We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location great, comfortable, but lighting very...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
34 reviews
View from the windows
The Old Whelk House
Kitchen
Courtyard
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosemary...
2 reviews
“Location great, comfortable, but lighting very poor- very dark & dismal in the evenings”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Old Whelk house is an upside down house (the bedroom and bathroom downstairs and
the kitchen and living room upstairs) which we liked. The house is well equiped, albeit with
odd crockery and cutlery. All the walls upstairs are red brick and the ceiling and floor dark wood, making it quite dismal especially in the evening. The lighting is so poor we could not read and preparing food in the evening was not good. This was a problem for us and will be much worse in October onwards. Luckily the weather wasn't too bad for us, but the day it
rained all day we could have done with good lighting!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2016
Thanks for your review. I'm very sorry you found the lighting poor upstairs. We are hoping to refurbish upstairs this winter and will look at improving the lighting then, in the meantime adding some higher wattage bulbs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venture62...
1 review
“Perfect location”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Old Whelk House is in the perfect location, from sun rise to sunset with the ebb and flow of the tide the views are ever changing.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the house was equipped with everything we needed. and ideally situated for walks along the Norfolk coastal path. Would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thanks for such a lovely review. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julietdaw...
Harlow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Return visit ... still excellent”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My daughter has just had her second holiday in this upside down house and as soon as she walked through the door she said "I feel like I have come home again" ... says it all really, except our home does not have such amazing views of the harbour! It is quiet, but less than a 2 minute walk from Staithe Street. It also includes parking which is a pleasant walk away.
This is one of Well-next-the-seas best kept secrets, such a lovely little place! I would recommend to anyone who is OK with the lounge being upstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches, the view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thanks for such a great review. Glad you all had a good holiday. Welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and stunning views”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We really enjoyed the week we spent here recently. The views from the living room window out over the harbour were fantastic and we appreciated the binoculars for looking closer at the wildlife. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable and was a perfect base for us. The location was so peaceful even though there are shops with all you need nearby. There's a lovely walk from the harbour along the sea wall to Wells beach and the pinewoods.

We enjoyed some great meals in the cafes and restaurants in Wells including the Albatros (a Dutch sailing ship moored permanently in the harbour). We also explored further afield including Holkham Hall which was really interesting and the Crab and Lobster Festival in Sheringham and Cromer. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return ourselves.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinky9
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views good location”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed our recent stay at tha Old Whelk House. Great views . The bedroom and bathroom were very modern and very clean. The lounge upstairs had a rustic charm and the kitchen very well equipped. The house is in a very good location and the parking area that was a short walk away was handy as there are restrictions all along the quay. Would recommend The Old Whek house to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william d
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Old Whelk House suited my wife and I perfectly, being clean and compact with a combined lounge/dining area/ (well equipped) galley kitchen upstairs and a large bedroom, bathroom with shower and entrance hall downstairs. It might also comfortably accommodate 2 children, but could be a squeeze for more than a family of 4. There are some nice extra touches including maps, guides, binoculars (2) and a telescope for viewing boats in the harbour (only yards away) and the salt-marshes beyond.
Parking was 5 minutes walk along the quay (not a problem in good weather and offering fine views). The fishermen who sometimes blocked the gates to the private parking were friendly and helpful. A wide variety of local shops (including a NISA) and restaurants were a very short walk away on The Quay or along Staithe St.. There was a Co-op supermarket closer to the A149. The coastal walking in the area is excellent and the coast path runs along the quay. Several outstanding nature reserves/walks such as Holkham (amazing expanse of beach), Titchwell and Cley can be reached easily by car or the quite frequent Coasthopper bus service. The property and location are recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Older Cooker
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. Glad you enjoyed it and welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila A
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal property in exceptional location”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the OWH. The facilities were excellent. New bathroom and refurbished bedroom are splendid. For us the view from upstairs lounge is awesome looking over the quay, down to the lifeboat buildings to the left and along the creek to the right. With a selection of feeding birds at low tide - perfect way to start the day. The property provides all you need for a comfortable stay, including a good selection of books (to help identify those birds). We were able to park outside the property on the quay at this time of year, but during the summer months having the private parking just up the road would be a real bonusl.

Wells is an ideal place to reach many lovely spots on the coast and inland. This trip we visited Felbrigg Manor, nr Holt which was lovely. Holt itself is worth a visit. Walks along to Stiffkey and beyond are wonderful along the creek. Alternatively the walk down to the beautiful beach offers a beach walk, or through the pine wood, to Holkam Hall.

Some decent pubs and restaurants in the town, or surrounding villages before "home" to the Whelk House for a good nights sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Home comforts
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thanks Sheila for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing