We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage, great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Greylag Cottage - traditional listed 1825 flint cottage
Traditional flint cottage refurbished to a high standard
Cosy sitting room with TV / DVD, Wood burner, Wireless broadband
Comfy leather suite added April 2018
Dining area
Cosy evenings with the woodburner
Roaring fire for those cold evenings!
Linen and towels included
Beach hut deatils - double room
Twin bedroom overlooking the garden - can be configured as a double
Looks inviting
Well equipped kitchen with lots of little extras
Welcome tray - all part of the service
Summer house - ideal for Spring and Autumn breaks
Bathroom with over- bath shower
Garden looking back towards the summer house and cottage
Country garden
Holkham Beach - just a few miles from Wells. Great for walks, riding, kite flying, zorbing!
A stone's throw from the Quay
Wells beach - nothing quite like it and in easy reach from cottage
Greylag Cottage is only a stone's throw from Wells quay
Beach huts on Wells beach
Holkham Hall - great day out with something for everyone
It's Christmas!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David_dpc
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the cottage perfect for us. Great location close to the village centre so easy to walk in for the croissants and pick up the paper in the morning! Lovely rear garden overlooking the marshes and a super summer house to relax, browse the paper, read a book and have the occasional meal. The water softener much appreciated by us northerners!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Summer house
Liked least: Dining area was a bit cramped - OK for three of us
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments about Greylag Cottage and sorry not to reply earlier! I hope that I will be able to welcome you on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grumpygra...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Found it to be just as described, a true home from home. If you want to prepare a meal it's all there.
It's just off the main quay about 150/ 200 metres away. An ideal location.
Towels are provided.
If you arrive early in the morning or any morning you can park your car directly opposite as no restrictions. We left ours there all week and used the coast hopper whose bus stop is 50 m away.
Lots of walking all accessed by the buses in both directions every 30 minutes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage and really pleased to hear that you liked it! Good to hear that you found the kitchen well equipped - I try to stock it with utensils etc that I might use when I am up at the cottage and add the extras as they are suggested by guests. Most recently added at the suggestion of keen cooks, some kitchen scales! Also good to hear that the Coast Hopper bus was useful and I am sure other guests will find that useful to know so thanks for that.

I do hope that we'll see you again next year!

Jessica, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonix2015
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Staying at Greylag was a superb experience in every way. The tastefully furnished cottage is in a great location, and has been very generously equipped. We very much appreciated the quantity of elegant crockery and cutlery. Having stayed in many holiday cottages over the years, I have never found one with such attention to detail, even providing batteries and string!
Wells is a wonderful base for the beautiful North Norfolk coast, with great walking from the door a delightful old fashioned high street of shops and good places to eat. We will be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the the time to review Greylag Cottage and for your kind comments. It's really good to know that the little extras are appreciated. I always base things on what I'd like to find in somewhere that I stay with my own family and, to me, Greylag is my home from home. Only difference is that Greylag has a dishwasher and I don't! Your also right about the position of the cottage being good for exploring locally. There really is such a lot on the doorstep and you can do an awful lot without driving for miles. I hope that I can welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bob w
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“warm and well equipped cottage”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When we arrived at Greylag cottage it was freezing cold February day,but as we opened the front door we were greeted by a house that was warm through out.The cottage was clean and well equipped,right down to matches and fire lighters for the log burner.Walk on the beach to Holkham village and have coffee and cake at The Vic.Eat and drink at The Golden Fleece on the harbour.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Greylag Cottage and for your kind words. You certainly needed the wood burner so I am glad that you were able to make use of it. I hope to be able to welcome you back to the cottage on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
touristSh...
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

very lovely cottage in fantastic location
Spotless, very well equipped with lots of lovely touches including welcome pack, wine biscuits, milk, tea coffee and chocs! Very welcoming.
Cosy in winter
Beds comfortable, singles a bit narrow but no problem
Bathroom downstairs
Would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 5, 2015
Happy New Year to you! Many thanks for taking time to write a review of Greylag Cottage. I'm so pleased that you like the cottage and particularly pleased to hear that you found it spotless. Yes, the beds in the twin room are 2 foot 6 inches which can feel a bit narrow but I hope this didn't mar your stay. I hope you enjoyed your New Year celebrations and look forward to welcoming you back to Greylag Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattRyder
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely retreat”
Reviewed December 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful littlw cottage in a fantastic location near the harbour and the lovely restaurants!! Cottage was so clean and well equipped and the log burner was lovely on a cold night. Thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone who wants to get away for a while.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2014
Thanks so much for your review. I'm so pleased that you liked the cottage and particularly pleased to hear that it was clean - my new lady who looks after the place will be very pleased! I hope that I can welcome you to Greylag Cottage on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted6667
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cosy cottage”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I enjoyed a week in Wells, made much more enjoyable by this excellent base.
The cottage had everything we needed; it is really well equipped, the bed was very comfortable and ithe whole places is spotlessly clean. We also made good use of the garden, which was a perfect place to relax and read after a good walk. As the weather was good we never needed to use the wood burner, which was a disappointment in a way.
The harbour is only a short walk away and the excellent Crab house cafe even nearer.
All in all we would be very happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall charm of the cottage
Liked least: Bathroom downstairs but this did not really bother us
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2014
Many thanks for your review of Greylag Cottage. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Wells and that the cottage met your holiday needs. I hope to be able to welcome you back on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing