We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent North Berwick Apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sym C
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent North Berwick Apartment”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We would highly recommend the Imperial Apartment. It's location is excellent, right in the heart of North Berwick and a stones throw from the beach.

On holiday we always hope we'll find somewhere that offers at least the standards at home or better and the Imperial didn't disappoint. All the home comforts, pristinely clean and beautifully furnished to a high standard. It's also very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable break, from children's toys to cooking utensils. In most self catering holiday properties, even the best of them, there's usually something we wish we'd brought with us, here it's the opposite, there were plenty of things we'd brought that we could have left behind as they'd already been thought of.

North Berwick itself is an excellent base. In fact in the three days we were there there was no need to stray very far. Leisurely walks, browsing the shops and enjoying the top notch local eateries. Our little boy loved the beach even though it's March and still a little cool. We enjoyed our daily walks, playing in the sand, hunting for crabs and collecting shells.

We enjoyed a very relaxing break and would recommend both the Imperial and North Berwick very highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. It's an excellent property
Liked least: Communal area a little off-putting on arrival as is a bit shabby and dusty, but once inside the apartment you won't think twice about it.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
What a wonderful review of your stay. I can just picture the crab hunting; my daughter and I were down doing this just last weekend.

I'm so pleased that you found our property pristine and well stocked; we are keen to lighten the load for our guests and try to list what we stock as much as possible in our blurb but we keep adding things for our guests to enjoy :)

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martha821
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best among the Excellent”
Reviewed December 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There are many different things that people look for when they want to rent an apartment.
I stayed at the Imperial for a week and I can tell there is not ine thing you wish for that you can't find in it.
CLEANLINESS AND ORDER.
As soon as you enter and see in the bedroon the two white,fur spotless clean rugs,you know what you can expect of the rest of the house and you are not disappointed.Everything is not only clean but brilliant,and it is a pleasure to open the drawers and doors in the kitchen and see everything reflected in the pots and pans.
CONFORT.
Central heating that you can graduate at your pleasure.
In the living area the chairs as well as all the armchairs are very,very confortable,especially the brown leather one,and if you wish to read or anything ,you have beside every armchair a table lamp or a floor lamp if needed.
In both bedrooms the matresses are wonderful and you have a choice of two types of pillows and duvets.
The two fluffy bathrobes as well as the quality linens adds to complete the sensation of confort.
LOCATION.
the location is excellent with the High St. at its door,very near the beach and the bus stop and a little walk to the railway station.It is surrounded by many reaturants and litle caffes and two supermarkets.
KIDS' FRIENDLY.
This place is very kid's and baby's friendly.There are toys to entertain children of all ages added to which there is a packet of nappies for an emergency and two fluffly robes for children in two different sizes.
DECORATION.
I left this item to the last because for me it was the more impactant.
The wonderful combination of colours was kept even in small details such as tea towels and binders.The textiles of curtains and cushions are of a very luxurious qualities.
All the accesories ,principally all the lightings seems to have been chosen with a great care,and the impressive wall clock in the kitchen as well as the beautiful paintings of North Berwick scenes hanged in the walls contribute to make this flat unique.
And thank you Tracy for the adress of the dentist that you left in the binder,because I have to make use of it and it was very convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decoration and the confort
Liked least: the two flights of stairs but that was because I am 72 and have weak legs.I must add that I knew beforehand of the existence of the stairs
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2016
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a long, glowing and detailed review of your stay. It was a great pleasure for us to have you as our guest and whilst we take great pride in The Imperial, we take a greater pride in having our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Should you travel again to East Lothian we would welcome you again with open arms. Kind regards and very best wishes, Tracey (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frame777
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment in great location”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is a beautifully presented apartment in a top location in the heart of North Berwick. The apartment is first class, with top quality furnishing, bedding and kitchen equipment. Everything you could need has been thought of by the owners. We enjoyed a very relaxing week here and it was very much a home from home. Location is fantastic - the beach is only a couple of minutes walk from the front door of the apartment, and there are a selection of good restaurants and some very nice local shops on your doorstep. Great location for our kids with beach and parks so close by. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. I'm delighted that you had a wonderful time both in The Imperial and in North Berwick. We would be delighted to warmly welcome you back again in the future should you return to East Lothian.

With very best wishes to you and your family,
Tracey Pacitti (co-owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, dealing with owners, everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Hi guys,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay. It was truly a delight to have you stay at The Imperial. I hope you have taken many wonderful memories of your special trip back home with you.

Thank you too for the wonderful cookery book you presented me containing fabulously tasty recipes from home. Mike and I have enjoyed experimenting with a few of these and have shared with our friends too.

My neighbour always asks after you too.

Keep well and you know our door is always open if you would like to return to North Berwick.

Kind regards,
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall Excellent
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your kind review.
It was lovely to be able to help provide items to help your daughter celebrate her birthday at The Imperial.

I'm delighted that you had a lovely stay and list it as one of the key places that you have stayed in the UK - high praise indeed.

We take pleasure in trying to ensure that our lovely guests have a wonderful stay and compliments like these help us to know that we are doing things right.

Best wishes, Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Hi there,

My sincere thanks for your lovely review of your luxury stay. I'm delighted that you had a wonderful stay and great to know that you found the free WiFi and free phone handy. It's good to stay in touch!

I'm glad you found our location well placed for the local attractions. There are a few lovely walks in the Lodge and I'm glad you enjoyed exploring some of these. We took a long time to find a property well placed for the attractions, harbour, beach and restaurants and it's great to hear you agree!

We would be delighted to warmly welcome you again to The Imperial if you return to East Lothian.

With kind regards,
Tracey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Otley, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Sincere thanks for your lovely review of your luxury break at The Imperial. I'm so delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and enjoyed hearing about some of the fantastic places you had visited. On the basis of your recommendation we also have tried the ice cream parlour and are pleased to give it the thumbs up too!

Thanks again for booking The Imperial; we hope to welcome you in the future should you return to East Lothian.

Kind regards,
Tracey Pacitti (owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing