We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay at Drem Farmhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 26 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I secured a last minute booking for two nights based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased with our stay. Marlene is indeed a very kind and helpful hostess. Her recommendations for restaurants and activities were perfect for us (travelling with my wife & 3-year old daughter). The breakfasts were excellent, too. We did not feel cramped in our room and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

If you like your accommodation with some character, and a warm welcome then Drem Farmhouse is for you. For me the star attraction in the property was the conservatory at the rear of the house - I would just live in this. Over breakfast the views across the 6 acre garden with Spring flowers (and morning sunshine) was a highlight of the stay....such a lovely setting, how could you not just love it there. That and a real log fire in the lounge...not something every small establishment offers these days.
Nothing was a problem for the hosts to ensure your stay was comfortable and enjoyable.
If you're looking for a relaxing and comfortable stay, this is the place to chill out....

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We were two couples staying at Drem farmhouse for three nights and we honestly all felt a little sad when leaving. The owners are so friendly and helpful and they made you feel as you were a friend that was visiting them.
The house, the food, the rooms and the garden was just fantastic! If I am in the area again I will definitely revisit them. I will also recommend this Bed & Breakfast to everyone I know since this was something extraordinary!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nilla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Found this B&B on Trip Advisor and would recommend it to everyone. We stayed with our two daughters who are both under 4 and it was perfect in every way. The room was huge (even with a king sized bed, a single and a travel cot there was enough room to swing at least a cat each). The decor was luxurious and tasteful. The bathroom was top of the range with a bath and shower big enough for two and fluffy white towels and dressing gowns. The hostess was very friendly and welcoming and she cooked a delicious english breakfast (if continental's more your thing then you won't be disappointed either).
This B&B ticks all the boxes and would be ideal for a business stay, a romantic weekend or a special family trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezababe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Set in small village but directly opposite Drem Station with hourly trains to Edinburgh and North Berwick. Also surrounded by around 20 golf courses.
Lovely house with beautiful, quiet and tranquil gardens.Mrs Marlene Smith gives you a warm welcome as she takes you to your room. Mine was a twin with separate shower room.I couldn't fault it in any way!
Delicious breakfast on communal table in conservatory. Use of comfortable lounge.
Plenty of good pubs and restaurants within a 5 to 15 mile radius.
If you like a quiet,comfortable and welcoming place to stay I can recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisy190729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed at Drem Farmhouse for one night, en route to a family party - and quite frankly, I wish we had had more time there! Drem Farmhouse is an absolute joy, a real treasure, tucked off the main road through the village, and just bursting with hospitality. Marlene, who runs the b & b, is a thorough professional, who knows just what guests need for a relaxing, comfortable stay.
We had booked one room for the 3 of us, but when we arrived, Marlene explained that she was giving us 2 rooms as she wasn't full, and didn't want to have to move a bed (fair enough!). Our room was a very nice double bedroom - rather limited view, but then we weren't going to be in our room all evening! My son's bedroom was amazing - just wish I hadn't snaffled the double so quickly! His room was huge, light, airy and impeccably decorated (actually they all were): both bedrooms were so much prettier than their on-line photos would have you believe. We shared a bathroom, which was lovely, and which was filled with some rather nice toiletries (can't remember what they were now), as well as big fluffy bathrobes.
We had dinner at the farmhouse - this was excellent, way above the usual standard for B & B. We ate in the conservatory, although Marlene would have happily served us outside on the lovely patio should we have chosen to do that instead.
The residents' lounge was truly beautiful, and a super place to have our after dinner coffee.
We weren't due at Greywalls Hotel for our family party until 12 noon the following day - I asked Marlene if I could keep one room so that we didn't need to get ready until just before we were due there, and offered to pay for this . Not only did she give us the double room gratis, but she also ensured that we had plenty of Sunday papers and other bits & pieces to ensure that we had a relaxing morning. We spent some of it wandering round the fabulous garden before lying out in the deckchairs, reading the papers. This meant that, instead of leaving at 1030 (checkout time) and spending the next hour and a half kicking round, getting hot in our finery etc, we had a chilled morning, then got ready about 30 minutes before we were due at our party. Perfect!
We had a lovely time at the party at Greywalls, but I can honestly say that the lunch, though good, was ho better than Marlene's dinner the night before (sorry, M. Roux!) If you're looking for a really special place to stay, but don't want to be in the middle of Edinburgh - then try here. With a great rail connection to the city just down the drive, fabulous accommodation and a terrific setting, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muffinette1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Just back from a weekend at Drem, I was with my husband and some friends. What a fabulous place. The food, rooms and surroundings were excellent and Marlene and Hugh couldn't do enough for you. Fresh strawberries from the garden for our fizz.
I can't praise them enough. Would recommend it highly. So handy for the train to North Berwick but not close enough to be disturbed by it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elmamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
4.1 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,339 reviews
4.1 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
322 reviews
2.8 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
4.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#24 of 26 in North Berwick
81 reviews
6.0 mi away
Canty Bay House
Canty Bay House
#13 of 26 in North Berwick
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drem North Berwick, North Berwick EH39 5AP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: $123 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drem Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing