We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly cafe”
Review of Cake

Cake
Ranked #21 of 41 Restaurants in North Berwick
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family friendly cafe”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We frequently visit Cake as a family as it is child friendly for kids of all ages with a small play area and 'buggy parking'.

The cakes are great as well as the bacon rolls, coffee and soup. I find the sandwiches a bit pricey though.

It's nice to be able to go somewhere with the kids where you don't feel conscious of them shouting/crying/laughing etc which kids obviously do! Previous comments have criticised the number of children here and the noise. It's a simple fact that kids make noise. There are countless other coffee shops the length of the high street which cater for a more relaxed quiet atmosphere with no buggy space. If you're not a fan of kids Cake really isn't for you.

We'll keep coming back to Cake whenever we visit North Berwick as its our favourite cafe there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank needabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    49
    21
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cake (and more)”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We go here nearly every day we are in North Berwick. Our kids love it, it is very relaxed and easy to be. All of the food is fab and the place is very child friendly. The play area in the corner is wonderful - small but our kids love it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Slowest service”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Although the food at Cake was reasonable, the service was terrible. We waited over half an hour for baked potatoes and soup! The food was also overpriced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lindam264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a relief”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Friendly, welcoming, free wi-fi on tap, good coffee. What's not to like. I am in recovery from a so-called 5 star hotel at the other end of the High St but even so, this a v popular place with all ages and stages

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They do great cake!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Cake is a nice cafe with lots of space and fab cakes.Cake is a great place for parents to takes there kids as there is a play area and space to park buggeis. Although if you are like me, and get agigtated by the sound of young children crying then this is not the place for you. I also think the staff are quite friendly but could be more open and smiley to teenagers. I understand some people a wary of teens but the youth of North Berwick are mostly pleasent and respectful. But I do espcially love their chocolate brownies (though i am not to sure they are very good for me!) so ten out of ten for the home baking!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BelindaTowers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cake also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing