We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant home with elegant hosts.”
Review of The Glebe House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Berwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Glebe House
Ranked #5 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An elegant home with elegant hosts.”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

This Georgian style home overlooking the parish church tower and the bay is a remarkable place to be offered as a bed and breakfast. The hosts are most helpful and welcoming. Our continued recovery from the unfortunate experience at Ashaig B&B in Skye was made complete with a truly lovely three night stay at Glebe House in North Berwick.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotyacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
58
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, NY USA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The Glebe House is a wonderful bed and breakfast. The exterior of this Georgian house is beautiful, but the interior is just as charming and very very comfortable. There are cozy terry robes in all the rooms, and the beds are very comfortable.My group of 7 took over all the rooms and we couldn't have been happier! Gwen helped us with restaurant ideas and made reservations for us. It was an easy walk to everything. Breakfast in the elegant dining room was delicious.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newburgh_NYUSAWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My husband and I were very fortunate to stay at the lovely home of the Scotts. Our room was immaculate, and amenities were amazing. Gwen was a terrific hostess

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MainevilleTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

The Glebe House is a jewel in the crown for North Berwick - expensive for a B&B yes , value for money ? YES!
Enter the house and its genuine history leaps at you. This is a special house - and a look at how things were for the well 2 to do.

Annie the dog is the star of the show!

Food - excellent - freshly smoked fish for breakfast perfect!

  • Liked — View and the town clock
  • Disliked — frigthened to move fast in case I broke something !
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKBMGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

What a treat to stay in this grand house and with such lovely people. Great room, views. Had breakfast in the grand dining room, what a treat.......
Easy walk into town and onto the beach.

  • Liked — It was special
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini racer 100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2006

My partner and I stayed for two nights in an amazing four poster room. It was the most fantastic house we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. Bursting with antiques and character and two wonderfull hosts. We have since booked two nights as a gift for my partner mothers birthday, they have been and just raved about it. My own parents have just returned from a two night stay and could find no fault - it was PERFECT! We have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this bed & breakfast to everyone!

  • Liked — its wonderful character
  • Tips/Secrets — just enjoy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazlertobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2006

You ABSOUTELY must stay here, I thoroughly recommend a visit, in fact I insist upon it.

The Scott family home is immaculate - you will find yourself surrounded by beautiful antiques and warm and comforting furnishings, the perfect place to relax after a day golfing or simply walking along the beach!

You wont find a more welcoming place to stay in the area.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank ScotfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
0.2 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.3 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Golf Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 27 in North Berwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glebe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glebe House

Property: The Glebe House
Address: Law Road, North Berwick EH39 4PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Glebe House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Glebe House North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing