We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”
Review of The Globe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Globe Inn
Certificate of Excellence
east dereham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed June 17, 2008

i havent stayed at the hotel but recently took my partner and 4 year old daughter for a meal.It wasnt overly busy but it still took the barman and owner over 10 minutes to notice we were there.From then on it did not improve.I found the owner rude and arrogant.Questions were answered abruptly and it was clear he wasnt in the mood for customers.The barman was useless and spent more time staring into space and chatting to his mates than actually working.I am myself a chef and i have worked front of house in restaurants and hotels and if i showed characteristicts that the barman and manager showed that day i would have a warning or be sacked.In my opinion its not recommended and shall not be returning

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank psycochef2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    98
    38
    27
    13
See reviews for
84
198
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Where shall I start? Much is made of the recent refurbishment,but is quite obvious it was done to a price and not to a standard.Now thats ok if its maintained properly.
Unfortunately in our room the toilet seat stayed on by threads and some parts of the room had not seen a duster since - well I would say since the refurbishment. Its advertised as having digital TV in each room. Not ours. We were puzzled by a banging noise that started early in the morning and were met by blank stares when enquiring what it was.It turned out to be a door in the kitchen area and it seemed a bit much that they didn't really know what we were talking about. I suppose the alarm bells should have rung when you noticed the manager spent most of his time sitting at the bar or standing outside the Inn having a
smoke.
Now most of this could be accepted if it wasn't for the price charged for room and breakfast. In all honesty I would have preferred to stay at a Travelodge and go out for meals.

  • Liked — Availability of newspapers
  • Disliked — The standard of the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartynStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incredaboy, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2008
Apologies for the late (Dec 08) response to this review. Point taken, the refurb was 3 years prior to your review. We have now started to re-paint all the bedrooms this winter and our assistant manager Johanna is drawing together a schedule to do the public rooms. She has also taken on direct responsibility for the housekeepers ... a woman's eye for detail......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Although we live quite nearby, my Husband and i have not been to The Globe since its refurbishment. however, wishing to stay in Wells for Carnival weekend, we booked The Globe for its excellent central location, and for its affiliation with the Victoria at Holkham at which we have previously spent an excellent stay.
We were very impressed from arrival to departure. The refurbishment has been done to an excellent standard. It is irrecognisable from its old self, and really bright and cheery.
We had a delicious meal, from a menu with plenty of choice for a vegetarian like myself - i heartily recommend treacle tart for pud!
We found the staff to be pleasant and attentive. In fact, concerned with the noise from the carnival outside, the Manager was particularly attentive and went out of his way to make sure that we and the other guests were happy and comfortable.
We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely Pub.

  • Liked — location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — wish the windows had opened
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We recently stayed at the Globe Inn for 2 nights in August 2007. Whilst the setting is lovely and the rooms were very nice (fairly basic but very nice) the service was dreadful:
- The bar staff were not friendly
- The waitresses were rude: we were never once asked if everything was OK with our meal or if we would like desert/the bill etc. and a request for tomato ketchup with a cooked breakfast resulted in the waitress swearing all the way to the kitchen!
- The chef did not turn up on the Sunday morning for breakfast forcing us to drive to The Victoria (the sister hotel at Holkham) for breakfast.

After complaining we were given a reduction in our bill but the overall experience was not what we were expecting. I have stayed at The Victoria before and the service there is amazing. Definitely stay there and avoid the Globe.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopsterSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incredaboy, Owner at The Globe Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2008
August 2007 was not our finest month at the Globe. As you can see from "Loopster Sussex"s review we had some serious management issues which I did not manage to sort out until later in the year. Perhaps the greatest crime as a result was a lack of staff training and therefore customer care for which I sincerely apologise.
I do hope you try us again because that training is now in place and we have a happy team which should better service and happier customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2006

We booked a room here at the last minute and were given a very good rate. Our room was small, but beautifully presented and decorated. It had everything we needed - if you stay ask for a room at the front with the nice view. The staff were very friendly. This is a recently refurbished-to a very high standard- pub and still attracts the locals as well as holidaymakers. Lovely setting very charming, and just a short walk from the sea. The food was also good, we had one or two problems with our food orders on both nights, but it was put right with no fuss made. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank 228Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
671 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,305 reviews
9.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
591 reviews
6.9 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Quay B&B
The Quay B&B
#11 of 25 in Wells-next-the-Sea
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Globe Inn

Property: The Globe Inn
Address: The Buttlands | Norfolk, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking a pretty, leafy Georgian square in the bustling seaside town of Wells-next-the-Sea, The Globe Inn is a great base for a break on the beautiful north Norfolk coast or an ideal spot for a pint of beer and some simple, home cooked food. Accredited with 4 stars and a silver award by Enjoy England, the Inn offers exceptional quality in all areas. We are also proud to have been approved by the Visit England Cyclists Welcome, Walkers Welcome and Welcome Pets schemes. There is a sun-filled courtyard for alfresco eating and dining and a perfect spot to read your morning paper whilst having breakfast. Take a short walk down Staithe Street to the quay and you’ll see fishermen setting out on a good tide for inshore crab, whelk and the passing sea trout and bass. The town offers a central base for the nearby beautiful Holkham Beach with more than four miles of golden sand, and the world-class bird watching sites of the Holkham Nature Reserve, Cley-next-Sea and Titchwell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Globe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Globe Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea
The Globe Inn Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing