We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here for a night at the end of March.
Our room was large, clean and nicely decorated. Staff were extremely pleasant.
The only thing that let it down was the time it took to be served breakfast an the dining room is very cramped when full.
Having said all that, the vegetarian breakfast was very tasty when it evebtually appeared!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne120602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friendly staff, we had a room up in the top of the building which had obviously been recently refurbished. Lovely, well equipped bathroom and a marvellous view over the Firth of Forth from the room. Only criticism was that the TV was on a low table, which made it difficult to see from the bed.
The cooked breakfast was well prepared and presented, but was slightly too salty for my tastes. But overall, a really nice, small hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed this for 1 night only as it was a quick trip up and back from essex. We had room 9 which had a nice view to the sea in the distance and was spotless. The bathroom looked like it had been recently refurbished and again was spotless. Everyone i dealt with from the orignal enquiry to our one night stay was extremely helpful and happy, without being over the top. Our evening meal was lovely, with a good choice, the chorizo and blackpudding starter was great. Breakfast again hit the right spot, with haggis, black pudding and a scottish pancake was superb. Next time i visit the area there will only be one place i will book.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed last weekend and was thrilled with the room on the top floor (room 10). Very comfortable, spotlessly clean and the staff cannot do enough for you. Even the Sunday morning reception was super cheery! (Certainly a lot chirpier than I felt!)
If I am ever in North Berwick again, I would absolutely stay here - it was very reasonable priced for the quality of the room and the amenities/location are spot on.
Many thanks to the owners who very promptly posted my hair straighteners back to me with no fuss which I left behind. That's the kind of service all hotels should adopt. Well done Nether Abbey.

Room Tip: Rooms up on the top floor are really toasty. I'm Australian so I like warmth, especially in a Sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the third time we have been here. The first time was superb. The second was awful. This was back to being superb. From the friendly reception staff through to the service in the restaurant, everything was possible. Any dinner choice was possible. The food is excellent and not overpriced. The menu is not extensive but most choices are there including superb Chicken and Burgers. The hotel was quiet as this was not a holiday week in Scotland and our room, number 1, was great. huge room, not cold, massive bathroom. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I had a couple of nights here. Food was top notch, choice of real ales (nice surpise), staff very friendly and helpful, room certainly one of the best we have had anywhere - nice view over to Fife (Room 3) We would have no problem going back here again. We have paid more for less in the past.

Room Tip: North Facing Rooms nice view over neighbourhood to Fife. Judging by the light coming under the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sablonneux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a long lunch on a quiet mid week afternoon at the Nether Abbey. The building is bright, airy and welcoming. The staff couldn't have been nicer, and went out of their way to assist. All food is locally grown and sourced. The fish was incredibly fresh, and the desserts were out of this world. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotgirlinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,381 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
9 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
529 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: $172 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing