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bathroom for bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Heathfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Trish S
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this cottage. It was much bigger than we expected from the photos. Very clean well decorated and it still retains its character. In a good location for touring around the Eastbourne area. We did a lot of walking we have a 9 month old puppy she had a great time. Cottage is in a quiet location but within easy distance if main road. The flowers and bottle of wine left by David the owner was most welcome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the cottage
Liked least: The mattress on the bed was a little soft for us personally
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karob2000
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect home away from home with everything you need in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

All rooms were clean, bright and spacious. There was a welcome hamper waiting for us from the owner. We will definitely be returning next year. There is a charming pub not far which served fantastic food. Beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yas496
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well presented, perfect location and very homely”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well presented, with everything you could possibly need for an enjoyable stay. The welcome hamper was much appreciated. The layout of the cottage and the double shower in the master en-suite lends itself well to those with limited mobility. Location was superb, quiet countryside with a great walk around the farm. I will definitely return.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus S
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What great find. Exactly as the photos show maybe better. Airy and bright and easy to settle in. Everything is there when you arrive. The owner is friendly and caring and wants you to enjoy. Your stay. Perfect for disabled as well as able bodied. I cannot recommend this place enough, I will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I cannot pick just one thing it was all great
Liked least: Has to be the cow clock going moo every hour
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UKFinchma...
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, friendly welcome”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Well appointed cottage with everything we needed. Very spacious and airy. It's very rural and very peaceful but that's what we were looking for. Dog friendly (we have 2 springers) and plenty of room for them to exercise. Great base to travel out from and visit large areas of the South East. Good pub food close by and the small garden centre opposite the cottage is worth a visit for plants and veg. We had a great time there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the airiness and space
Liked least: few problems with the Tripadvisor website that were a little annoying
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinderell...
Morden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very relaxing and quiet”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The accommodation was excellent, a very high standard. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner. It was very quiet and relaxing.
My parents are both elderly and disabled, and everything was perfect for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere, the quietness, nothing too much trouble for the owner
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilgspijk...
spijkenisse
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
I am glad that you had a good holiday we try to help all we can
david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing