We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Lovely atmosphere and in a really good location. Staff very warm and friendly. Very good food and magnificent views. More wardrobe space required in rooms. We had friends in other rooms, and they all felt there was a lack of drawers and wardrobe space.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colintonmains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    859
    707
    449
    187
    77
See reviews for
410
1,258
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Nothing can surpass the feeling of relaxation which enveloped us yet again (it was our 5th visit to this haven) at the Marine Hotel in picturesque North Berwick.
Helpful and understanding staff greeted us in from the chill afternoon and from the sumptuous reception area we were shown our (upgraded on request) sea view room.
Gazing out through our large window across the golf course, the mesmerising vista and sound of waves crashing against Bass Rock and small islands around which fishing vessels plied helped us unwind very quickly.
Spacious yet cosy, our quarters were equipped with everything we needed, the deep bath being ideal for soothing those walk-weary legs!
Pre-dinner drinks were quaffed as we sat cosseted in sleep-inducing sofas in one of several quiet lounges. We have never failed to be impressed by the tantalising selection of dishes in the grand Craigleith restaurant with its portraits and elegant and tasteful décor and the attentive, yet unobtrusive, staff made sure everything was just perfect. A bonus is discovering that you can book online (try around 5pm.uk time, if you get my drift) for a meal discount and put the savings towards a couple of liqueurs (bar prices are a bit steep).
A revitalising spa with its spacious pool left us invigorated and the outdoor hot whirlpool area was superb for chilling out under the stars.
A special mention for the hotel's housekeeping team who returned the expensive camera equipment I inadvertently left in our room. A quick phone call to them and the equipment was immediately posted across the country to me . . . free of charge! That's service.
If you like walking (hill with great views at back of town plus coastal track), golfing, browsing quaint shops and pubs then don't miss a jaunt here.
We have enjoyed family breaks at The Marine over about 10 years (the 'east wing' family room suited our four-kid clan perfectly) and I'm sure 2010 will see us back (now child-free) at our bolt-hole overlooking the rugged and beautiful Bass Rock.

Andy and Gillian Mellin, Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrahols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Have been a regular at the Marine for many a year, Caroline and her banquetting staff are now well established, food and service are alway's excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I've just been to Marine Hotel over in North Berwick with my wife. The hotel looks great and it's placed in magnificent location. Came to check-in, and were attended by two lovely chaps, Duncan and Charlie. Great personalities !. We were upgraded to a see view room, which we did appreciate. And form that point it all went downhill... the room was freezing, phone not working, corridor floors covered with room service trays - probably left from the breakfast service... complained to a female duty manager. To our surprise, none of the problems were resolved (SHOCKING). It seems like the front line employees are much more attentive than the so-called management... really...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McFarlaneJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abersoch, Wales
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We were visiting family and stayed here. The staff were very polite and we had no problems with anything! The rooms were lovely, and the breakfast in the morning was delicious! i only wish we had more time and we could have stayed there for another few nights. I saw the Spa and it looked amazing, only i didnt get a chance to go to it because of lack of time. Thanks to Caroline Bacigalupo, Nigel and all the saff for a fantastic stay in the Macdonald marine hotel and spa. :)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne_baci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north berwick
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2009

North Berwick Rotary Club meet each Tuesday and increasingly Caroline and staff and chef provide us with excellent,service and food.But the Christmas Dinner last Tuesday just typified just what is extra special in the attention we enjoy from th Marine aa we plan our community services.

The Dinner was just a ball and fun.It was simply fun.

OK we had kids from Law Primary School entertaining usi in song and getting us joining in.

But the meal we had was great,Caroline a star turn as an unsolicited Santa. and the overall staff service quick,unruffled and perfect on the night,.

Thank you all and have a fantastic Christmas .We look forward to seeing you all in the New Year.

Merry Christmas

Syl Caw-Club Presidaent

P.S. See slide show on our website accessed through google-north berwick rotary club

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supercat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Fantastic time at my daughter's wedding,servis, organisation,and friendly,much more than we expected .Nothing was overlooked or forgotten right down to the smallest detail
This was thanks to Caroline and Nigel
Cannot fault anything

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexrobertson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
313 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
353 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing