We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were very fortunate to get a tremendous deal and our room was of a higher quality than a previous visit when we paid the going rate. The public rooms and the Spa make the hotel stand out and certainly add to the experience.
Although we did not opt for treatments the Spa facilities are well appointed and the thermal suite and indoor/outdoor jacuzzi are tremendous and I wish I lived in closer proximity to NB as I would certainly be taking out a membership.
The staff are all very attentive and the breakfast was tasty with plenty to choose from although I do not like the emerging trend of charging supplements at breakfast.
The reception staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyjones65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,302)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,790 - 1,796 of 2,302 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

We came on our Honeymoon for 3 nights. It's a very nice hotel with real old fashioned charm. Our room was large with a lovely view of the sea. I think we were upgraded. Drinks are expensive though.
The restaurant though is a gem. The food and wine were both fantastic and the service was great too. If you are in the area make sure you eat there.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arrived for a 2 night break at this charming Victorian hotel. Room while not facing the sea was pleasantly decorated and overlooked the car park. There was plenty of space within the hotel to find a spot to watch the passing golfers and the breaking waves just beyond. 10 minutes walk from the hotel into the town to explore the shops, galleries and cafes. Meals in the John Paul restaurant were of a high standard and the waiting staff were most efficient. Italian house red was most quaffable. Leisure facilities are some of the best we have experienced with plenty of space, 2 saunas and 2 steam rooms an inside/outside spa pool, big swimming pool and a well equipped gym. We did not have time to use the spa for treatments. Nice touch was that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the Operations Manager had left a card and bowl of fruit in our our room on arrival. We had not announced this to anyone and can only presume that on staying at another McDonald hotel the previous year, on checking out we casually mentioned why we had stayed - they obviously kept a record. Would definitely recommend this hotel a short break, will visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RikkiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A comfortable well run hotel been upgraded since my last visit some ten years ago, the decor is more modern but it still retains its classic "Old World" feel and reflects on days when probably only the wealthy would have been the guests. An ideal base for golfers with Gullane, Muirfield, Archerfield, Luffness, Craigielaw and two courses in North Berwick all within easy driving distance.
The spa was fantastic ideal after a cold 18 holes with two types of saunas a steam room ice room and an outdoor jacuzzi. Breakfast was excellent lots of choice and brought on a hot plate to your table. If you want to avoid the hustle and bussle of Edinburgh this would be a good option with a train journey into the city in about 20 minutes, glad to have come back will definitely be back.

Room Tip: facing the sea and the golf course is best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchieL231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend with a group of friends.From the initial check in to check out all of staff were lovely nothing was too much trouble for them, very professional and attentive.We had Spa treatments which was lovely and used all the facilities, jacuzzi,pool,gym,steam rooms etc.we ate in the restaurant in the evening all 3 courses were beautifully presented and lovely food,the breakfast also plenty of choices and enjoyed by everyone.We had a nice room everything that you would expect for a 4star but had to use the portable heater as it was cold in the evening.My only criticism about this hotel is the prices for drinks its very expensive. All in all a lovely hotel and a good time was had by all.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 3rd floor with a sea view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaW439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just stayed for one night but really could not fault it.
The spa is wonderful - a nice big pool plus an outdoor jacuzzi and array of sauna and steam rooms - easy to while away the hours there.
Breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever seen - really impressive spread. And aside from a dodgy poached egg, the fried breakfast was also delicious.
Our room was small and facing the road but bearing in mind we got 2 trips to the spa and a lovely brekkie, we can't complain about the price as it was well worth it!
The bar is very expensive and we didn't eat here as we wanted to explore the town. Found a lovely Indian restaurant instead! It's a bit of a walk from the town but this means it's quiet and has a nice view of the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corinnku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sadly the weather was very dull, so we were not able to see the Fife coast as we had hoped, but the view out to Fidra and Craigleith islands was spectacular from our 3rd floor sea facing room. The downside to this was the draught from the windows in the room, especially the bathroom with only a small heated towel rail which wasn't very effective. Otherwise, the room was fine with a large comfortable bed. Dinner was excellent and we only spent £7 over our £25 per person allowance. As others have said, drinks are a bit pricey. The breakfast was also good, though let down a bit by extremely weak cafetiere coffee and having to ask twice for toast which didn't arrive until well after our hot food had been served. Minor grumbles, but shouldn't happen at a hotel of this standard. We didn't have time to visit the spa facilities, maybe next time!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea facing rooms if you want a view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talisker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.2 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
0.8 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
5.9 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
357 reviews
9.1 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa

Address: 18 Cromwell Road | Edinburgh, North Berwick EH39 4LZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in North Berwick
Price Range: $149 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa boasts everything you could need for a short break on the Scottish coast. Our luxurious spa offers rejuvenating Elemis treatments performed by highly trained therapists. Experience award-winning dining in our restaurant or relax in our lounge while taking in the view over the Firth of Forth. Your guaranteed a great night sleep in our stylish bedrooms, exactly what you need after a day on one of the many surrounding world-class golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Marine Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick
Hotel Macdonald Marine
Berwick Hotel Marine North
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing