We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”
Review of Arch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells-next-the-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arch House
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited over Easter. Nice room, very clean with views over fields. Breakfast is ordered night before - nice ,bright breakfast room and brekkie itself was great. Good private parking. Very peaceful. Only minor gripe was the noisy sani-flo system on the toilet which seemed to go off at random times. Would definitely recommend .

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle-Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    70
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
143
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Arch House while we were working at Burnham Horse Trials. Kate's father greeted us and made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and a TV. We had very early starts so Kate's father made sure suitable breakfasts were left for us which was very kind and much appreciated as we didn't expect it.

It's not far to walk into Wells for evening meals so the hotel is pretty convenient from that point of view too.

I would recommend the Arch House, loved the ambience and the friendliness. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden room which suited us well, you may want a bigger room if you are staying longe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Arch House, Easter weekend. Kate was there on arrival, who was very polite and welcoming. The room was tidy and clean with plenty of tea/coffee making facilitites. The bathroom though small, was also very clean. Bed was comfortable, but very squeeky!! The location was excellent for amenities (within 5 min walk to the nearest pub)!! Reviews had stated the breakfast was amazing, so we did have high expectations, unfortunately was disappointed (very average full English breakfast). However, would definitely stay at the Arch House again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed last Friday/Saturday nights. Shown first floor double bed 'King Room' steep stairs very narrow corridor. Told Kate I had booked twin and I have just confirmed my lap top says twin. Anyway we secured twin room on ground floor. Loo/shower very small and toilet disposal system very noisy. Breakfast ok but not happy picking menu night before.. Situation good for amenities but overall not impressed and feel £85 per night on the high side for early April Would not stay again

Room Tip: I suspect garden rooms may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250peegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We chose this hotel as we were looking for a base where we could walk to the pub in the evening, but could explore the east coast and birdwatch during the day. Our room was a garden room, which opened out on to a patio area. This would be great in the warmer weather for sitting with a glass of wine. The room was compact, with great use of space to provide storage and an en-suite. It was clean, furnished in a contemporary style, and very tidy. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room, and a very good breakfast menu. There is parking on-site. We stayed for two nights, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0ffee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Arch House for 2 nights for a short escape. My husband and I both love bird watching, so we were pleasantly surprised by Arch House's great location - inbetween several reserves, next door to holkham & with easy access to the CoastHopper bus, stopping right outside the front door!
We did bring our car, but we felt safe enough to leave it in the large car park tucked away at the back of the building while we made the most of the bus.
Anyway! Upon arrival we were greeted by Patrick, the owner's father, who showed us to 'his favourite room in the house' ...is that every room, Patrick? ;) What a charming man he is! Full of interesting info about the beautiful old building.
We soon settled in to our lovely room. Tastefully decorated and not over swamped by large furniture. The ensuite was petite, but exactly what I would expect for a bed and breakfast, and immaculately cleaned.
We were in the old part of the house and had bruit full views of countryside and grazing horses.
We filled in our order for breakfast the night before, which meant we were very excited in the morning knowing what was on its way! Made by Kate & served by the lovely Kathy. Best breakfast in England, hands down. We opted for the lighter salmon Benedict on our second morning. Kate you really know your stuff! I will be putting your egg poaching advice into action!
All in all a real gem - family run and friendly, but not overbearing. Nothing is too much bother and we left feeling like we had made friends. We will be back! Let's just hope that Sea Eagle we saw sticks around too!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taramasalata77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped here overnight while walking the Norfolk Coastal path.
The Arch house is a very nice, clean and tidy B&B, the room we had was one of the ground floor rooms out in the garden. Well equipped with all the amenties that two tired walkers need after a long day on the trail. Breakfast was more than sufficient for us.

Aside from the fact that the arch house is on the edge of town, this is a great B&B that we would use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marky_Potton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
664 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,287 reviews
9.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#11 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage BandB
Anchorage BandB
#4 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch House

Property: Arch House
Address: 50 Mill Road, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arch House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arch House is a distinguished Georgian home, just a five minute walk from the centre of Wells-next-the-Sea and it's bustling fishing Quay and a mile from the stunning Holkham Estate and the Norfolk Coastal Path. Large free car park. We have ground floor rooms for reduced mobility, a family suite, and a guest garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arch House Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Arch House Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing