We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Everything about this hotel is totally fabulous.
Old fashioned with traditional values and exceptional service from all staff from checking in to checking out. The quality of every room from bar to breakfast room was spotlessly clean and well serviced. Its not our first time at this hotel and hopefully it'll not be our last. We asked if our grandchildren, who we were visiting in the area, would be allowed to use the spa with us even though they were not staying with us and this was not a problem. Nothing was too much trouble and staff were particularly helpful and friendly.
Even more fabulous was the fact that we went with an offer which was extremely good value and included a £10 voucher which was perfect for Prosecco pre dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undecidedLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear undecidedLuton,

The team at the Marine loved hearing your comments and charmed to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your return visit.

We pride ourselves on service and cleanliness and very fortunate to have an award winning team.

We have some great package deals out at different times of the year and always great to join our marketing distribution to learn firsthand. We are preparing ourselves for Valentine’s Day where you'll be able to spoil your loved ones in the spa, restaurant and bar!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Warm Regards,


Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,715 - 1,721 of 2,356 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Attended a Xmas party night here last week. Great night. Service was excellent. Food was lovely. Wine free flowing.good mix of people. We were there for a friends birthday but ended up mixing with lots of other groups. Drink a bit expensive, but it is a top class hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigkgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear bigkgr,

Great to read you enjoyed your birthday/Christmas celebration with a friendly and efficient service.

I hope you can come to the next one!

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I just wanted to provide some positive feedback regarding our recent family Christmas Break at the Marine Hotel in North Berwick.

We were extremely happy with the level of service provided by all at the hotel. Of special note, perhaps, was the John Paul at the Marine restaurant where staff were superb. Unfailingly polite and friendly and working with great efficiency during some very busy times indeed. On Christmas morning everyone seemed to arrive for breakfast at the same time and despite that, there were no delays. I think one of the managers was drafted in from being off duty and he got his sleeves rolled up to help clearing the tables. The food in the restaurant was of a high standard and nicely prepared. The two vegetarians in our family were especially well looked after with some late additions to the menu demonstrating the versatility of the resident chef. (Greatly appreciated).

This is a very comfortable hotel to stay in. Great location and high level of comfort. Nice swimming pool and spa and a well equipped gym meant that those who wanted to remain active over the Christmas period could do so easily.

We look forward to coming back in the future summer or winter.

Room Tip: Large rooms available on the first floor. Sleeps four adult family members with plenty of space to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Malcolm B,

Thank you for your wonderful review on the Marine. It was a pleasure reading your email, knowing my teams hospitality was a success. We strive for perfection and feedback like yours highlights we're on the right track, so I thank you.

The restaurant is changing its menu on Friday so I do hope you manager to visit us soon to sample some of the wonderful new choices.

When you book please inform the reservationist of your dietary requirements and again the chefs would be delighted to create to your needs.

Warm Regards,


Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is the second time our small family group has been for Christmas and again we were not disappointed. We have stayed in more modern and luxurious hotels, but the Marine has everything you need and all the staff, from the general manager to the bedroom cleaners, were very friendly and accommodating, so the overall experience of our Christmas break was first class. The location of the hotel is excellent being so close to the sea and our three rooms all had wonderful views across the links golf course to the Firth of Forth and beyond. As one of our group had a small dog, the proximity to miles of unspoilt beaches was a real bonus and we felt very relaxed and comfortable here. We ate in the Jean Paul restaurant for all three nights and the food was excellent, served by friendly and competent staff. There was a varied selection and many dishes had locally sourced produce which added to a very tasteful experience. There is ample car parking in a quiet location and the swimming pool and spa offered another relaxing distraction to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomato5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear tomato5,

Delighted to read your comments, thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa.

The Marine is a great spot for strolls on the beach and into the town centre with your four legged friends! I do hope we'll see you this year again for Christmas and please let me know if you'd like package information sent to you once finalised.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just returned from a three night Christmas stay at the Marine. Check in on arrival was quick and easy despite many arrivals at the same time, friendly reception, lots of staff on duty at reception, our luggage was taken to our room by a member of staff, who declined a tip! Afternoon tea then enjoyed, later to be followed by dinner in John Pauls again faultless service.
Our room was on the ground floor 109, view over the Forth, plenty of space, see attached pictures, room condition good and spotlessly clean.
We had selected to have Christmas lunch in the John Paul restaurant, very good, again exceptional service. The entire team in the restaurant working as a team delivering first class friendly efficient service. A buffet was provided later on Christmas night, lighter options may have gone down better but this is a minor point.
Boxing day saw many leave who had opted for a two day stay, really glad we selected three day option.
Spa and pool facilities good, clean and much appreciated between the eating!
All the staff from the manager who made a point of speaking to all the guests at every opportunity. Guests ranged from singles, couples to large family groups including a lot of family pet dogs! Speaking to some guests many appear to be regulars, I think we may be joining this club and returning next Christmas.
Well done to all the staff both front and behind the scenes in making our Christmas special - well done.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank postcard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear postcard13,

Thank you for your review and images supplied, it was a cold Christmas but days lovely and clear which you have illustrated in your pictures.

It was a pleasure to have you over Christmas and yes you must join the club! ... But why wait until then, with the long summer nights, the sunsets are magnificent.

We hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel has a good reputation and prices to match. However, like many hotels in the MacDonald roster such as the Forest Hills resort, there is so much to disappoint when you consider the premium prices they ask.

The hotel decor is tasteful and pleasant. On first inspection, our room on the third floor was well appointed and comfortable. Our main complaint is that during the night the small but important failings became evident. The windows, despite being high up, are neither double glazed nor secondary glazed. Our window was also old and rattled contantly in the wind and let in a cold draft. The radiator was also noisy with a constant and loud trickle of water throughout the night. With prices from £130 to £180odd for a room, this standard is just not good enough.

Upon arrival and exit, the reception staff repeatedly tried to overcharge us as they couldn't find our B&B booking. Only the persistance of my partner, herself a businesswoman in tourism, saw to it that our 'lost' booking was finally discovered.

On the good side, the spa is excellent though some management of guests might be needed - I don't really want to swim next to a young couple 'necking' in the pool. The breakfast was also excellent and the location is superb.

A good hotel but one that doesn't unfortunately live up to its exhorbitant prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor street facing rooms with draughty windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalumCrubag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear CalumCrubag,

Thank you for your review on the Marine, I'm disappointed to learn you did not enjoy the full experience due to some maintenance concerns. I have noted your points and currently reviewing with the team, so I thank you.

If you would like to discuss further, please feel free to email me directly.

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

5 nights stay
Service was good and staff were friendly and as a whole I would recommend the hotel.
Just a couple of minor points; Room floor boards creak, you can hear people walking/talking in the corridor and the car park had no lighting

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raidon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Oakleigh22,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the Marine staff accommodating. I thank you for your points with areas for improvement and certainly look to rectify.

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
325 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
18 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: $110 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing