We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just popped in for a beer...”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
419 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a beer...”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only popped in for a couple of drinks but would certainly return, the menu looked pretty tempting and they were certainly busy for what seemed like a quiet week elsewhere in town.
Seemed like a good atmosphere in the bar and the eatery area looked good too.
We'd definitely go back another time to try out the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, General Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback. Myself and my team are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit to the Crown Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    190
    44
    32
    13
See reviews for
129
407
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited The Crown during a recent stay in Wells. We stayed in nearby apartments so I cannot comment on the rooms, however the bar and restaurant were excellent. There's a small bar area that's got a good pubby feel to it. 3-4 ales - Adnams, 2 of their own Kiwi ales and a guest beer also went on whilst we were there. Food is excellent too. It was fully booked when we were there and whilst it was Bank Holiday weekend it's worth booking during quieter times to secure a table. Tables outside the front are good with views over the Buttlands. All in all a great pub, restaurant and no doubt hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squash-Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Crown delivers friendly, quality service with excellent food and a great atmosphere. Our room was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated, with a good-sized bathroom with bath and separate shower. We ate in on both evenings, and were impressed. There is an emphasis on local sourcing of food, and certainly we found the ingredients fresh and natural. Also, the cooked breakfast was outstanding, with the local smoked bacon, mushroom and tomatoes particularly delicious.
We’ve stayed in The Crown several times over the years, and like past Tripadvisor reports, our experiences have been a bit variable. This visit gave us confidence that a consistently high standard is now being maintained, which befits such a lovely place to stay. Well done to the management and staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
193 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Beautiful location and rooms with real English character. Very friendly staff. Food is top notch with lots of local fish (biggest oysters I've ever seen), local cheese and other produce. I don't agree with the complaints about small portions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiMad93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff were very welcoming, attentive and professional. The accommodation and service were first class. We felt at home instantly. The food was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. One particularly nice touch was a complementary cream tea laid on for patrons in the afternoon. Happy to recommend this lovely old hotel to anyone looking for period charm and freindly modern service.

George and Sharon S

Room Tip: We had room number 5. It was huge and well furnished with a great view over the green.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night, I was visiting my brother who was staying in a cottage nearby. The room was lovely, enormous four poster bed (rm4 I think) and quirky steps down to the bathroom which was small but had everything you need. Had to be careful not to grab the radiator as you went down the steps as it was very hot and I burnt my finger a couple of times. I would say that it is a little on the pricey side but it's location is great. I had a continental breakfast and the choice was great. The cooked breakfast looked very good as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

As we have not been to wells for a long time we didn't know where to eat so I did some research and found The Crown . We were not disappointed . As soon as we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome. The bar staff were friendly and helpful and this continue with the restaurant staff. The Sunday lunch menu was good. Found the restaurant to be very children friendly. Would definitely recommend a visit .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells-next-the-Sea
5.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,287 reviews
9.7 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
779 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Black Lion Hotel
Black Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walsingham
211 reviews
15.0 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
861 reviews
9.8 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: The Buttlands, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wells-next-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel - the perfect place to retreat, relax and refresh in beautiful north Norfolk Big blue skies, sandy beaches stretching away into eternity, desolate salt marshes rich in wildlife, picturesque villages and quaint seaside resorts - north Norfolk is the undoubted jewel in East Anglia's glittering crown. And if you're looking to experience the natural wonders offered by the north coast of one of England's remotest counties, you need cast your eyes no further than The Crown Hotel. A former coaching inn, the hotel is tucked away on the edge of a tranquil tree-lined green in the fishing port of Wells-next-the-Sea. Recently refurbished to enhance its existing historic features, whilst still retaining a warm and welcoming ambience, The Crown has 12 luxury en-suite bedrooms. Each is equipped with a flat-screen TV and DVD player and uniquely and individually decorated to create a warm and welcoming home-from-home atmosphere. The hotel has two family suites with separate children's rooms and baby-monitoring facilities, and in some rooms you can even have your dog to stay. Downstairs, guests and diners can select from a sumptuous and varied menu which makes superb use of the finest and freshest seasonal produce, courtesy of the hotel's proprietor, New Zealand-born chef Chris Coubrough and his kitchen team. Whether you choose to eat in The Crown's front restaurant, the spacious orangery or one of our two lounge rooms, you're sure of a culinary experience that will linger long on the tongue, and even longer in the memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Wells-Next-The-Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing