We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location!”
other travelers have booked this property
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard
Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Comfy leather suite added April 2018
Dining area
Cosy evenings with the woodburner
Roaring fire for those cold evenings!
Linen and towels included
Beach hut deatils - double room
Twin bedroom overlooking the garden - can be configured as a double
Looks inviting
Well equipped kitchen with lots of little extras
Welcome tray - all part of the service
Summer house - ideal for Spring and Autumn breaks
Bathroom with over- bath shower
Garden looking back towards the summer house and cottage
Country garden
Holkham Beach - just a few miles from Wells. Great for walks, riding, kite flying, zorbing!
A stone's throw from the Quay
Wells beach - nothing quite like it and in easy reach from cottage
Greylag Cottage is only a stone's throw from Wells quay
Beach huts on Wells beach
Holkham Hall - great day out with something for everyone
It's Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
honestrev...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location!”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely stay at Greylag, the cottage is well kept, beautifully furnished and is equipped with everything you need. Short walk to the harbour and walkable to the beach (or you can park right by the beach if you don't fancy the walk). We found parking either on the road or in the nearby carpark to be fine during our stay and the car could always be parked close by. We really enjoy our holidays in Wells-next-the-Sea and would stay at this property again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2017
Many thanks for your comments and pleased that you found Greylag met your holiday needs in Wells. I would love to welcome you back on another occasion. Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdandnjh
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Cosy”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Easily accessible on road to Quay with it's shops and restaurants and beautiful walks. The Cafe just up the road provided a great packed lunch and good value. It was a small but perfectly formed cottage which was very comfortable. So clean and everything we needed was there. A downstairs bathroom, bit of a bind in the middle of the night, but that's giving away our age!
We were there for a birdwatching break and Barn Owl from the bedroom window was brilliant. For birders its a great location on the North Norfolk coast and lots of walks for those those who just prefer to ramble or explore the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Thanks for your review of the Cottage and so pleased that you found you had everything you needed. Yes, I agree that the downstairs bathroom is a bit of a bind, which also gives away my age! The barn owl has been resident in the fields at the back for years and we often see him which is rather lovely. Hope to welcome you back at some point. Many thanks again your positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas at Greylag”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our two weeks in Greylag. Everything we needed was there. Kitchen was well equipped. warm and cosy. Even Christmas Tree and Decorations, very festive. Thanks a million Jessica. We both loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2017
Happy New Year to you! So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Greylag Cottage over Christmas. I love making it all festive and it looks so cosy and Christmassy. Please come and stay again any time. Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie R
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wells in sunshine”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable well equipped cottage in a convenient position. We had anticipated parking issues but there was always a space nearby. Loved the summer house great place for a candle lit meal! Weather fabulous and walking superb.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The summerhouse
Liked least: hard floors
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Glad you find the cottage met your needs and enjoyed the summer house. Thanks too for comments re parking as I know guests do get worried in the high season about finding a parking place so good to know you didn't have a problem. We certainly never do when we go up. I hope we can welcome you on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
david6055
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greylag Cottage”
Reviewed September 11, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and property which included everything you need for self catering. Booking and contact with the owner was a very easy experience. Nice garden including a patio and summer house, we only used the patio though as the weather was fantastic. The property was very clean and well run. The information books provided were exceptional and included all you need to know about the appliances, local tourist information and more. This was our first visit to the area and will not be the last. Only down side is we had to come back to go back to work. We would definitely recommend Greylag cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Greylag Cottage. Glad that you found the cottage clean with good instructions. The information booklets are designed to meet Visit England criteria which are pretty strict so it's good to know that all the effort is worthwhile. Always great to get a recommendation so thank you for that and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Greylag Cottage on another occasion. Even if you don't stay with us again, I'm sure you'll be back to North Norfolk - who can resist it?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LittleMis...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything we needed in a top location”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely little cottage which had everything we needed to enjoy our first holiday with a toddler and a baby! Very clean and tidy.
The owner, Jessica, was very helpful and prompt with any questions I had leading up to our stay.
Location was brilliant. Near the harbour/shops. Still bought a weekly parking ticket for the beach as easier with children - but had a beach hut (The Den) that we highly recommend too!
Personal reasons for not giving 5 stars: the living room was a little small for four of us plus it was hard to put a pram anywhere. Sometimes we couldn't get parked nearby, but we expected this and we got by! Cottage felt a little 'damp' and clothes took ages to dry when hung inside, but I assume this is due to being near the sea!
But all in all a lovely stay and would recommend!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Hi Caroline and thanks for your review. Always good to get praise but also let people know where things aren't always perfect Parking can be a bit of an issue in the summer but I hope that the alternatives that I sent were helpful. When I had a pushchair etc up there I used to use the acove under the stairs but can imagine it would be tight with a pram. i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we can welcome you on another occasion. Jessica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobeyles
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was our second holiday at Greylag Cottage.
A lovely cottage with absolutely every holiday requirement provided.
Good position close to the quay & town centre.
Parking can be a problem, but we managed. and were particularly
impressed by the Coast Hopper bus service ' on the doorstep' which
gave me a rest from driving.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Thanks for reviewing your second stay at Greylag and very pleaed that your stay was good. Some people can find parking a problem, particularly at the weekends when Wells is very busy. I hope that the alternatives that I provided were helpful. Good to know that the Coast Hopper is useful - I must try it sometime. Thanks again and hope to see you next year....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing