We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B with all the bells and whistles you could ask for.”
Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Globe Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I recently stayed for two nights at The Globe with my husband and small dog. The room was very small but immaculate, they do have larger and better appointed rooms but as we had a dog with us we were not able to book one of the nicer rooms unfortunately, The pub is a beautiful Georgian building overlooking a small green and boasts a comfy bar and very nice restaurant. What really makes this pale special though is the staff. They are all very young, charming and helpful. Everyone went out of their way to make us comfortable and no request was too much trouble. Thank you for making our stay so pleasurable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for this lovely review, be sure that all your comments will be passed on to the team. So happy that you enjoyed the Globe experience at its best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

What an overall disappointment the NYE function was at the Globe this year! We frequent the Globe a lot & are rarely diappointed by things. New Years Eve menu was imaginative & the food was very good & certainly up to usual high standards. The welcome when we arrived & the table presentation was great. However, the entertainment laid on for a NYE function, when a 'band' had been promised & a lively evening expected (in keeping with the special occasion) fell well short of expectations. Even some of the staff on the evening were clearly embarrased by the complete lack of atmosphere at the point at which the night should have been buzzing! We will continue to frequent the Globe to eat but what a missed & opportunity & disappointing entertainment was provided here. Many guests we spoke to on the night expressed similar feelings & a number left early - I guess to seek a more memorable end to the evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Honesty is always our policy and I have to admit that on this one occasion we got it wrong on the music front. The food, ambiance, staff and guests were great (the food exceptional, well done the kitchen team) but we chose the wrong band for the occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back again for a meal, catch one of us and lets have a talk about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have had 2 previous Christmas lunches at The Globe which were very good and decided to book agin this year, unfortunately when I rang to book they were already full, but said they may be able to fit us in the small dining room if the building refurbishment had not commenced in there. Lucky for us we were offered a table for 6 in the small dining room complete with Christmas tree. Our lunch was superb and there was plenty of it too, the staff as ever were very helpful and pleasant. All in all a lovely lunch at a good price. We will be booking for next year in the very near future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellsGalNorthNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We're so pleased that you had such a lovely Christmas meal with us, it was a great day, delicious food as you say and good fun. Thanks for your kind review and see you next Christmas, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

My home away from home.
Stayed many times at this lovely hotel, good food, Wednesday steak night is a treat good Wi-Fi, good beds, clean and practical rooms, staff very helpful
Highly recommended and I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ken_Norw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Great to hear that we are your 'home from home' and that everything was perfect for you again. thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've been here before for lunch and enjoyed it so much we decided to meet up again with friends for a good old Sunday roast. Although meal was very tasty the beef was tough and disappointing. Such a shame as everything else was good. Also pity on a cold day the fire in the bar was not lit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

What a shame your meal didn't live up to your previous visit. I am surprised you found the beef 'tough', not a complaint I have heard before. As to the wood stove not being lit, You're right, unfortunately we had a couple of weeks when we were unable to light it due to its not drawing properly. The problem was fixed and it is lit everyday again, so sorry that your visit was when it was not working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Popped in for morning coffee today - very pleasant staff - who did us coffee. Very dog friendly - even had posh dog biscuits on the counter. Came back in the afternoon for glass of mulled wine and a mince pie. Both of which were excellent. Sat at the log fire for a while before starting to nod off. Very comfy pub - nice staff, lovely log fire and dog friendly. So much nicer than it was few years ago! Will definitely return for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyedoclondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

We were delighted to read your review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you have time for a stay over a weekend. Many thanks for all the fives!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Globe Inn on Sunday to celebrate my birthday. We paid £75 for bed and breakfast and £50 as a contribution to our evening meal, total £125.

Car parking, absolutely fine in November. We had already park on Buttlands mid morning but moved it right outside the Globe Inn after our walk around Wells in time for check in.

Checking in at 3.20pm after the Sunday lunch rush was very pleasant and hassle free. A short wait to be dealt with but then shown to room 4 by an extremely helpful member of staff (sorry I didn't get any names the whole time we were there) who took our table booking for the evening and generally made us feel very welcome.

The room itself (number 4) is excellent. Just so comfortable. After a long 3.5 hour walk to, from and around Wells Beach it really was needed. We both loved the nice little touches like the mason jar full of sweets and fresh milk kept in a cooler. The room is a nice size, not massive by any means but plenty of room (and storage) for two people and also has an air conditioning unit and a lovely window overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was super clean with some excellent toiletries and a powerful shower which is amongst the best I have had during our numerous travels. Factor in the lovely peace, we barely heard a noise all night, and overall it was pretty much perfect.

Dinner was superb but will review that on the Restaurant section but I would add at this point that the ambience in the restaurant and bar area really are quite special.

The breakfast is included in the room rate and is a continental buffet with any hot item off the menu. My Wife had the French Toast and I opted for the Eggs Benedict, both were excellent. We also had cereal, toast and some croissants, as well as plenty of OJ and left the room feeling very satisfied.

Back to the room for a quick rest before checking out at 10.30am. As I said at the time, all over too quickly but what a wonderful way to spend 19 hours or so. Highly recommended and I'm sure we will be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGlobeatWells, Manager at The Globe Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the whole globe experience. The next time you have 19 hours free, do please come and spend them with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
728 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,392 reviews
4.3 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Le Strange Arms Hotel
Le Strange Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hunstanton
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#10 of 24 in Wells-next-the-Sea
54 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Three Horseshoes
The Three Horseshoes
#17 of 24 in Wells-next-the-Sea
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Address: The Buttlands | Norfolk, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range: $122 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a pretty, leafy Georgian square in the bustling seaside town of Wells-next-the-Sea, The Globe Inn is a great base for a break on the beautiful north Norfolk coast or an ideal spot for a pint of beer and some simple, home cooked food. Accredited with 4 stars and a silver award by Enjoy England, the Inn offers exceptional quality in all areas. We are also proud to have been approved by the Visit England Cyclists Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Welcome Pets schemes. There is a sun-filled courtyard for alfresco eating and dining and a perfect spot to read your morning paper whilst having breakfast. Take a short walk down Staithe Street to the quay and you’ll see fishermen setting out on a good tide for inshore crab, whelk and the passing sea trout and bass. The town offers a central base for the nearby beautiful Holkham Beach with more than four miles of golden sand, and the world-class bird watching sites of the Holkham Nature Reserve, Cley-next-Sea and Titchwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
The Globe Inn Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing