We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage.”
other travelers have booked this property
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard
Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Comfy leather suite added April 2018
Dining area
Cosy evenings with the woodburner
Roaring fire for those cold evenings!
Linen and towels included
Beach hut deatils - double room
Twin bedroom overlooking the garden - can be configured as a double
Looks inviting
Well equipped kitchen with lots of little extras
Welcome tray - all part of the service
Summer house - ideal for Spring and Autumn breaks
Bathroom with over- bath shower
Garden looking back towards the summer house and cottage
Country garden
Holkham Beach - just a few miles from Wells. Great for walks, riding, kite flying, zorbing!
A stone's throw from the Quay
Wells beach - nothing quite like it and in easy reach from cottage
Greylag Cottage is only a stone's throw from Wells quay
Beach huts on Wells beach
Holkham Hall - great day out with something for everyone
It's Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt G
Haughley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage. ”
Reviewed February 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Had a short stay at this well equipped cottage in the centre of Wells. It had everything we needed from games and DVD’s on the cold nights to a good central heating system to keep warm. And an extra set of binoculars for bird watching.
Very impressed by the cottage on the hole but the only critique I would give is that some more thought needs to go into the sofa / seating available in the living room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 7, 2018
Hi Matt. Thanks for your comments about your stay and glad to hear that overall you had a good time. Re the seating in the lounge, I'm well and truly on it! I replaced a suite that I've had for the last five years back end of last year and, safe to say, it's not gone down well! I am actively hunting around for a suitable 'small' but comfortable suite for the cottage as I know that what's in there now isn't the most comfy. It's not that easy to find the right size with the comfort that one would like but am determined! Many late night searches on line. I hope however that this didn't have too much of an adverse impact on your stay. Please do come back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stowellwa...
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, cosy cottage, even in the coldest weather, that is well placed for coast lovers.”
Reviewed December 13, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

My twitcher son and I had a lovely extended weekend here. The weather was very cold but we were so happy to return from being blown away on the beaches of North Norfolk to the warmth of the log burner. We decided to cater for ourselves in the evening and found the cottage well equipped. Also local produce was exceptional from the shops in Wells - a close stroll away. The beds were comfortable, which I can assure you is a difficult challenge for me. Finally my son wasn’t disappointed and clocked up over 70 bird species in 3 days, finally seeing a flock of 30 snow bunting at Salthouse beach. This made his day! Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2018
Great to hear that you managed to spot so may species of birds - brilliant! Good to hear that the cottage suited you also and that you found all you needed to cook all that fantastic local produce. Please do come back on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard N
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a great week's holiday here as a base for our walk of the North Norfolk coast. Cottage was lovely and clean and was a stone's throw from Wells quay. Super value for money too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2018
Thanks for your comments and good to hear that the cottage suited your walking holiday in Norfolk. Come back again and walk some more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2017
Hello Mark. Thanks for your great review. Pleased that you found the cottage good for your family - Wells is such a great place to visit with young children and so easy if you don't want to trek for miles. Would be very happy to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
honestrev...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely stay at Greylag, the cottage is well kept, beautifully furnished and is equipped with everything you need. Short walk to the harbour and walkable to the beach (or you can park right by the beach if you don't fancy the walk). We found parking either on the road or in the nearby carpark to be fine during our stay and the car could always be parked close by. We really enjoy our holidays in Wells-next-the-Sea and would stay at this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Many thanks for your comments and pleased that you found Greylag met your holiday needs in Wells. I would love to welcome you back on another occasion. Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdandnjh
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Cosy”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Easily accessible on road to Quay with it's shops and restaurants and beautiful walks. The Cafe just up the road provided a great packed lunch and good value. It was a small but perfectly formed cottage which was very comfortable. So clean and everything we needed was there. A downstairs bathroom, bit of a bind in the middle of the night, but that's giving away our age!
We were there for a birdwatching break and Barn Owl from the bedroom window was brilliant. For birders its a great location on the North Norfolk coast and lots of walks for those those who just prefer to ramble or explore the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks for your review of the Cottage and so pleased that you found you had everything you needed. Yes, I agree that the downstairs bathroom is a bit of a bind, which also gives away my age! The barn owl has been resident in the fields at the back for years and we often see him which is rather lovely. Hope to welcome you back at some point. Many thanks again your positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas at Greylag”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our two weeks in Greylag. Everything we needed was there. Kitchen was well equipped. warm and cosy. Even Christmas Tree and Decorations, very festive. Thanks a million Jessica. We both loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Happy New Year to you! So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Greylag Cottage over Christmas. I love making it all festive and it looks so cosy and Christmassy. Please come and stay again any time. Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing