We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$242
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Folly(North Berwick)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducks Inn(Aberlady)
$193
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Open Arms Hotel(Dirleton)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
215
82
23
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
82
23
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstand alone bathfirst classmusselson arrivalsmall hotelnext morningno liftfriendly hotelroom was spaciousspent nightslocal produceevening mealsteakmain coursecouple of nightsplaying golfhaggis
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 338 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Always a great place for lunch and a drink always very very clean and friendly hugely dog and child friendly. Lovely bar snacks. Nothing to much trouble. Great place after a lovely walk on the beach. Have not stayed over so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank DeegeeTee7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just stayed one night on business, nice warm welcome on arrival, well furnished room but it was on the top floor so there was some obstruction due to the shape of the roof but the room was set up to maximise the headroom, no problems. All the staff including the bar we friendly and helpful to the foreign guests and visitors. Good selection of food that can be eaten in the restaurant or bar area, we had Tapas but they have a great range of burgers.
Bedroom was nice and dark with the curtains closed and very little noise, ensuring a good nights sleep. Bathroom was very clean, scoring a 9.5 out of ten on the grout test.
Thoroughly recommended, far more homely and a lot less pretentious than The Marine near-by.

Room Tip: No lift so first floor is preferable if you are carrying heavy golf bags.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a smart hotel, sympathetically refurbished in contemporary style, with an attractive restaurant area and bar and nicely furnished good sized bedrooms. The food is excellent (both dinner and breakfast) and the young hotel and restaurant staff are all friendly and helpful.

However, we had a few niggles which marred our stay. Despite 3 telephone and 2 e-mail requests, we never received a booking confirmation, despite promises that we would; on arrival our allocated room at the back of the hotel had been changed to accommodate someone else who booked later; we couldn't sleep on the first night because of noise from the patio area at the front of the hotel, or on the following nights because, having closed the windows, the room became really hot; there were only 4 hangers in the wardrobe (but staff helpfully supplied more when asked); there was no lift (though a very helpful young member of staff very kindly carried our luggage up two floors for us) and nobody bothered to ask us if we had enjoyed our stay. Overall, we felt we were invisible to the management and were disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CafeJardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our fifth wedding anniversary. Beautiful hotel, gorgeous room (No. 1), very clean and the staff were very friendly and professional. We ate at the restaurant on the Friday evening, having sat outside on the patio to enjoy a drink from the bar in the evening sunshine beforehand. The food was delicious and the breakfast was definitely worth getting up for too. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PassmetheSPF30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This has become my favourite independent hotel. We stayed here for a week from 15th July and found our room to be comfortable, well decorated, clean and modern. It was a bigger room than normal and I believe other rooms were similar. The bed was super king size. We were staying here as we were working at a nearby major UK sporting event being held in the area, each evening we arrived back there were little extras left by the Tea/Coffee facilities, shortbread biscuits, fruit/Berries, small pieces of coconut slices, all wrapped nicely with a tartan ribbon, nice touch! The ‘help yourself’ breakfast table is one of the best I’ve seen for a long time with a variety of cereals, nuts/seeds, fruits, cheeses, yoghurts, pastries etc and included the traditional Full English Breakfast including haggis, vegetarian haggis. We observed the hotels staff during quiet times and ‘absolutely hectic’ times, catering for a high number of diners (& drinkers in the bar, some of whom were tasting a good variety of ‘real ales’ on tap). At all times the staff remained professional, attentive and friendly. The Food and variety offered was first-class and well presented, this included the locally caught Lobster, which was available at a modest price. If you want to be sure of a good hotel room, professional/friendly staff, excellent food and interesting beers/cocktails in the bar, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews