We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent appartment with outstanding views..”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge & Kitchen - Puffin's Lookout Dining area from Kitchen - Puffin's Lookout
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
192 reviews
Lounge & Kitchen - Puffin's Lookout
Dining area from Kitchen - Puffin's Lookout
Master bedroom - Puffin's Lookout
Front bedroom - Puffin's Lookout
West Beach for  a stroll
Master bathroom - Puffin's Lookout
en-suite bathroom - Puffin's Lookout
Entrance Hall - Puffin's Lookout
View of North Berwick east beach from Glen Golf Club
North Berwick Harbour
View from Lounge - Puffin's Palace
View from lounge - Puffin's Palace
Sea view bedroom - Puffin's Palace
Sea view bedroom - Puffin's Palace
Main bathroom - Puffin's Palace
Law view bedroom - Puffin's Palace
en-suite Puffin's Palace
Master suite luxury - Puffin's Palace
welcome to Puffin's Palace
.....
Open plan kitchen/dining - Puffin's Palace
view from the wash up - Puffin's Palace
3rd bedroom children's bunk beds - Puffin's Palace
Bright open plan living - Puffin's Palace
Picture gallery - Puffin's Palace
West Beach 5 minutes from the Flat
Calm evening rowing & sailing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 192 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
fromthewe...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent appartment with outstanding views..”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have been to North Berwick before, hiring John and Liz's other appartment in the same building. As before, it was spotless and welcoming. Due to the timing, there was Easter eggs for the kids (big kids had a bit too!) and a smashing bottle of wine on arrival. The location of the appartment meant no messing about driving to and from the beach.. as it was just a few steps away. The town centre has lots of unique shops and an excellent bakery... fish and chips from the local is a must. All in all, between the location and standard of the accommodation, we would recommend it to others in a blink of an eye.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to strip the beds on leaving and taking recycling rubbish to Tesco's...
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clanglasg...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location very nice apartment brilliant window seat and view.”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Light airy flat very well finished to a high standard. Warm welcome and bottle of wine from owner was a surprise and very welcome introduction to very relaxing few days.
Fantastic location with brilliant panoramic view.
Flat had everything you could think of including buckets spades and seats for the beach.
We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and finished to a very good standard
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSBCLB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'll Be Back”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

As a group ranging from 4 to 60 years of age we all fell in love with North Berwick and its many high quality features. Puffin's Outlook was perfect by way of the warm greeting, cleanliness, comfort, superbly equipped kitchen and above all, it's location and views! We even saw the puffins' return - how lucky were we!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S H
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely flat, we'd definitely like to return”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed in puffin's lookout. The flat benefits from lots of natural light as it has large windows and several skylights. It was very well equipped and clean. We had a fantastic trip to North Berwick and will definitely look into staying in this property on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillinham...
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable flat with lovely sea view”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Great location right by the beach and with a terrific sea view at North Berwick - we stayed in Puffin's Lookout. The flat was very comfortable, warm and spacious and had all mod cons. We sat on the window seat with our binoculars watching the bird life and assorted dogs having fun on the beach. It was a short stroll to the Scottish Seabird Centre and the main shopping streets where there were cafes and interesting shops in abundance. A thriving seaside town which is great to see. Highly recommend this place. The owner was very friendly and recommend places to eat etc.

It wasn't clear to us that this was on the second floor and access was via stairs but we are reasonably fit and so it wasn't a problem.

My husband booked the flat which I thought was possibly a little pricey but it really did deliver so worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea view!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviaMcL
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliantly located, delightful apartment with fantastic sea views.”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is a great property on the second floor of a tenement just across the road from the beach. The apartment itself is beautifully presented, with a lovely open plan kitchen-dining-living space perfect for our family get-together and easily able to accommodate 6-8 for sit down meal. The flat has wonderful views over the sea and it's just a case of crossing the quiet road to get to the beach. It's really close to other amenities including the lovely play park, shops, pub and seabird centre. The bedrooms were very comfortable and quiet, a twin, double (ensuite) and children's room with bunk beds. Plenty of room for a travel cot and for storage too. Lovely big bath and lots of hot water. Very well equipped in the kitchen, and with TV and music player. We really appreciated the buckets and spades for playing on the beach. The owner was very friendly, helpful and accommodating, letting us stay on later than normal checkout. The only issue might be if you had a mobility problem as the flat is up two flights of stairs, but otherwise I would highly recommend this as a place to stay in North Berwick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The stairs!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nando1079
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment and location - beautiful town and surrounding area”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Travelled with my husband and 2 teenage boys for a short half term stay somewhere we could relax, walk and have a little explore. NB was perfect for this and the apartment here at Puffins Lookout is really lovely. Its warm, stylish, comfortable with wifi and lots of space (essential these days!! damn!) and we made the most of the local takeaways and had a really lazy time here. North Berwick Law is a must as is Tantallon Castle and a walk across West Beach along the golf course. John has been the perfect host - he's been in touch from his own half term break to check that we were OK here and I would highly recommend his properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing