We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobster Shack

The Lobster Shack
Ranked #18 of 43 Restaurants in North Berwick
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunfermline Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Next time you are in NB you should seek out the lobster shack. The lobster is very good value and is always accompanied by a freshly tossed salad and good chunky handcut chips.

The Fish and Chips are always very good, but overall its the alfresco harbour location that makes it special.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyjones65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    64
    29
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fresh and delicious whole lobster and homemade chips with a little salad. Service, perfect. Just GO!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LSAS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Quality Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I (and the dog) popped down for some fish and chips to stroll down the beach with on saturday evening and I can safely say the Lobster Shack didn't let us down. We had very tasty, non greasy fish and lovely chips (with fresh salad, homemade coleslaw and tartare) and it was magic. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It was alright...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Food was OK. Portion size wasn't that good, but it did taste good. Lobster didn't have much meat in it, but then I suppose you can't expect every lobster to be packed with meat. The breaded fish was a bit small. Bit expensive. All said and done, it was OK. Can't say I would rush back though.

Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan_Edment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply scrumptious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I visited North Berwick for our honeymoon in August this year. Although we were only there for a week we visited the Lobster Shack three times, and I can honestly say that it was one of the best dining experiences of my life. Sitting in the (albeit chilly) sunshine next to the harbor eating fish and chips is a wonderful thing - even better when the food and service is as good as the Lobster Shack's. During our visits we had 2 different specials, mussels, a half lobster, the fishcakes and their breaded coley, and all of the meals they served us were top notch and definitely good value for money. We loved how they used lesser-known fish such as hake and coley for their specials and their breaded fish - it added a really good touch to the experience! The staff are very attentive and helpful as well. Recommend it without a doubt - will definitely be making the long journey back to North Berwick - not only to relive memories and see some puffins, but also to come back here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steffi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Shack also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to The Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing