We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly Experience”
Review of Milleur House

Milleur House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Milleur House
Ranked #4 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We received a warm welcome with tea and home made biscuits. Our room was stylish and comfortable and the en-suite bathroom was very impressive. The tea and coffee making tray in our room contained more evidence of Moira's baking skills with a selection of home made shortbread. The 'real' milk served in a small thermos flask was much appreciated. A stroll into North Berwick centre, a bracing walk back along the beach and a relaxing chat around the blazing log fire added to the enjoyment of our stay. Drew and Moira were excellent hosts.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a three night stay at Milleur House with our 1 year old son and we were all made very welcome by Moira and Drew.

Our room was of an excellent size with plenty of space for a cot and the en-suite bathroom made a visit with a toddler very easy. The thoughtful personal touches such as a flask of chilled milk to make hot drinks in our room and delicious home made shortbread made our brilliant stay even more perfect.

Booked in to stay again in the near future and looking forward to our return.

Trips in to Edinburgh are easy with the train station a short distance away and a journey of approximately 45 minutes on the train. North Berwick beach is only a few minutes walk from the house.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I booked in at Milleur House for an overnight stay in North Berwick, and was delighted with this modern, well situated b & b. Located in a quiet, easy to access road as you enter North Berwick from the North, Milleur made a nice change from staying in one of the local hotels. Drew and Moira were excellent hosts who immediately made me feel at home. Tea and fresh muffins on arrival were appreciated,and their in-depth knowledge of the area made my stay a pleasure. The rooms are freshly decorated and have first class en-suite facilities. The shower was particularly impressive and the wifi useful for a conference call. Breakfast was delicious, with Orkney black pudding and wild boar sausages the highlight from an extensive list of options. All freshly made to order. Well worth its 4 stars, and ideal both for business trips like mine, or those looking to enjoy the golf and holiday pursuits this area has to offer. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This B&B was very friendly with excellent hosts. The rooms were very clean and sported superb brand new and modern facilities. Breakfast each morning was absolutely delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay during our time here.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights with our 12 year old daughter. The modern house is immaculate, and beautifully furnished. Our rooms were well equipped and the beds very comfortable. Moira and Drew were the most wonderful hosts and made us feel welcome right from the start, with a cup of tea and offer of home baking when we arrived. We enjoyed getting to know them and they were very helpful with maps, lists of restaurants, etc. There was a great range of breakfast options, from healthy cereals and fruit to a full cooked breakfast. The house is a short walk form a path along the golf course which takes you in to the town centre in about 20 minutes. The surroundings are quiet and we enjoyed the lovely sea air. All in all, a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jm1722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rather than stay in the bustling City of Edinburgh we opted to stay in North Berwick a short train ride to Edinburgh. A short walk from the centre of town is Milleur House where Moira and Drew provide excellent hospitality in their modern home set on a quiet road. Their knowledge of the local area is outstanding especially the local golf courses and they also suggested a trip out to the Bell Rock from the local harbour. Milleur House is spotless , comfortable, and spacious. Moira's Scottish breakfast's were second to none with ingredients sourced from a local farm shop and beautifully cooked. We will definitely be returning next time we are in North Berwick. We were treated just like a long lost friend, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187064Andrew41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a rare visit to this coast line and we found it to be a beautiful location. Milleur House run by Drew and Moira is a great find and our hosts were excellent. The house itself is modern but spacious and the facilities are great. Breakfast was cooked fresh by Moira and couldn't be bettered. Simple little things made our stay extremely pleasant such as a flask of cold milk to take to our room for proper milk in the morning tea, bath robes for all visitors and good wifi. North Berwick itself is a beautiful town with a coastline to match. There are good facilities and restaurants and a good train line only 30 minutes from central Edinburgh. For those who enjoy the golf Milleur House is only a short walk from the 3rd fairway on the fabulous North Berwick West Links course. For those not into golf there is a lovely coastal walk which takes you through into the town. All in all a great stay and somewhere we will undoubtedly go back to.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Berwick hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
331 reviews
1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 27 in North Berwick
131 reviews
4 mi away
Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Drem Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 27 in North Berwick
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milleur House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milleur House

Address: 11 Strathearn Road, North Berwick EH39 5BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: $137 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milleur House in North Berwick is a modern, luxury, architect designed home providing old-fashioned hospitality. We are situated on the “John Muir Way” a short iron from the famous North Berwick West Links and a beautiful sandy beach.We aim to offer you a complete home from home experience and our traditional Scottish or Continental breakfast is made using quality, local produce wherever possible. Individual diets can be catered for by prior arrangement.East Lothian offers a wealth of tourist attractions but is perhaps most famous for its golfing heritage; boasting 21 courses within a 20 minute drive including Muirfield, the venue for the 2013 Open Championship. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Milleur House North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing