We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An awesome place to stay to explore North Berwick...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of A Bit On The Side

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The property adjoins a family home but has its own entrance and garden area.
Old Abbey Road is a quiet, family-friendly street just 5 minutes from the High Street.
The apartment sits opposite the 800 year-old ruins of North Berwick Priory.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sam H
2 reviews
“An awesome place to stay to explore North Berwick and perfectly situated for the train to Edinburgh.”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for four nights and found the place perfect for what we wanted. It was spotlessly clean, light and had all the facilities we needed - the prosecco in the fridge for our arrival was a welcome bonus! The shower is amazing and the studio space gave us a good spot to relax when the weather wasn't great. Patrick was a great host; warm and welcoming, gave us some great advice on local places to see/eat and a bonus chat on the economics and culture of North Berwick. Would absolutely book here again for a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
A big thank you for such a kind review. This is much appreciated and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in North Berwick. Hope to see you again before long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Accommodation”
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent 3 nights on a last minute break.Apartment was well equipped,comfortable and had everything we needed.Location great, , so handy for all the sights of North Berwick and being so close to the train station was a great advantage.Didn't use car the entire time we were there.
Patrick was very pleasant and helpful and nothing was any bother.Would definetly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. We are delighted to enjoyed your stay in North Berwick so much and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Enjoy the rest of the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
131mariej...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Bit on the Side is a very comfortable home from home.”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

North Berwick is a lovely place to visit with lots to do and see. It has beautiful beaches and interesting gift shops.

The A Bit on the Side studio flat was the perfect place to stay during my visit. It was clean, comfortable, modern and within walking distance of the beach, shops and train station. Patrick (the owner) and his family were excellent hosts and made me feel very welcome. I will recommend A Bit on the Side to other travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean and comfortable.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Many thanks for such a kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the studio and appreciated North Berwick and its surroundings. You're right - there is a lot to do for a small town. Needless to say, we would be delighted to welcome you back whenever you fancy another trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay....But Beware the Wash Day Blues”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

North Berwick & Gullane are our favourite escapes and we have enjoyed many a weekend rental in this part of the country. 'A Bit on the Side' is comfortable and is well equipped for a weekend away, Patrick, the host, was welcoming and helpful - our request on a Friday evening for an iron & ironing board was responded to in minutes. The bottle of Prosecco chilling in the fridge was a lovely surprise.

However, we were very disappointed that the host should find it acceptable to enter our private accommodation when we were out to use the washing machine without our prior permission or mentioning on arrival that this might be a possibility. Having returned from our day out we met the host in the garden who informed us there was a load in the machine. We found this to be a very unnecessary intrusion of our privacy and one that could surely have been avoided by some alternative arrangement ie friends, family, launderette etc.. Apparently there was an urgent need to wash something which seems incredible when we were vacating the property the following morning. In our view respecting the privacy of your paying guests is paramount.

The accommodation has a shabby chic, beachy vibe which suits its location but we found the 12" cracked window in the living area, the broken chair, cracked crockery and lack of basic drinking glasses to be signs of a place that needed a little TLC.

On our return home we received an e-mail from the host in which he apologised for entering the property without our permission but after the fact the damage had been done and we left very much with the wash day blues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The intrusion of privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Hands up ... these criticisms seem pretty fair.
I think we became so used to a succession of 5 star reviews that we became careless.
So in response to your points ...
- a new washing machine arrives next week and will be plumbed into the garage - I do ask guests but in your case I simply forgot and it was an emergency .. but that's not good enough so the problem should now be solved.
- the chair was indeed more shabby than chic so it has been removed
- a new window has been ordered to get rid of the crack
- more drinking glasses have been added to complement the wine and beer glasses (sorry I hadn't noticed the old ones had disappeared)
- I couldn't find any cracked crockery but will check again after the present guests leave - perhaps it was the dish we deliver the fresh eggs in?
We believe fair criticisms are a help rather than a problem so I hope these steps to solve the difficulties seem an appropriate response from your point of view.
Thanks for visiting us and please accept our apologies for the problems.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTall...
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable,quiet cosy bijou flat”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Very comfortable one room flat with shower/toilet. Bright,well furnished and all the cooking equipment needed. Friendly greeting and help from Patrick. Would love to go again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
And we would love you to visit us again. Many thanks for such a kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carol W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Perfect Bit on the Side!”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I had the pleasure of staying at the Bit on the Side recently and it was fantastic! It has everything you could wish for and more. The place was very clean and comfortable and I especially loved the huge head shower! : ) And it is in a perfect location for the train station, the High Street and the beach...what more could you want! Patrick, the owner was very friendly and accommodating and I would love to go back for another visit very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2016
... and we would love to welcome you back for another visit very soon. Many thanks for such a kind review and for being a great guest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
judithhle...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect location, lovely apartment and great hospitality”
Reviewed June 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My sister and I were both so pleased to arrive at such a lovely, spotless and attractive apartment. Patrick ensured we were greeted with a bottle of bubbly and two fresh eggs! Mac the dog was very friendly too! We will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the decoration was just to our taste
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
Glad the chickens and dog were so welcoming. And would of course be delighted to welcome you back. Perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing