We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone House
Nearby Hotels
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$70
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buxted Park Hotel(Uckfield)
$173
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Sussex National(Little Horsted)
$138
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
T & J Motel(Flimwell)
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
George Hotel(Battle)
$98
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horsted Place(Little Horsted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
22
8
2
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
8
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterrural englandset in lovely groundssingle bedwalled gardencountry hotelsmall laketudorglyndebournebathluxurybedroomestatepartiescentury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 36 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2009

High comfort, attention to detail, very welcoming and helpful staff. We stayed in the 2 bedroomed cottage which had its own private garden and not in the main house. Very peaceful and relaxing.
The grand house itself is steeped in history being in the Dunn family since the 1400`s,the grounds including a large walled garden and lake are spectacular. The breakfast was amongst the best I have eaten, and the evening meal sourced from local produce was very good also. The wine list is extensive and well chosen although primarily French with some fine older vintages.
A stay here is not however cheap and yes the "extras" do add up. Very much a special occasion place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vespasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We discovered Stone House earlier this year. We initially booked in simply because they would accept our dotty (!!) Dalmation. What a discovery. An amazing place. Calm, relaxing, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Just like staying in a privately owned country house. The rooms (we stayed in the Pink four poster second time around) are lovely. The food is exceptional. We returned home dreaming of our own kitchen garden and promising ourselves that we would eat much more healthily. A wonderful oasis in a totally mad world. Can't recommend it enough. Many, many thanks to Mr and Mrs Dunn (the owners) and their dedicated staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

If you are offered tea on arrival be prepared to pay 12 pounds 50p for two cups of tea and two small pieces of dry fruit cake. There was no mention of a charge. Dinner menu added supplements (extra charges) on nearly every dish when it is advertised as inclusive. Pleasant, clean room in lovely surrounds with polite staff other than the owner.
As tea/coffee was available in our room the extra charge and supplements put a dampier on our stay. A little bid of greed spoilt the place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We stayed overnight at Stone House in connection with attending a performance at Glyndebourne, the "country" opera house, 60 miles south of London. Stone House is located about one half hour east of Glyndebourne. Friends have been urging us for years to try Stone House. We are very glad they did.

Stone house is several hundred years old and has been in the Dunn family since inception. Peter and Janet Dunn are the current owners and operators. It is a combination hotel and family house. As a result it is very comfortable, unique and welcoming. There are two parts of the house, a Georgian front and a Tudor wing. There are two large and desirable bedrooms in the Georgian part, plus the reception rooms. The other rooms are in the Tudor section and are smaller. They are comfortable enough.

The hotel is situated in a charming village, Rushlake Green. The grounds are delightful and there is an outstanding vegetable garden that serves the kitchen. There a number of activities available including walking and shooting. Many of the guests were from the continent.

We did not have dinner at Stone House, but they prepared a picnic for us and our guests and served it at Glyndebourne (unfortuantely indoors as the weather was terrible). It was excellent. Our guests pronouced it the best they had ever had.

We look forward to our visit to Glyndebourne next summer and will stay at Stone House. There is a web site at ---, but they do not communicate by email.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Reiver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aile Tudor plutôt que l'autre partie plus ostentatoire
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews