We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday Cottage”

Review of The Byre Cottage

The Byre Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre Cottage
The Byre Cottage Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Byre Cottage
The Byre Cottage
Sitting room
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Sittingroom
Hall
Bedroom 1
Sittingroom
Kitchen
Bathroom
Scenery
Bathroom
Has underfloor heating, electric towel heaters and separate shower.
Exterior
Hallway
Sitting room detail
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Berwick, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KateLondo...
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent - would highly recommend”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Lovely cottage. Excellent location. Friendly owners. Useful information left in cottage. Wood burning stove. Shower and bath. Really good for kids as all on one level.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No garden
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeda6
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Our accommodation was simply fantastic. Light, airy, warm and spotlessly clean throughout, The Byre is a lovely base from which to explore the delights of the East Lothian countryside. The Byre is also extremely well equipped, wth our teenager very appreciative of the wifi that was available. For those seeking the bright lights of a big city, the local train service to Edinburgh is frequent, fast and cheap.
Giles and Sarah were brilliant hosts; warm and friendly, on hand for guidance and friendship if /when required, but otherwise invisible.
We will definately be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: returning home!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Su M
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Perfect home away from home and base for exploring”
Reviewed December 1, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

We spent four nights here at The Byre and just loved it. First night I caught up on the laundry - major consideration when travelling with kids :) The peace was incredible - perfect after a day exploring Edinburgh or Stirling (as in our case). Sarah and Giles were welcoming and friendly, but never intrusive. Our boys enjoyed playing out in the courtyard - we were glad to have them work off extra energy outside. Inside they loved the fire - the place was toasty warm. The view from the master bedroom was gorgeous. Would not hesitate to book this property again, or recommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere of The Byre
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kayandphi...
Kendal, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Peaceful and very comfortable cottage”
Reviewed September 21, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We were very impressed by the comfort and the peaceful setting of the cottage. It was very well and thoughtfully equipped - many small items we usually take to hoiday rental property were already there. The owners are on site, not at all intrusive but very helpful. We used the cottage as a base when attending my daughter's wedding - she left from there for the ceremony - and the owners kindly took photographs and presented her and her fiance with a bottle of bubbly. We had lots of last minute organising and work to do for the wedding and the cottge was a haven of peace to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaltaMalt...
malta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

a special thanks to the owners who are very gentle, kind and helpful. the cottage was perfect, cosy, warm and very welcoming. bathrooms very clean. a very quiet place after a day out. we even found toys for our 2 yr old daughter. beds were really comfortable too what can i say? just perfect. will surely reccomend it to friends and relatives in malta. worth the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquillity and cleanliness
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenmoolla
Cheshire
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed July 18, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We had a lovely holiday here. The cottage was presented to a very high standard and was very clean and comfortable. The owners had refurbished the cottage a few years previously and had fitted it out very tastefully and in keeping with the surrounding environment. It had everything we needed in terms of facilities which was particularly important to us as we have two young children. The owners, whilst living next door were not the least bit intrusive, yet readily on hand to answer any of our queries. The area is lovely and the beaches are fantastic for children. We would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to be back another year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$84
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing