We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells-next-the-Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arch House
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here with my husband this weekend, as our first break away since our honeymoon earlier this year, and we weren't disappointed. Kate and her daughter Sophie were very welcoming, our garden room was beautifully decorated, warm, very clean and inviting. Really comfy bed, and a the quiet room made for a great nights sleep. Lots of advise on the local area from Sophie and Kate which was great. Breakfast was delicious and the choice is greater than most B&Bs I know - fresh, local produce too! Really recommend Arch House for anyone looking for a friendly, presentable B&B for a break in Wells. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Sara,

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Arch House. We're delighted to hear that you had a comfortable night, and thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast!
We're thrilled you decided to visit us following your honeymoon and hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks for your feedback,

Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    63
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
25
132
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have just spent an overnight stay at Arch House, in one of the Garden rooms. We arrived early and were told that our room was nearly ready and we could leave both our luggage and car. Easy walking distance to the town. We were met by Kate's daughter, who introduced herself, very pleasant and attentive and informative about the area. The room was lovely, clean and the garden furniture that goes with the garden rooms is very welcome, we sat outside and enjoyed a bottle of wine in the late afternoon sunshine. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, (I have stayed in 'similar size' places, that hasn't offered so much). My only complaint is the en-suite, I felt it was a little on the small side, especially the 'cloakroom size' sink, which was not ideal for face washing or my partner shaving, and although it was warm when we were there, it was a 'little nippy' in there for early morning shower, as no heat in the en-suite. All in all though a lovely overnight stay, (not convinced that I could stay for longer in this room), and thought that with the £12 single night supplement, it made this room a little pricey in comparison, to others we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Avoid the room (No. 3) with the iron bed if you are a light sleeper. This has a loud creak, even wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deni34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the garden room you stayed in, and were able to make the most of our outside area. Thank you for you comments about breakfast also.

We took over Arch House in April this year, and have been working very hard to get everything up to the high standard we believe in delivering to our guests. I would like to assure you and any future guests that as part of this maintenance, we are currently installing heated towel rails to tackle any nippy early morning issues in the garden room en-suites! Keeping our guests warm is of paramount importance to us.

We were a little disappointed to see you mention the single night supplement as a negative point in your review. As I'm sure you will recall, you stayed on a Saturday night in August for one night. As we explained to you, this is an extremely busy period for the whole town, so we do not usually take a single night booking on a weekend. If we do, we charge a small supplement to cover the loss. Many other establishments will not take singe night bookings at all during the summer, and we do recall that you were pleased you had found a space with us at such short notice. We did explain the supplement at the time of booking, and you accepted and paid it, prior to your stay, so it does seem a little unfair to complain about it retrospectively.

We are sorry that the bed had a squeak. Had you of mentioned this to one of us, we would have been more than happy to nip in and tighten it up with an Allen key - in a matter of minutes - saving you a tricky night's sleep. We want our guests to have a lovely relaxing time at Arch House, but we cannot help if you do not tell us that there is a problem. We would like to assure any future guests that this minor problem has been rectified, and this extremely popular room will provide you with a peaceful stay.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and we have taken all of your comments on board, however we urge you to speak to the staff in future to rectify problems, rather than later on TripAdvisor, at which point it is too late for us to help you. After all, we are here to make your stay a pleasant one.

Thank you for your review,

Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

A wonderful quaint B and B, the owners are lovely (Kath and her daughter), rooms are immaculately clean and tidy. Bed very comfortable. The bonus of having a Garden room is nice, as gives you some outside freedom. Breakfast was amazing and cooked to order couldnt fault this little B and B at all. We will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Toni,

Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Arch House.
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the breakfast and the staff!
We're pleased you found the room comfortable and you were able to enjoy the outside space. We agree it can make quite the difference!

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review and we hope to see you again in the near future,

Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from a short stay at Arch House in wells on the sea, had a lovely stay, hotel very clean i had a garden room brilliant, bed comfy and breakfast was delicious, Kath the owner and her daughter were very kind and helpful, lots to do in the area excellent for walking, i would certainly go back,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dissapointed94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments.
We're glad you found us useful as a base for your walking, we're lucky to be in such a handy spot!
We're thrilled you enjoyed our cooked breakfast - an essential before a day of walking!

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

A delightful place to stay.Family run with friendly attentative staff. Clean, light and airy rooms, some with direct access to the decked garden area with table and chairs. Ideal when the weather is good. Off street parking with an easy walk to the centre of Wells.
Good pre-ordered breakfast (Catering well for Gluten Free) with lovely local produce.
We liked the homely feel, so have booked for next year!

Room Tip: A few rooms have restricted storeage, ideal for a long weekend or if travelling light. Suggest menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments. We're so pleased you had an enjoyable stay.
We're glad you made good use of the decking area.
Thank you for mentioning the car park. I'm sure you will have noticed that in Wells, especially in the summer, parking is an impossibility, so we are glad we can offer guests a good size car park so close to the action!
We're glad you enjoyed breakfast and it's lovely to know that as a gluten free guest, you felt well looked after. If we know people have dietary requirements before they book, we do our very best to cater to them.
Thank you for the room tip - very practical advice for any future guests, as being in such a delightful old building means we have a variety of rooms in all shapes and sizes!
We're very happy you thought of us as 'homely'. It reassures us that we are providing a comfortable stay for our guests.
We are looking forward to seeing you next year!
May thanks for your review,

Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with my partner for a last minute getaway. We had a garden room which was very nice, very quiet and nice decking and chairs outside. Rooms were good size but not spacious. Garden rooms larger than rooms in the house.

The ensuite was a shower room and quite compact, but all very clean with quality towels and toilettries.

The full English breakfast was very tasty, we even bought some of the local sausages after tasting them here.

Relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very friendly (but not over fussy like some B&B owners!) Great location, 5 mins walk to town centre and shops. Ample parking. The price was more than I expected but after a quick check, all B&Bs in Wells charge this price.

A very nice, friendly B&B. I'd recommend a garden room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane_Cambridge_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Arch House.
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your comments regarding breakfast. Our local butcher is very popular indeed when it comes to his sausages and bacon!
You are correct that the garden rooms are generally slightly larger than the rooms in the main building, with the exception of our king room which is a very good size.
Thank you for the comments regarding the staff - we definitely aim for this approach so it's nice to have some feedback on it.
We're glad the location suited you well.
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again in the future,

Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at arch house for five nights as a welcome getaway.
We stayed in a garden room - it was an absolute joy. We had a table and chairs right outside our door in the blooming decking area. Potted plants were admired greatly by my wife!
Our room was tasteful, immaculate and comfortable. We had an undisturbed nights sleep as we were at the back of the building.
Price reflected the area and the business - a perfect balance - as this is a bed and breakfast, and we have paid not much less to stay in a soulless travelodge. We've also learnt Wells is a small but bustling town - book if you intend to eat out, we were lucky enough to squeeze in at an nearby restaurant. Give the Crab House a go if you can!
Our sheets were changed, rooms tidied and I cannot vouch for the below reviewer, but our toiletries and biscuits/teas and coffees were topped up without fail daily.
All in all this is clearly a family business, but maintains a comforting air of accessible professionalism, not stuffy impersonal treatment.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate B, Manager at Arch House, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Edward,

Such lovely comments! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and any future guests know what you think.
We're glad you enjoyed the plants (Kate takes care of those).
We're glad you enjoyed the Crab House - it comes highly recommended by all of our guests that have visited.
Thank you for including useful tips in your review.
Many thanks again for taking the time to review us and leave such lovely comments.
We hope to see you very soon.
Kate and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
9.5 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchorage BandB
Anchorage BandB
#4 of 26 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#12 of 26 in Wells-next-the-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch House

Property: Arch House
Address: 50 Mill Road, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arch House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arch House is a distinguished Georgian home, just a five minute walk from the centre of Wells-next-the-Sea and it's bustling fishing Quay and a mile from the stunning Holkham Estate and the Norfolk Coastal Path. Large free car park. We have ground floor rooms for reduced mobility, a family suite, and a guest garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arch House Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
Arch House Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing