We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Being Refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Excellent Location and very friendly service. Also hotel is pet friendly which was ideal for me as travelling with my dog. Had an overnight stay in a single room but i found it a bit small with having my dog with me so next time I will upgrade to a double.

Breakfast was excellent and great choices on the menu.

Defo would stay here again. The only niggle I have is the wifi access has no signal in your room and only worked downstairs. Also the freeview signal was poor and was retricted to only 3 channels on the TV. Apart from this small niggles I have no bad points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni M, Owner at No. 12 Quality Street B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. The single rooms are slightly smaller so if you prefer more space then I would definitely recommend upgrading to a double. The Wi-Fi I agree is not the best as the building is so old it is hard for the connection sometimes to get through the walls. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about this. I find the connection is sometimes better in different areas of the room. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for No. 12 Quality Street B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 208 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

8 golfers had a good stay at 12QS. The hotel is under refurbishment and that is unfortunately taking away the top grade here as the restaurant was closed and thus cooking facilities was down. We had breakfast served in a big family room, but this worked ok. Danni and Sean (new owners just taken over this hotel) did what they could to make our stay as good as possible, so hats off to them, but we love the full scottish breakfast when we are golfing all day and this we could not get.

The rooms where big and good, even if I guess a touch of paint and fixes is wise here as well (doubles). The single rooms are small, but 100% ok. Internet and TV works well. Some of us had some issues with the showers with no hot water or no water at all. That is hopefully fixed soon for guests coming in.

Location is perfect if you will like to see the town. We also could walk to North Berwick Golf Course and also to Glen Golf Course (also known as NB West). We had dinner every night at Zitto next door and can recommend that restaurant.

We would probably book here again next time if we know things are fixed and the refurbishment is finished :-). Good luck to the new owners!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel will be a bit disturbed by church bell ringing every hour. My r...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni M, Owner at No. 12 Quality Street B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are now up and running with a full downstairs refurbishment where you can get breakfast, lunch and dinner. We have also had new water tanks put in so all showers are working and hot! We understand the frustration of no cooked breakfast as it is so good but everything is now fixed so hopefully we will see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This little gem has just been taken over by newly weds Danni and Sean. You can see that they are improving everything in the small boutique B&B. Mum and Dad are also heavily involved and improvement of standard is the key phrase. Stayed overnight last week and could not have been treated better. If you need top quality accommodation in NB you need look no further. Shame about the Italian restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni M, Owner at No. 12 Quality Street B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Our refurbishment is now complete so you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner here so we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Not sure if I wrote about the No 12 the last time I stayed. So just in case here's a mention of this lovely little hotel again. First of all I was born and raised in North Berwick, and although only 100 miles away I don't get back often enough. So much to do lovely restaurants and this little gem is situated right on the bottom of the High Street.

The rooms are lovely and clean, Room 4 is probably my favourite although Nos1 and 2 have great views over the front of the hotel so you can people watch! Front door key as well as a room key given to you so you can come and go as you please. Staff on site to help at any time, they are so friendly and helpful.

Booking in took no time at all. Shown to our room, dumped the case, and had a wander to the harbour.
Plenty to do the day we were there. A good nights sleep even thought the town clock does chime!!!

Breakfast is in the dining room down stairs and the smell of coffee wafting up the stairs was very welcoming - think someone had a few wines for her birthday! We had a cooked Scottish breakfast - with the haggis - and as much coffee and tea as you wanted, and you are not rushed.

We will definately be back. Love this place, as I said it is a little gem. Many thanks for looking after us

Room Tip: Our friends had room 4 it is really special with a super view over the roof tops down to the sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhelper8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni M, Owner at No. 12 Quality Street B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do everything we can to make our customer's stay's as nice and relaxing as possible. We now serve lunch and dinner (I think it was only breakfast when you were here) so hopefully you will stay again and eat with us. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here - love North Berwick so much - and the room was lovely. It was an out of season booking - so the bar/cafe was only open at weekends - but instead we went next door to the Italian wine bar Zitto, and had an amazing evening there. Loved the boutique feel of the hotel, plus breakfast in the bar cafe was really good, including a great veggie breakfast. The bar cafe part was open for breakfast and I absolutely loved the decor and feel in there with the dark grey walls and gold painted pictures everywhere - really boutique feel for a cafe and very impressed!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi-K222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

North berwick is a lovely town & 12 quality st a great base to explore it. Parking is difficult in NB during peak seasons so the hotel car park is a great addition although as mentioned by other reviewers it can be hard to find and the car park signage is a little confusing. (Essentially the car park is accessed through the main public car park with signage related to the adjacent restaurant). Breakfasts are good. 12 quality st is a comfortable good value base for exploring the area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank stuffmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 14. We booked quite late and it was the cheapest place we could find so were very pleasantly surprised by the spacious but cosy room. It was very clean with lots of amenities (hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, good TV, lovely comfy bed). The breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the service was friendly. I like that we could come and go as we pleased as we were given a front door key. The location couldn't be better, you are right in the centre of everything - 2 minutes to the beach, 2 minutes to the pub!

It was quite noisy as we were right above the reception. But overall, we would definitely come back for a comfortable and good value stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
6.6 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
357 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 12 Quality Street B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 12 Quality Street B&B

Address: 12 Quality Street, North Berwick EH39 4HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: $124 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — No. 12 Quality Street B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 12 Quality Street B&B is bed and breakfast accommodation with a unique, homely, hotel experience and a recently refurbished bistro style restaurant- Signals Bistro. Our bedrooms and en suites have been refurbished in 2015. Family owned and operated we welcome individuals, groups and families to No. 12 Quality Street where personal service and attention to detail is our number one priority. No. 12 Is situated in the heart of North Berwick, just a stone's throw from some of the town's many attractions, and just 20 miles from Edinburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your No. 12 Quality Street B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 12 Quality Street Hotel North Berwick
No. 12 Quality Street B&B North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing