We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only good thing was we got our money back”
Review of The County Hotel

The County Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #25 of 27 North Berwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We paid £70 for bed and breakfast which was a reduction from £90 and were shown to a room on the second floor but before reaching this we could smell stale fat and curry from the kitchen which permeated every inch of the place. On standing in the twin bed Loch Lomond room there was a faint whiff of urine and the shower room floor was wet. We asked to be moved into a better room but were shown something smaller with black stains on one of the pillowcases and a dubious damp looking patch on the ceiling. My partner said he had stopped in better B&B's which were tailor made for builders working away! We were extremely tired and drained after a 5 hr journey and funeral earlier in the day and this was the final straw. The stench of food was overpowering and I was glad that we got our money refunded and left. And twenty minutes later were walking into the most beautiful room at the Nether Abbey Hotel (reviewed) for yes, you guessed it - £70!!!!!

Room Tip: Unless you want very cheap avoid.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jorainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for The County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 77 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

One thing is hard to find in North Berwick: parking. Finally we did, and we arrived this place from the backyard. Two drunk but friendly men guided us into the bar. The friendly owner gave us a room that was ok. A bit noisy, but singing and happy people is not the worst thing to listen to. Breakfast ok. Quite cheap and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hubro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the 2nd year we have stayed at the County hotel, we stayed from 16th August till Sunday 19th and have already booked again for next year, the hosts Ian and Irene are a great couple and looked after us nothing was too much trouble.

Rooms were spotless and comfortable, and after a days golf Stevie the chef made us the best ribeye steak I have ever tasted along with loads of chips and veg. We were made very welcome by the locals and had a great time in the bar at night, playing pool and darts and got up in the morning for a very large well cooked breakfast.

All in all cant wait to go back next year three days golf, great food, fanstastic company and a comfy bed for the night, well done Ian and Irene you are a great credit to your hotel and will you thank all your lovely staff along with the chef who served us so well.

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice and clean, if you are getting on a bit ask for a lower down room as there a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We ate here once during our stay in North Berwick. The food is average. The tandoori sauce doesn't taste homemade but more like something you buy in grocery stores. My boyfriend had the sirloin dish and he also thought this was average. It didn't taste bad, but it was nothing special about it.

The portions though are huge!! So if you're really hungry, if you want a lot of food for your money or if you usually don't taste the difference between food on a can and food made by a talented chef - then you should definitely eat here!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank iselinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

1 block to the beach. Great breakfast. Kids were free in a great room with bunk beds.

The bathroom was newly renovated. It was my best shower in Scotland.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank jerkjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just had a meal at 5.30pm, don't be fooled by the two course special in the window to entice you in, it is a con! When you sit down the waiter/manager rapidly takes your drinks order, I now know why - he tells us that the two course special is for pensioners only! Yet this wasn't stated on the window, as we ha ordered drinks we felt obliged to stay. Ironically, I wish the food were served as quick as the drinks, but we waited ages. Just before the food order arrived another family arrived and sat down and asked about the special and were treated the sam way - drinks delivered and told special was for pensioners only!!! The meals were ok, but overpriced, kids cordial drink was 1part cordial to 1000part water. The connecting bar was very loud with a karaoke going on and some loud swearing to add to the mix. The restaurant could do with a revamp, damaged laminate with a yellow warning cone in the middle of the room and paint/paper peeling of the walls. I feel as if I have just been conned by this restaurant and will never return - I leave it up to you!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We visited this hotel on a Sunday at 4pm for a late lunch. While the food was quite nice we had to wait 45 minutes (!!!) for it and the barman was not prepared to give any kind of discount, or even apologise for this. He said we had been informed that there would be a long wait (which we hadn't) and that 45 minutes was how long it took to cook the burgers!!! Due to the very long wait and the attitude of the barman when we said we were unhappy, I would not go back again or recommend this place to other people... unless you are in no hurry for your food!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Berwick
0.4 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
318 reviews
7.6 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
246 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Address: 17 High Street, North Berwick EH39 4HH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > North Berwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Berwick
Price Range: $62 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Heart of North Berwick, The County Hotel is a fantastic place to stay when visiting the area. With its 10 bedrooms it is large enough to accomodate groups but small enough to maintain it's friendly traditional seaside hotel style atmosphere. We think you will love it here as many of our guests return. The locals also frequent the bar and restaurant areas contributing to the hotels friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel North Berwick, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing