We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and stunning views”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
View from the windows
The Old Whelk House
Kitchen
Courtyard
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane B
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and stunning views”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We really enjoyed the week we spent here recently. The views from the living room window out over the harbour were fantastic and we appreciated the binoculars for looking closer at the wildlife. The cottage was well equipped, clean and comfortable and was a perfect base for us. The location was so peaceful even though there are shops with all you need nearby. There's a lovely walk from the harbour along the sea wall to Wells beach and the pinewoods.

We enjoyed some great meals in the cafes and restaurants in Wells including the Albatros (a Dutch sailing ship moored permanently in the harbour). We also explored further afield including Holkham Hall which was really interesting and the Crab and Lobster Festival in Sheringham and Cromer. We would definitely recommend it and hope to return ourselves.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. Welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinky9
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views good location”
Reviewed May 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed our recent stay at tha Old Whelk House. Great views . The bedroom and bathroom were very modern and very clean. The lounge upstairs had a rustic charm and the kitchen very well equipped. The house is in a very good location and the parking area that was a short walk away was handy as there are restrictions all along the quay. Would recommend The Old Whek house to anyone.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
william d
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Old Whelk House suited my wife and I perfectly, being clean and compact with a combined lounge/dining area/ (well equipped) galley kitchen upstairs and a large bedroom, bathroom with shower and entrance hall downstairs. It might also comfortably accommodate 2 children, but could be a squeeze for more than a family of 4. There are some nice extra touches including maps, guides, binoculars (2) and a telescope for viewing boats in the harbour (only yards away) and the salt-marshes beyond.
Parking was 5 minutes walk along the quay (not a problem in good weather and offering fine views). The fishermen who sometimes blocked the gates to the private parking were friendly and helpful. A wide variety of local shops (including a NISA) and restaurants were a very short walk away on The Quay or along Staithe St.. There was a Co-op supermarket closer to the A149. The coastal walking in the area is excellent and the coast path runs along the quay. Several outstanding nature reserves/walks such as Holkham (amazing expanse of beach), Titchwell and Cley can be reached easily by car or the quite frequent Coasthopper bus service. The property and location are recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Older Cooker
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. Glad you enjoyed it and welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila A
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal property in exceptional location”
Reviewed March 5, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the OWH. The facilities were excellent. New bathroom and refurbished bedroom are splendid. For us the view from upstairs lounge is awesome looking over the quay, down to the lifeboat buildings to the left and along the creek to the right. With a selection of feeding birds at low tide - perfect way to start the day. The property provides all you need for a comfortable stay, including a good selection of books (to help identify those birds). We were able to park outside the property on the quay at this time of year, but during the summer months having the private parking just up the road would be a real bonusl.

Wells is an ideal place to reach many lovely spots on the coast and inland. This trip we visited Felbrigg Manor, nr Holt which was lovely. Holt itself is worth a visit. Walks along to Stiffkey and beyond are wonderful along the creek. Alternatively the walk down to the beautiful beach offers a beach walk, or through the pine wood, to Holkam Hall.

Some decent pubs and restaurants in the town, or surrounding villages before "home" to the Whelk House for a good nights sleep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Home comforts
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2016
Thanks Sheila for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcurr...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A delightful holiday cottage”
Reviewed February 12, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We found the Old Whelk House in the dark after a 5 1/2 hour drive. Bernie's first words were "It's delightful". The interior was clean, comfortable and welcoming and in the morning the view from the upstairs living area was one to die for! The open fire was great in the chilly February evenings and there are quality food shops within a short walk from the house. The residents and traders in Wells all seemed so friendly and we really felt as if we were home from home. We were also blessed with sunny if cold weather for most of the week, although one day was just a bit too much so we stayed in! But it was lovely to be in the warm watching the cold outside and just looking at the ever changing view. I cannot too strongly recommend this holiday letting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic view.
Liked least: Could have done with brighter kitchen lighting
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thank you very much for writing this great review. Good point about the lighting in the kitchen, we hope to re-furbish upstairs at the end of this season. We would of course be very pleased to welcome you back to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicbapro
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family, stunning view, lovely touches to the accomodation.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just back from an awesome weekend in Wells next the Sea for our anniversary. Having been visiting Wells at least once a year since we met 15 years ago we have seen many changes to the little town and seaside resort as well as in our lives. We now have a 1 year old and 5 year old and camping in October is no longer a good option (not that pinewoods really offers camping anymore!) This cottage was just perfect for us with the beautiful views, amazing location, friendly feel and homely details throughout. If we are fortunate enough to find it free again we will be booking this as a regular haunt.

Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, personal touches
Liked least: No wifi, although also liked this in some ways!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review. Much appreciated. Welcome back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing