We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end break”
Review of Arch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells-next-the-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arch House
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“week end break”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

a very nice place to stay ,room clean and comfortable, staff pleasant and helpfull ,nice location for the town or beach ,good breakfast menu .will stay again ,as wells-next-the-sea is our favourrite east coast town

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickandgill37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    68
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
29
136
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Got a good welcome to the b and B. Stayed in the 4 poster room which was well decorated and fine for our 2 night stay. We filled in the breakfast form the night before which is usual practice in a band b. I do not mind this at all as it makes it much easier to give a time and selection and then get on our way. It cuts out waiting and helps make breakfast efficient. We always like to eat early at 8 and we were accommodated no problem. The room had the largest flat screen tv on the national trail that we walked, it was very much appreciated. I hate to get tvs that are so small that the subtitles cover the picture. So well done Arch House. It is only a short walk to the pubs and restaurants in Wells so very convenient and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codicote, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We chose Arch House for a long weekend in WellsNTSea based on reviews on this fine website. Once again they were fairly accurate & my opinion of Arch House will pretty much echo them.

WellsNTSea had been recommended to us by several friends/family for a weekend visit & it didn't disappoint; plenty of good walks, some great coastal scenery & several tourist places to visit all on your door step.

Moving on to Arch House, the B&B was located on the 'edge' of town, but this was only 10 minutes walk to the harbour quayside and more importantly only about 5 minutes walk to the Buttlands, the location of a couple of pub restaurants. The property has a good car park which leads in to a pleasant courtyard at the rear. Our room was was located in a newish annex also at the rear of the main older building. It was clean, nicely decorated with all the usual B&B facilities, but a bit on the small side, especially the bathroom. Some additional wardrobe/drawer space would have also been welcome. The morning breakfast was good, but the B&B operated a strange rule of filling in a small form the night before, detailing your breakfast requirements from the menu & time you were expecting to appear.

So to sum up, a fairly good B&B, reasonable value for money; I've been over generous and given it 4 stars - it was certainly better than 3 stars so I think 3 1/2 would be more accurate - there was definitely a few areas that 'let' it down. But for a long weekend, yeah, this would still be a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trueblue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

First time in a B&B and thankfully arch house made it a good one, very pleased we got the new accommodation as this made it feel less like staying in someone's house, I appreciate people's comments on noise in the new build however if you stayed in a B&B surely you would expect this?! The noise levels didn't concern us as the room was clean and warm and had a nice comfortable bed the en suite small but adequate again what else do you expect from a B&B it's NOT a hotel! I love wells and anyone else who does appreciates how expensive it has become from meals and drinks to saying in a caravan or a tent on pinewoods therefore I think arch house is priced accordingly! If you want a clean room, excellent breakfast, 2 mins from the green with out the cost of a hotel then arch house is a must, will be booking for 2014 pirates week :) Sophie and lee (young couple)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelsarekind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our second visit to Arch House and had a two night stay for the Wells Carnival weekend.
We find Arch house a lovely place to stay as it is very well looked after and the decorating is excellent. The room we had was very nice and had everything we needed, also very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast choice was again excellent and I like the idea of choice before the morning so they can prepare the breakfast needs in advance.
Kate and the staff are also very friendly and and everything was there for our needs.
We will be coming back for the Wells carnival 2014 and will recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here with friends for a weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and booked the 4 'garden rooms' which open out onto the deck/garden, each having a small table and 2 chairs outside.

We were greeted by Patrick who was very welcoming. Our room (room 4) had a 4 poster bed and was very nicely decorated with a small en-suite shower room. The only minor criticisms were that the mattress was extremely soft (not to our taste but appreciate that everyone is different) and it would have been nice to have bottles of drinking water in the room on arrival.

The breakfasts are great - including vegetarian options (you are asked to pre-order the day before which felt a little regimented but I understand why this might help the kitchen).

The B&B is about a 5 minute walk to the town and quay, and has the bonus of off road parking.

We enjoyed our stay, the only thing that I would say let it down slightly was that hospitality was a little lacking. If you are looking for a base to come and go then it very much ticks that box.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyW71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently have had a two night stay in Arch house and we found it very pleasant indeed. Our room was very clean and comfortable and everything in it we needed, breakfast was delicious and there is a very good choice. Kate and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay in a very good location, and we will be returning again at some point in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
9.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage BandB
Anchorage BandB
#5 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#13 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch House

Property: Arch House
Address: 50 Mill Road, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arch House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arch House is a distinguished Georgian home, just a five minute walk from the centre of Wells-next-the-Sea and it's bustling fishing Quay and a mile from the stunning Holkham Estate and the Norfolk Coastal Path. Large free car park. We have ground floor rooms for reduced mobility, a family suite, and a guest garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arch House Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Arch House Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing