We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we've had for a long time”
Review of Osteria

Osteria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had for a long time”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Osteria was recommended by friends who live locally. We arrived without making a booking, and were lucky enough to get a table, as the restaurant was full by mid-evening. We had an excellent meal. The menu was interesting and the food was well cooked, well presented and very tasty. Service was very good. About £40 each including a very good bottle of house wine, but worth every penny.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suethebiochemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    39
    11
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We were not disappointed”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Went to this restaurant on a personal recommendation. Great service, friendly staff with great Italian food and wine. Not cheap but a really enjoyable meal and chatty staff who were friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris581953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little touch of Italian genius in Scotland”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We live near North Berwick but, for some in fathomable reason, had not tried Osteria until summer 2012 by which time their well deserved reputation was settled. Since last summer we have dined here several times and each time we have been impressed by the friendly, professional service and the, frankly excellent, food. The changing menu covers a number of classic Italian dishes all superbly executed and is complemented by the fish of the day and a fish & seafood platter all made with fresh local produce and occasionally supplemented by treats - an excellent prosciutto on one visit or truffles (which, when served in a risotto, my sister described as "heaven on a plate"). We still haven't done lunch but we have no doubt that it will be excellent when we do - if you have any doubts google Tam Cowan's review for the Daily Record. The wine list is good too - I recommend trying some of the lesser known wines - a revelation that explains why Italy keeps most of the good stuff for home consumption.

In short then - a truly classy restaurant, serving excellent food (the veal last night was perfect) and with first class service. One last thing - it was packed last night (Saturday) and often is on popular nights. We have also dined there on quieter nights and enjoyed that too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank panda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So young and so talented a chef...”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Sheers class Italian fair honest to its roots yet refined with a really young but proper chef wafer thin pasta, simple ingredients served with panache and fun from Angelo if we ever return to north Berwick this is the place to go folks it's the business ....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scousemelloman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visit to North Berwick”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good food and good value. Didn't warm up at table in front of window (possibly due to very cold day - 22nd March 2013). Staff very polite - feeling a bit uncomfortable at times as only 3 tables of two occupied at the time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria also viewed

North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
North Berwick, East Lothian
 
North Berwick, East Lothian
 

Been to Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing