We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Prestwick
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Good but pricey”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and overall were fairly satisfied. Service good and accommodation excellent but pricey for what was on offer. Food good but not in keeping with prices. £32 for a Fillet Steak plus £2.75 for a sauce or £27 for Catch of the Day is another example of rip-off Britain. No wine cheaper than £25 per bottle also. I believe prices are unwarranted but overall enjoyable break.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get room overlooking Firth of Forth
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlcwPrestwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear mlcwPrestwick,

Thank you for your feedback and that you enjoyed your 3 day break. Sorry to hear you felt we were pricey, the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa is part of the 'signature collection' of Macdonald Hotels & Resorts and source local, fresh produce to uphold exceptional quality throughout all our outlets.

I do hope you will consider us or any other Macdonald Hotel for your next break away.


Warm Regards,


Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    708
    449
    187
    76
See reviews for
411
1,259
33
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 3 fabulous nights here. Definitely get an oceanfront room. The room was spacious on the second floor with great view of water. The bathroom was very nicely renovated. Had dinner in the restaurant one night and was very good. The prices were appropriate for the food quality and atmosphere. Other reviews complained about wine prices but they seemed in line with what I paid all over the United Kingdom and especially considering the setting. Also thought the spa was great and well worth the 80£ for hour and half treatment. Sauna staff could not have been nicer. No wifi available in our room (211) despite advertising that it was available. Front desk acted surprised by this but I am sure they knew it did not reach the rooms at end of building. Walk along golf course and oceanfront path to town was wonderful. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Second or third floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jray2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear jray2012,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Marine. Wifi is now free at the Marine across all areas of the hotel and this was installed late September. I appreciate the feedback with your room's wifi to which it's now rectified.

We pride ourselves on our produce and to create a welcoming atmosphere; delighted to hear you agree.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,


Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are dated, small & lack water pressure. We sated at three different MacDonald hotels. It was consistent that the hotels are well located, but very old & need updating. One elevator in all hotels that didn't always go to your floor. Luggage moving was a issue. Always one bell hop.

I could pee harder than the water pressure at the marine, rusacks and Hollywood. Staff tried to be accommodating, but wouldn't go the extra mile. not like most hotels in Scotland. They seem to restrict the water at all the hotels. Seriously, water was a trickle at best & cold most busy times.

Breakfast was marginal, slow & staff always seem to be be from a sublet Resturant with little drive or desire to creat that exceptional experience. There is much better hotels chains in Scotland that would love your business.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Mark R,

Thank you for your review and I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time or experience with us. Macdonald Hotels prides itself on the customer journey and by the sounds of things this was overlooked on this occasion. This is not our usual standard of hospitality and apologise for your resultant disappointment.

If you would like to discuss further please drop me a note and I'll be sure to take your points on board for the future.

I thank you for your feedback.

Warm Regards,


Kate- Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Superb location, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a really lovely room, 320, which was in one of the turrets and was huge! with a massive 4 poster bed you just sank into...wonderful. Never had time to try the pool/spa but everything else was spot on. Definitely one to recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
DearFreda S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the celebration of a 70th birthday!

The room you had was a suite one of our 13 newly refurbished room’s just back in May and they are very special. Delighted the team looked after you from start to finish.

You'll now have to return for some R&R at the spa!

Warm Regards,


Kate- Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel has a good location overlooking North Berwick Golf Course towards the Firth of Forth Estuary with ample car parking which is what you would see from your room if you are not on the "Sea" side of the hotel. Room was fine, not huge but certainly adequate for a short break. We had breakfast in the hotel and it was grand with any "hot" meals coming straight from the kitchen which provided a bit of freshness.

Bar prices were a wee bit steep but as we were dining / socialising elsewhere that night it didn't impact.

We had booked via Expedia and reception did not have a note that it was on B&B basis which seemed odd and had to send them my booking confirmation to validate. Wi-Fi is free in the reception area but you need a password from reception - they omitted to tell sure we needed one !! Only other issue we had was most odd - when you switched on the cold water tap boiling hot water came out of it for a few seconds which I had never come across before seemed to be affecting some other rooms as well; reported to reception and should have it fixed by now?

We used the pool / spa area and thought it was excellent - the spa pool goes outside which was a nice touch.

Room Tip: May be worth paying the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear SammyHo,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the views and the signature Macdonald breakfast!

You will be pleased to hear all maintenance concerns with the water are now rectified, I do apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kate-Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Really really loved my stay at this fab hotel. Views over the bay are stunning - go for an early morning walk on the deserted beach. So gorgeous. Golf course looks great if you are into your golf! The spa is really amazing - so many different rooms. Loved the hot pool outside, so relaxing. Dinner was amazing, what a restaurant. Expensive but worth it. Drinks aren't overly pricey. Room was pretty standard, nothing special but the rest of the hotel was breath-taking so forgivable! Recommend having afternoon tea sitting in the main reception room looking out over the view - so special.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear nomadNS,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at the Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hotel offerings. We have just finished refurbishing the hydro/thermal area in the spa and great to hear our investment is enjoyed by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marine in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Although quite impressive looking form the outside with very nice coastal views this hotel is in need of serious refurbishment. Inside it looks tired and worn and is not particularly clean. I spent a day at the spa here which included lunch. The spa itself needs some attention. My hands and nails were dirty after being in the thermal pool which has an outdoor section. The only aroma in the aromatherapy relaxing room was wet bodies. The times allocated for treatments and lunch need not have been arranged as they were not adhered to. I waited such a long time to be escorted to lunch and then having been seated at a table from which I had to remove food remnants from a previous customer I waited yet again during which time I was able to take in the shabby surroundings including cobwebs on the ceiling and crumbs and dust on the floor and skirting boards. Actually before I sat down I had to change the seat as it had a huge wet patch on it. I eventually complained about the length of time I had waited before someone took action. When the pre - ordered lunch arrived it was disappointing . I was pretty cold after waiting so long all I wanted to do was go home. This was not the relaxing day I had hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMgrMarine, Manager at Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Imev,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your spa day at the Marine. It disappoints me to hear you did not enjoy the experience. We have just invested into the spa thermal area and completed an upgrade on 13 executive suites within the hotel. We have received awards for our housekeeping and disappoints me to hear this was not to our usual standard. I would be delighted to talk to you further as customer satisfaction and loyalty is very important to us.

I welcome your call or email at the Marine.

Warm Regards,

Kate - Brihony Dunnion
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
206 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
353 reviews
18.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing