We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend break in North Berwick. A group of 10 of us stayed at 12 Quality Street. The hotel is clean; beautifully decorated; staff are courteous; we had a meal in the restaurant on Saturday night the food was good we were all served at the same time. Our room (number two) was huge it was warm and comfortable. The reception area and dinning room are rather like a french cafe with a lovely smell of freshly ground coffee as you walk in. The situation of the hotel is excellent steps away from the beach, harbour, golf course also there are several good restaurants in the immediate area should you choose to eat out.. North Berwick has much to offer all ages there are many attractions in the area and Edinburgh is only 20 miles away. 12 Quality Street is a great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for No. 12 Quality Street B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2009

i have stayed in 4 different hotels in north Berwick and this one is the best of the ones I have experienced. The room was good value, the location was excellent and the place was clean and tidy. Service at breakfast was a bit on the slow side I got the impression that they could have done with an extra pair of hands. They seemed to be trying to juggle waiting on tables in the restaurant and working the front desk at the same time which lead to quite a long wait in both. Breakfast was pretty nice but had clearly been sitting under a pass for some time as had become a little dry.

Overall I would stay here again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel is comfortable with recently upgraded decor. It is obviously trying to appeal to the boutique hotel market but just misses the boat - though not the price! The owners are obviously trying to save money by cutting down on staff and as a result service suffers. For example, the hotel had changed its advertised breakfast times and we were only informed of this upon our arriuval. As a result the last service was, we felt, too early for a truely relaxing stay. The message that we were in the way was reinforced by staff sweeping around us as we sat trying to relax. The breakfast itself wasn't good and appeared to be largely micro-waved.

As I said above the decor is good and the rooms a decent size; just avoid Room 4 as the noise from the water cistern sounds like a 747 passing by.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony_goode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We visited North Berwick and checked out a couple of hotels before being directed to this gem from their sister hotel.
It is situated right in the centre of town with easy access to the harbour beach and shops and it has the bonus of private parking at the rear.
We were given a choice of rooms to view and both were freshly decorated and spotlessly clean. Both had (restricted ) sea views.
We dined in the hotel restaurant and the only negative comment would be that our meals were not served together and my wife had to wait for about 5 minutes after my meal arrived. The restaurant was very busy but that is really not an excuse. The food howvever was very good
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice.
All in all a lovely overnight stay and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We, family of four incl 2 small kids, had a 2 night stay in a family room, which we enjoyed. The recently refurbished room was spacious and comfortable. The staff is corteous and accomodating. The food in the restaurant is good and has a reasonable kids menu. The hotel is situated on a charming old street in a town that is close to all the major attractions in the East Lothian: National Museum of flight, Tantallon castle, Preston Mills, Dirleton castle, etc.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caledonian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We spent two nights in this hotel for a short break. We found the staff extremely helpful, the room spacious and well furnished, although a little storage space in the en-suite would have been appreciated.
We also enjoyed a meal in the hotel on one of the evenings and were impressed both with the food and the service. It is also ideally located in the centre of the town so everything was within walking distance.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, friendly and reasonably priced hotel in North Berwick.
J & C Murphy

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Myself and my wife stayed here on 18th 19th and 20th of July 08 and found all the staff to be extremely attentive. As an example when we said the menu choice was not to our taste the manager organised that we could eat at their sister Hotel in town. The room we had was very comfortable and had quality fixtures and fittings and en - suite. If booking a Hotel in North Berwick in the future this would be the one.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilroyglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
6.6 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
357 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 12 Quality Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 12 Quality Street B&B

Address: 12 Quality Street, North Berwick EH39 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: $125 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — No. 12 Quality Street B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 12 Quality Street B&B is bed and breakfast accommodation with a unique, homely, hotel experience and a recently refurbished bistro style restaurant- Signals Bistro. Our bedrooms and en suites have been refurbished in 2015. Family owned and operated we welcome individuals, groups and families to No. 12 Quality Street where personal service and attention to detail is our number one priority. No. 12 Is situated in the heart of North Berwick, just a stone's throw from some of the town's many attractions, and just 20 miles from Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your No. 12 Quality Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 12 Quality Street Hotel North Berwick
No. 12 Quality Street B&B North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing