We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable but a little overpriced”
Review of Nether Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nether Abbey Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Nether Abbey. When we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and were offered tea & coffee on the spot. We were told by the gentleman to ring 0 on our phone anytime to get reception. We then went to our room to discover there was no phone in the room, but there was a phone port? We went to reception and spoke with a lady who told us that we don't have a phone in our room as it would connect with the mainline, thus if anyone called the hotel they would be ringing our room!!

Our room was very clean and the housekeepers couldn't do enough for us, excellent service by them.

My wife and I booked to eat in the restaurant. The bar and restaurant had a great atmosphere and had a nice buzz about it. The food was good but not great, and the wine was ok but not brilliant.

Breakfast was fine but the staff didn't really listen to our orders as we both asked for coffee and got coffee and tea for one? My wife asked for a croissant but they didn't have any, she was then offered brioche which my wife said would be fine, only for the waitress to tell us there was no brioche. Why offer it in the first place if you don't have it??

Overall we had a very nice stay but feel that the issue we had with the room phone and just in general, the room price is on the high side.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wardyward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
There are newer reviews for Nether Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 318 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

I've been going here since I was a child and the atmosphere is still the same as it always has been. Now I take my daughter every year and she always asks to come back every year. I've never been somewhere that is so welcoming and so child friendly. It suits all sorts of guests, golfers, couples and especially family. The staff were fantastic with my daughter and I really feel it's my second home!! Rooms are so modern and spotless. The beds are huge and comfortable.food is fantastic and all fresh. It's full of character and has a really happy vibe about it. Brilliant!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Emmafindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Spent 4 nights here. Hotel has been nicely upgraded and when you see groups of locals coming to dine you hope the restaurant will be good - we weren't disappointed the food was absolutely superb. But what really lifts the Nether Abbey above so many other places are the staff, they were really helpful and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reviewer901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We travelled around the coast of Scotland during May and this is one of the hotels we stayed in - This was a beautiful hotel and I was impressed with the barman who immediately came to me when no receptionist was available. The room we had was spectacular being very spacious and clean. The food was excellent and restaurant full and we'd definately go back if we were in that area again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Returned for dinner with the inlaws as we had been previously and had a gorgeous meal and they couldn't wait to return again.
Service was excellent initially, great atmosphere, lovely fresh flowers but unfortunately let down by a couple of the dishes this time.
The starters were all beautiful- goats cheese tartlet, eggs bennedict, black pudding and pigs trotters all delicious. The mains and desserts were, however, a disappointment, which was such a shame as the inlaws had so been looking forward to the meal. The slow roast pork belly and chicken with taglietelle were delicious as expected, however, the Ballantine of chicken was a massive disappointment. It was meant to be pan seared, but looked like it had been microwaved, the 'jus' was just a watery flavourless soup that served no purpose as there was nothing to soak it up, it was totally lacking any flavour, and it seemed like there was something missing from the plate (other than a coupIt seemed very strange to be served up when it was so lacking in anything. As we were starving, it was eaten though and we felt we couldn't complain.
To the credit of the staff, they must have overheard our chat and almost immediately the manager came over and apologised that the dish wasn't what we were expecting and offered to take the 2 dishes off the menu, along with another bottle of wine. We hadn't complained directly to them, so this quickly turned things round for us. Onto desserts and 2 of us ordered the pavlova, which again, we had high expectations for after our previous visits, and again was sadly a flop. It had a chewy meringue, with what looked like spray can cream on top and a few slithers of unripe melon and overipe banana. That was it! The biscuits and cheese were great, as was the first bottle of wine, although the 2nd bottle didn't taste quite right, but we didn't want to complain again!
Overall, fantastic service and a few fantastic dishes let down by a few dishes that really should not have been served up in anyones kitchen, let alone a restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazlin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

--- Food only review ---

Drove from Edinburgh to North Berwick to meet a friend for dinner in the bar area of the hotel. What a great drive down! If you are staying in Edinburgh, make sure you drive here and get dinner as the food is FANTASTIC!!!! I had the eggs benedict for starter and then the burger for main course! great sized portions, I was stuffed afterwards! DELICIOUS!!
the service was great and the staff were really nice! The menu is really varied, a lot of things that you just dont see anywhere else. It's hard to choose from as well as everything looks so tasty!! DEFO visit this place for dinner, would 100% recommend to anyone!! :)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ScottTravellingScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Staff were very warm, welcoming and helpful. The atmosphere in the hotel was relaxing and service was excellent. The food was good but felt that the choice was slightly limited. Produce used to make food was all local. Breakfast, hot or cold was very good and a lot of it!! As a special treat to help us celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary a bottle of champagne was waiting on ice in our room the day we booked in. The following day some lovely fresh fruit was left in the room which we enjoyed after spending a day at the Musuem of Flight. A very child friendly place - will definetly return with children in tow next time.

Room Tip: Near centre and very accessible to local sights
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hkghatorae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,302 reviews
3.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
357 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nether Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nether Abbey Hotel

Address: 20 Dirleton Avenue, North Berwick EH39 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: $167 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nether Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Nether Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nether Abbey North Berwick
Hotel Nether Abbey
Nether Abbey Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing