We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Go to Crown or Eddie ”
Review of Captain's Table - CLOSED

Captain's Table
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our family and dog friendly establishment has recently been refurbished and gained new managment! We have a wide selection of food and drink to satisfy each and every customer! Lots of entertainment with live music from local bands and a fun quiz every week!! We also have food challages for the not so light hearted with prizes to be won! And much more... So why not come in and meet out super friendly staff and enjoy what we have to offer!!!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful! Go to Crown or Eddie ”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The food here is disgusting! Bland, cold & took nearly 45 mins for 3 meals. When we complained, we were told by the owner/manager to try the chippy along the quay if we were still hungry!
Absolutely shocking attitude for a new owner to have. The waitress woman spent more time talking to everyone than anything else including making it clear that holiday makers & not locals would be their preferred trade. As a regular visitor to the area, this surprised me as I am sure its a long winter to have no support from local customers? Do not eat here as there are lots of other nice pubs/restaurants in and close to Wells next the sea & many are dog friendly

Helpful?
4 Thank lizziebee634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby m, Owner at Captain's Table, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
May I thank you for your feedback, in regards to the waiting time, all meals are freshly prepared by our Chief/s and hence at peak times customers may sometimes have to wait a short while. It is our aim to offer a high standard of food at competitive prices with the majority of our customers giving a very positive feedback. We are sorry that in your case you felt it was not achieved.

The management team have looked into and discussed your comments made and believe that there may have been a misunderstanding.

Rest assured that locals are very welcome and hope to see you again in the near future.

Captian's Table Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    4
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk england
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dog freindly”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

you state you are dog friendly it would be really good if you were people friendly aswell some of our guests went in there to have a drink took them ages to get served NO one around when they got served by a very grumpy girl, a little later our local boys went in yes they may have been noisy its a pub you do get this from time to time but yet again NO ONE to serve them so they rang the bell omg you went into melt down you ordered everyone out including my guests the language was something else from you I think its time you relocated to somewhere where there are NO people just dogs

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby m, Owner at Captain's Table, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for the review which has been discussed with the team on the ground. The Captain's Table welcomes all customers in particular families with children, unfortunately on this occasion due to the demands and pressures on both sides there seems to have been a delay in serving, which resulted in the problems mentioned.

The management team looks forward to providing a friendly atmosphere to all, be it holiday makers or locals alike.

We appreciate the feedback and look forward to providing a high standard of service.

Captain's Table Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I feel that the management is poor. Was spoken too rudely and I would expect that from anyone. Was very unprofessional. I witnessed to young lads getting pushed out off pub which wasnt needed as they were happy to leave. Manager was throwing her wait around and was rude to many others including a friend who are local people and used this pub many of times. I would never set foot in this place again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby m, Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Owner Comments:
Your feedback and comments are appreciated with the matter being reviewed with the team on site. I feel that this incident was a one off and as such the situation will closely monitored.

I hope that you will reconsider your decision and look forward to welcoming you back.

Captains Table Owner/Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Stay away”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Management was drunk and rude, told me I should be in an old peoples home. Kept pushing a young lad even though he was leaving anyway, her husband or boyfriend kicked off telling all local people should leave . Tried hitting me. Really need to sort there management out before no one goes in.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby m, Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Owner Response:
Our policy at all times is to be polite and respectful with the matter highlighted being carefully looked into with the owner/s being on site to monitor the situation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future so that your concerns can be readdressed.

Captains Table Owner/Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“try somwere else ??”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Visited here Aug 2014, after trying to eat in all the restaurants here with no
Luck as they were full we came upon this place, on entering we could not understand why it was nearly empty, after ordering our food we realised why it was empty. The food was terrible ,soup tasted !like it was from a tin and my pizza was full of grease, my friends dinner was even worse. I would not recommend this place to eat there are many other lovely places serving good food ????

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank leeneypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruby m, Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Owner Response:
Thank you for your feedback..we are sorry that the food didn't meet your expectations on this occasion, however please be aware that we now have a new Chief on site with high quality food being freshly prepared to order at very competitive prices.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that we can impress you with our offerings.

Captains Table Owner/Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing